We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Thomas Ingoldsby - J D Wetherspoon

) #123 of 257 Restaurants in Canterbury £ , British,
5-9 Burgate, Canterbury CT1 2HG, England
+44 1227 463339
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good38%
  • Average21%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“bean chilli” (3 reviews)
“steak” (12 reviews)
“cheap food” (7 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
5-9 Burgate, Canterbury CT1 2HG, England
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 60 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2016

My husband and I often eat in Wetherspoons and have hardly ever been disappointed. The staff and food are nearly always 100%. The Thomas Ingoldsby was no exception. Well done

Thank 243linda
The_Thomas_Ingoldsby, Manager at The Thomas Ingoldsby - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoy Wetherspoons, especially here at the Thomas Ingoldsby. We look forward to seeing you here again in the future should you visit Canterbury.

Reviewed 31 July 2016

we went to the restaurant for lunch we ordered our food and it was not long at all until the food was out. When we started to eat the food was lovely we didn't actually have a desert but the food was very good!! We...More

Thank tom1741
The_Thomas_Ingoldsby, Manager at The Thomas Ingoldsby - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

Hi. Thanks for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your food here, and look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Popular pub with the usual excellent range of reasonably priced fare that you expect from a Wetherspoons. I am usually here on a Sunday for a traditional roast but has this has been taken off the chains' menu replaced by what ammounts to an all...More

Thank fundamentatourist
The_Thomas_Ingoldsby, Manager at The Thomas Ingoldsby - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you have stopped eating here now that we have removed the Roast dinner offer. We still offer other Sunday British classics, such as British Beef and Doombar Ale pie, British Steak and Kidney pudding, or the British...More

Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

Great pub. Excellent efficient staff and a good ambience. Would have five stars if I'd have eaten there I'm sure

Thank Chris C
The_Thomas_Ingoldsby, Manager at The Thomas Ingoldsby - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Many thanks for your review. I am glad you enjoy the ambience and staff efficiency. I hope to see you back in here again soon, to enjoy a drink and Food. You should try our New Ultimate burger, which is proving to be very popular.

Reviewed 10 July 2016

I travelled from Southend on Cooks coach, I had a breakfast with a drink, the food arrived quickly and was plentiful. The pub was not crowded. Recommended.

Thank B7152FJpeterw
The_Thomas_Ingoldsby, Manager at The Thomas Ingoldsby - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

I am happy that you enjoyed your visit to Canterbury, and our pub. I hope to see you again should you ever visit

Reviewed 10 July 2016

In Canterbury there are two spoons, top of town and bottom. This one is at the top of town, very easy to get to by bus, walking or car. The service in here is great i've never had a problem. The food tho can be...More

Thank emmie t
The_Thomas_Ingoldsby, Manager at The Thomas Ingoldsby - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Hi. Thanks for your review. We are pleased you enjoy coming in to drink here. Unfortunately it seems we do not always get things right for you with our food service. We always welcome feedback and we will forward your comments on to the kitchen...More

Reviewed 4 July 2016

Beers are cheap, but on curry nights you sometimes get a soggy poppadom! Lamb Rogan Josh was good. We go quite often, so mostly it is better than yesterday.More

Thank annandbob2015
The_Thomas_Ingoldsby, Manager at The Thomas Ingoldsby - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Thanks for your review. I am sorry that your poppadoms were not to our usual standards on this occasion. Occasionally we do not quite get things right, but I will ensure that your comments are fed back to the team. I look forward to seeing...More

Reviewed 1 July 2016

We ate here last December and had no complaints whatsoever. Back again today and we had an even better experience. Plenty of busy staff on duty and the meals came out in record time. You certainly get what you pay for, and more. Congratulations to...More

1  Thank Tony36
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

The three of us were hungry but not after fine dining so wether spoons hits the mark. Decent beer as usual. Food is well priced, but I did think it was a bit small, but probably for Canterbury, I suspect it's good value. ! Please...More

1  Thank Ray R
Reviewed 19 June 2016

Cheap food and cheap drink- in what is an expensive sometimes over priced city. Save yourself some pennies by starting off here then move on to somewhere a little less studenty!

1  Thank kemps7884
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Azouma
691 reviews
.04 miles away
The Moat Tea Rooms
228 reviews
.01 miles away
Wagamama
328 reviews
.11 miles away
Royal Inn
244 reviews
.08 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Canterbury Cathedral
4,948 reviews
.15 miles away
Canterbury Roman Museum
296 reviews
.13 miles away
The Buttermarket
63 reviews
.07 miles away
St. Thomas' Catholic Church
27 reviews
.06 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Thomas Ingoldsby - J D Wetherspoon staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 00:00
Monday
08:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 00:00
Thursday
08:00 - 00:00
Friday
08:00 - 01:00
Saturday
08:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5-9 Burgate, Canterbury CT1 2HG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Canterbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1227 463339
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing