We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Thomas Ingoldsby - J D Wetherspoon

5-9 Burgate, Canterbury CT1 2HG, England
+44 1227 463339
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good37%
  • Average21%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“bean chilli” (3 reviews)
“steak” (14 reviews)
“jacket potato” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
5-9 Burgate, Canterbury CT1 2HG, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 80 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Friendly staff who competently took your order. I was pleased to note my server realized my order was one item short but she rectified it ASAP and with no fuss. Service could be slow but it's forgivable.

Thank Robert W
The_Thomas_Ingoldsby, Manager at The Thomas Ingoldsby - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2016

Hi, Thanks for reviewing us. We will take your comments on board about speed of service and hopefully can improve even further for you

Reviewed 5 September 2016

We popped in for a lunch as our grandson is very keen on the hot dogs and has a good appetite! Very confused by a previous review stating that it was not child friendly as it's never been a problem and the staff were very...More

Thank DavidA129541
The_Thomas_Ingoldsby, Manager at The Thomas Ingoldsby - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2016

Thanks for your review. As you state we are indeed family friendly and are happy you enjoyed your visit. See you again with your Grandson soon.

Reviewed 3 September 2016

Usual Wetherspoons fair. We went on a Thursday and went for the curry. The food was hot and tasty and for the price you cant argue. We all know its pre packed and microwaved but what do you want for £7 odd with a beer?

Thank Mancmark44
The_Thomas_Ingoldsby, Manager at The Thomas Ingoldsby - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2016

Hi. Thanks for the review. Really glad you like our food and drinks, and excellent value

Reviewed 1 September 2016

We had a dreadful experience in this establishment. The food was awful tasteless and reheated. The staff were rude and unprofessional. Having made a formal complaint to Head Office, the staff at this establishment to include the manager have made up false allegations about events...More

Thank Mandy M
The_Thomas_Ingoldsby, Manager at The Thomas Ingoldsby - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2016

I am sorry we have lost your business as a customer. If you could provide some further information on your complaint I could look into it again.

Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Its a Wetherspoons so you know exactly what you are going to get Good service and friendly staff. Food was excellent and the prices are very reasonable

Thank Dave P
The_Thomas_Ingoldsby, Manager at The Thomas Ingoldsby - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2016

Hi. Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 27 August 2016

Came here for breakfast and two teas, Took 20 minutes to get served as only one person behind the bar and they were struggling with some German customers who were speaking English quite well, however i feel the guy behind the bar was just trying...More

Thank dale c
The_Thomas_Ingoldsby, Manager at The Thomas Ingoldsby - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Hi. Thanks for your review. It seems that we didn't quite get it right for you on this occasion with our service. I am glad that you enjoyed your breakfast though

Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Went for a meal to this weather spoons which is actually 15 miles away from where we live but we had never had problems with this weather spoons and find it good value. However today although the food was definitely up to scratch, there were...More

Thank Angelprincessstar
The_Thomas_Ingoldsby, Manager at The Thomas Ingoldsby - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Hi. Thanks for your review. I am glad that you usually enjoy your visit to The Thomas Ingoldsby. I would be grateful if you could contact the pub further on 01227 463339 or via email on p291@jdwetherspoon.co.uk, so that I can investigate your concerns further,...More

Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Staff were nice and helpful. Price was really good, traditional breakfast was only £3.25. Filter coffee was refilled till noon. You could relax and enjoyed meal.

Thank GaryL0505
The_Thomas_Ingoldsby, Manager at The Thomas Ingoldsby - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2016

Many thanks for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast and refillable coffee. Looking forward to having you visit us again soon

Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

The staff were rude and agressive and one member at the bar refused to serve me 3 drinks without me providing ID for 3 different people... After explaining one is for my girlfriend (who was present and showed her ID) she refused to accept that...More

Thank Joe F
The_Thomas_Ingoldsby, Manager at The Thomas Ingoldsby - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you received poor service here. We enforce a challenge 21 policy, whereby we request proof of age from anyone that we believe to be under the age of 21. I would be grateful if you could...More

Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

Stopped off in there with the Mrs this afternoon. Not too bad. The food was good, and the service was ok too. We had a couple burger deals with a drink thrown in with it. Though, got a funny look off the girl behind the...More

Thank Ben V
The_Thomas_Ingoldsby, Manager at The Thomas Ingoldsby - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Hi. Thanks for reviewing The Thomas Ingoldsby. I am glad you enjoy the food and service. We will feed back to our staff your comments.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 16 hotels in Canterbury
Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central
630 reviews
.09 miles away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
1,217 reviews
.10 miles away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
469 reviews
.15 miles away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
1,066 reviews
.21 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Azouma
765 reviews
.04 miles away
Chapter Sourdough Pizzeria & Bar
69 reviews
.03 miles away
The Moat Tea Rooms
255 reviews
.00 miles away
The Veg Box Cafe
107 reviews
.08 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Canterbury Cathedral
5,494 reviews
.15 miles away
Canterbury Roman Museum
323 reviews
.13 miles away
Buttermarket
76 reviews
.15 miles away
St. Thomas' Catholic Church
38 reviews
.06 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Thomas Ingoldsby - J D Wetherspoon staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 00:00
Monday
08:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 00:00
Thursday
08:00 - 00:00
Friday
08:00 - 01:00
Saturday
08:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5-9 Burgate, Canterbury CT1 2HG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Canterbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1227 463339
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing