We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£6 - £17
CUISINES
Bar, British, Healthy, Contemporary
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (774)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
773 results
Traveller rating
374
258
74
39
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
374
258
74
39
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger rice chunky chips nice food hull
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 30 March 2024 via mobile

Visted Monday 25th March 2024. First time eating here, and I was impressed. The welcome, the service, and the food all first class. Cannot believe I have waited this long.

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 March 2024

Went with my family a few days ago, three family members had the beef stroganoff which is a dish we normally have at Sleepers, the dish was nice, however a little rich this time, my daughter did mention that the rice had a funny taste...to it. The following day all three family members had a bad stomach. I decided to call Sleepers today to let them know, the guy who answered the phone told me he was the manager, he told me nobody else has complained and that the stomach upset that we had could of been caused by us spreading it to each other, I said that this could not be the case as the other family members that had different food was all ok, the response I received after this was unbelievable, he told me that he didn't like it that I was making serious allegations about the food and that he did not like the way I was talking to him ( I certainly wasn't talking to him funny) I asked for his first name, he told me that he wasn't giving me it as I haven't given him my name, I then gave him my name and asked for his again, he said again that he wasn't giving me it and that he was the manager, I asked for the persons name above him, once again he told me that he wasn't given me that either. I said to the guy during the conversation, as a customer that uses Sleepers often, you have not even offered me an apology, the guy then turned round and said, he wouldn't be giving me an apology, when I said to him its ok I will put a review on TripAdvisor, he said to me, tell who you want and go to Environment Health. The customer service from this so called manager was diabolical and he really needs some training in customer service, all I was doing was letting them know about the food normally in this situation an apology would of been offered, out of curtesy. One thing for certain is, myself and my family will not be using this place again due to the rudeness of this so called manager, I've honestly never known anything like it, it was more like a 15 year old teenager had answered the phone with the attitude he had.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harrison C, Marketing at Sleepers Bar & Kitchen Hull, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2024

Thank you for your input. If any customer should contact us with this sort of information we do of course treat it extremely seriously. As carefully explained to you by our manager, our responsibility is to thoroughly investigate the situation internally before taking whatever action,...More

Reviewed 20 February 2024 via mobile

We all really enjoyed delicious tasty food especially chicken dishes with good portions.Friendly staff with good service.Definitely recommend.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harrison Bates, Marketing at Sleepers Bar & Kitchen Hull, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2024

Thank you for the great review, we hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 4 January 2024

Went for a breakfast. Both had full English - absolutely faultless. Red hot, good quality ingredients, and delicious. Best breakfast in Hull without a shadow of doubt. Went again on New Year's Eve and had the bratwurst hot dig and wife had mushroom stroganoff. Again...both meals were superb. Been coming regularly for the last 10 years and never disappointed. Lovely attentive friendly staff too.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harrison Bates, Marketing at Sleepers Bar & Kitchen Hull, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2024

Thank you for the great review, we hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 19 November 2023 via mobile

Always reliable for their food. Went on a quiet Tuesday afternoon and was served attentively by the staff. However, a pint of Guinness costs £6.20, which is frankly ridiculous!

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harrison Bates, Marketing at Sleepers Bar & Kitchen Hull, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2024

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your visit with us. I am also a Guinness drinker and unfortunately Guinness prices have risen due to our suppliers costs.

Reviewed 29 October 2023 via mobile

This place is always busy so thought we’d give it a try. The wait staff were lovely and friendly but the food was average at best. Especially for the price. A few big chips and two kebabs which had a couple of pieces of pork...belly, chorizo and black pudding.with a bit of bagged salad for £17 and Mediterranean chicken which was the saddest looking chicken breast wrapped in bacon, sat in what tasted like pasta sauce from a jar, again £17. Massively overpriced for very average tasting food: There are far better places around the Avenues in my opinion.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harrison Bates, Marketing at Sleepers Bar & Kitchen Hull, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2024

Hi, Sorry you wasn't happy with your last visit, from your description it sounds like you had our mixed kebabs from our special board and our Mediterranean chicken which is one of our best sellers and a favourite of mine. I can reassure you that...More

Reviewed 22 September 2023

Amazing food, fast service, lovely staff, and was really busy for a Thursday night! Will definitely be back

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harrison Bates, Marketing at Sleepers Bar & Kitchen Hull, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2024

Thank you for the great review, we hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 14 June 2023

Always have a nice lunch here. Been quite a few times. Service & food always consistent and good. Never had to complain. Good coffee.

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harrison Bates, Marketing at Sleepers Bar & Kitchen Hull, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2023

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your last visit. We hope to see you again

Reviewed 2 May 2023

Really nice food and good menu choices. The staff were attentive and friendly too. Will definitely be back.

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harrison Bates, Marketing at Sleepers Bar & Kitchen Hull, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2023

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We will make sure to pass this onto our staff Hopefully see you again soon

Reviewed 27 March 2023

Visited with my partner & Son for food on a Sunday night. We rang to book a table 5 minutes before. I just love the decor of this place. The staff are friendly & welcoming, we was shown to a table but asked if we...could move & this was not a problem & was shown to a table in the window. My partner & son both ordered the Korean pork belly & I ordered the Halloumi burger. ( only 6 vegetarian options avail) we ordered 2 sides of chunky chips but when these came they was skinny fries. (The waitress who took our order said they was changing over) & cheesy garlic bread. We all really enjoyed the food. To summarise-great decor-great food -friendly staff. What more can you ask for.More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harrison Bates, Marketing at Sleepers Bar & Kitchen Hull, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2023

Hi, Thank you for leaving us a detailed review, these help us a lot more then you know. I will make sure to pass on the good words to the staff and we hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 3 December 2022 via mobile

Positives: food was lovely and prices reasonable. I feel front of house/initial welcome was lacking..or do i expect too much? I like water to be brought to table and to be asked if we would like nibbles etc whilst waiting to order mains. This was...lacking. Male barman was excellent kept keeping us topped up in drinks. I didnt feel looked after ...God I sound needy but some establishments in Hull have nailed this so its become an expectation. Food was very delayed coming out but luckily we were in no hurry but again it would have been nice to have been kept in the loop. We spent a lot of money but didnt feel valued.More

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harrison Bates, Marketing at Sleepers Bar & Kitchen Hull, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2023

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a detailed review. We will take your comments into consideration and use this to help create a better experience for future customers. We don’t sell nibbles however this doesn’t mean you can’t order small plate...More

Reviewed 18 September 2022 via mobile

Always had great food here. Menu has different options to most other places. Love the home made chips which seem to be such a rarity nowadays.

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harrison, General Manager at Sleepers Bar & Kitchen Hull, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2022

What a great review! Thank you for spending the time to let us know, our staff will be happy to hear this. Hopefully see you again soon

Reviewed 29 August 2022 via mobile

Don’t get me wrong I love sleepers great food and drink lovely place, but when I asked the hostess if it was possible to pop in for a few drinks with me wife I was immediately told quite harshly “ no fully booked” ….now looking...around they were many many many empty tables. We was never asked , “ how long will you be these tables are free until etc etc, or of course but we really need these tables back at a certain time” So we popped across to Larkins had a couple of drinks before our evening meal at Gusto, as we walked past sleepers still all them empty tables. This isn’t a negative review. More of a comment to the owner this policy you have is loosing you business , I want to see your place bustling as it should be, stop turning away walk ins , just explain you need tables back in 30 mins , 1 hour etc.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harrison, Marketing at Sleepers Bar & Kitchen Hull, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2022

Hi, Sorry to hear about your last visit. I will make sure to look into this to avoid any disappointment for any other customers in the future. We hope to see you again

Reviewed 9 June 2022

The food here is maybe my favourite in Hull, it's lovely and so reasonably priced for what it is. The inside is great too, and the staff are so so helpful.

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harrison, Marketing at Sleepers Bar & Kitchen Hull, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2022

Thanks for the great review! Hopefully see you again soon

Reviewed 31 May 2022 via mobile

Food was loverly, had the salt and pepper squid to start and sleepers burger, both was beautiful! service was good! Porn star martinis are spot on! Highly recommend!

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harrison, Marketing at Sleepers Bar & Kitchen Hull, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2022

Thanks for the review, We love hearing about our customers latest visit, we love our unique Sleepers Pornstar as well!! Hopefully see you again soon

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Old Grey Mare Hotel
355 reviews
.64 miles away
Campanile Hull
458 reviews
.99 miles away
Travelodge Hull Central
1,191 reviews
1.04 miles away
Park Hotel & Apartments
17 reviews
1.12 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Le Crepier Papin
277 reviews
.06 miles away
Malai Thai Street Food
49 reviews
.17 miles away
Larkin's Bar
362 reviews
.02 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Brynmor Jones Library
30 reviews
.77 miles away
Pearson Park
61 reviews
.27 miles away
Pearson Park Wildlife Garden
31 reviews
.16 miles away
Beverley Road Baths
7 reviews
.45 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
lynnegerman
29 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from lynnegerman | Reviewed this property |
That is for the Beverley resteraunt .
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

SLEEPERS BAR & KITCHEN HULL, Kingston-upon-Hull - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Sleepers Bar & Kitchen Hull

Sleepers Bar & Kitchen Hull is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4