We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Lussmanns - St Albans

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Waxhouse Gate | Off High Street, St Albans AL3 4EW, England
+44 1727 851941
Website
Today
12:00 - 22:30
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 21:00
Mon - Thu 12:00 - 21:30
Fri - Sat 12:00 - 22:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

937 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 928: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We visited Lussmanns for Sunday Lunch following a visit to St Albans Christmas Fayre. We were not disappointed as the Food was excellent and the Service could not be better. To cap it all we had the set Lunch which was great and very reasonable.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
Andrei L, Owner at Lussmanns - St Albans, responded to this review

Great to hear that you enjoyed your visit and the service and food was enjoyable. Many thanks for your 5 star review. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Andrei Lussmann (andrei@lussmanns.com) More 

Kimbolton
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We hadn't dined here before but had read the reviews which were excellent and we were not disappointed. We lunched with 5 friends and were placed in a private dining area which worked really well. We enjoyed a leisurely meal with attentive servers who sought our feedback on each course to ensure satisfaction. A really excellent experience. Well done to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Martin B
Andrei L, Owner at Lussmanns - St Albans, responded to this review

Happy to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your lunch in our private dining area. Thank you for reviewing us so positively and I hope that we can look after you again. Thanks and regards, Andrei Lussmann (andrei@lussmanns.com) More 

Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Our table wasn't available at the booked time but 3 of our party of 5 received a complimentary glass of Prosecco whilst waiting. The meal was enjoyable and the service was excellent. But you need to treat yourselves to some big beer glasses. I chose a 500ml bottle of Wheat beer - which has sediment as part of the product.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank ExecutiveBiker
Andrei L, Owner at Lussmanns - St Albans, responded to this review

Many thanks for your positive feedback. Good to know that your meal was enjoyable and the service excellent. Your point about the beer glass has been noted. Kind regards, Andrei Lussmann (andrei@lussmanns.com) More 

Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
330 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

You don't often find a reasturant that gets everthing right ,I have to say lussmanns is about there. Great ambiance ,real atmosphere ,service second to none so we are all set ,what about the food ? Again spot on ,the cod cheeks with chilli to flavour to another level,main course hake outstanding .all other dishes just as good .fine wine... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank peter f
Andrei L, Owner at Lussmanns - St Albans, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us so comprehensively. Great to hear that we are hitting the mark on atmosphere, service, food, wine and value. We work hard to get these things right so hearing from customers that appreciate it is fantastic. Thank you for your support and best wishes, Andrei Lussmann (andrei@lussmanns.com) More 

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I visited without booking on a Sunday lunch time (around 12:15). A table was free for us and we were seated within a few minutes. All the waiting staff were friendly and polite and the lunch menu (£12.50 for 2 course or £14.95 if you also want a glass of wine) was extremely good value. It has been many months... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Beci E
Andrei L, Owner at Lussmanns - St Albans, responded to this review

Great to hear that you appreciate our value-driven daily 12-7pm set menu. I hope that we can look after you again soon. Kind regards, Andrei Lussmann (andrei@lussmanns.com) More 

Saint Albans, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I am always very nervous going out to eat as I suffer from Coeliac Disease (gluten free) There was no need to be nervous with this restaurant. I asked for the allergen menu, it was easy to read and self explanatory. I chose cod cheeks, pork loin and lemon posset. Absolutely delicious!!!! My friends all enjoyed their food. The staff... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Karen P
Andrei L, Owner at Lussmanns - St Albans, responded to this review

Thank you for your five star feedback. Glad to hear that your experience was a positive one and the food and staff impressed. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best wishes, Andrei Lussmann (andrei@lussmanns.com) More 

Sherington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a popular restaurant, visit it and you'll see why! But make sure you book first .... it's that popular. Discovered on a Saturday market visit, hadn't booked for lunch and surprised to find it fully booked, but on the next visit could see the reason. It's that good. Lovely well priced prixe fixe lunch, good value glass of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gillyscarlett
Andrei L, Owner at Lussmanns - St Albans, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us so comprehensively. Its lovely to hear from customers who appreciate what we do. Do come again soon. Best wishes, Andrei Lussmann (andrei@lussmanns.com) More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went here on a Friday and had good food and a good night in a very nice setting. Would recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank JamieHodson
Andrei L, Owner at Lussmanns - St Albans, responded to this review

Many thanks for your positive review. Glad to hear that your visit over the weekend was a good one. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Andrei Lussmann (andrei@lussmanns.com) More 

St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a large group, about 16 of us, and everyone was served promptly and politely. The staff didn't get a thing wrong. We had very good food.

Helpful?
2 Thank jebra13
Andrei L, Owner at Lussmanns - St Albans, responded to this review

Good to know that the food and service for your recent group meal was appreciated. Many thanks for your positive feedback. Best wishes, Andrei Lussmann (andrei@lussmanns.com) More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A lovely looking restaurant. Service was good and the food tasted good. Food seemed to "go through the body" a bit quicker than normal, maybe a case of too much olive oil or something else that just didnt agree with me

Helpful?
Thank Richard Z
Andrei L, Owner at Lussmanns - St Albans, responded to this review

Dear Richard Happy to learn that you enjoyed your meal with us. However, clearly something was not as expected. Please contact me Andrei@lussmanns.com should you wish that I conduct a thorough investigation. Thankyou Andrei More 

Travellers who viewed Lussmanns - St Albans also viewed

St Albans, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Lussmanns - St Albans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$15 - US$44
Cuisine
Mediterranean, European, British, Grill, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Street Parking, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Monday
12:00 - 21:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 21:30
Thursday
12:00 - 21:30
Friday
12:00 - 22:30
Saturday
12:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Waxhouse Gate | Off High Street, St Albans AL3 4EW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  St Albans
  • Phone Number: +44 1727 851941
Description
Located in leafy St Albans, just off the High Street and next to the Cathedral and Abbey Church, Lussmanns Fish and Grill is a chic brasserie-style restaurant that has won over the hearts of the local gourmet set and established itself as the locals' favourite fish and grill restaurant. Spread out over three floors, Lussmanns restaurant combines polished oak, steel-and-leather seating and a sculptural glass ceiling to create a stylish dining room flooded with natural light. Lussmanns champions artisan food producers and is passionate about sourcing their produce ethically from independent and sustainable farms. Situated within walking distance of Verulamiam Park with its Roman remains and St Albans' town centre, this is an ideal spot for business meetings, dates and family get-togethers.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Lussmanns - St Albans and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Greater London, United Kingdom
6 months ago
St Albans

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Lussmanns - St Albans staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?