We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Log House

Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DN, England
+44 15394 31077
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good19%
  • Average5%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (97 reviews)
“potato skins” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DN, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Lovely food, great atmosphere and helpful friendly staff. A very good night out and highly recommended.

Thank Pauline S
D H, Director of Sales at The Log House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear by Pauline S Thank you for the review and we are glad that you enjoyed your visit with us.

Reviewed 4 days ago

We returned to the Log House on our annual visit to Ambleside in late September. After a cordial welcome we were seated with menus. A waitress arrived and we gave our wine order, and she asked about our food order at the same time. Since...More

Thank Louise H
D H, Owner at The Log House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Louise H Thank you for your review and we are disappointed that you had a mixed experience with us. We do use an original recipe for our Tortilla chips ( not the mass produced in packets ) and lightly fry them and finish in...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

.Our first visit to the Log House and the best plate of food we have had for a long time. Arrived at around 6.30pm.Thursday night and the restaurant was really busy,we were shown to our table straight away,excellent service and friendly staff.No complaint about this...More

Thank jowen49
D H, Owner at The Log House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear jowen49 Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your first visit here with us at the Log House and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Well what can you say service , food amazing thank you for the experience my husband had ribeye steak on a stones I had mussels omg amazing and the chips to die for. I must say the service was excellent . Will be recommending to...More

Thank Mbrokks133
D H, Owner at The Log House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Mbrokks133 Thank you for the fantastic review and we are glad that you enjoyed your visit too the Log House and found us well worth the visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Just had meal at the Log House, gig to day service was attentive, informative without being pushy or intrusive which sometimes happens. The team there know the menu and try and find what’s best for you not just the specials. I had the rib eye...More

Thank barry b
D H, Owner at The Log House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear barry b Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review and we look forward to seeing you again the next time that you are in the Lakes

Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely venue, outstanding food, and excellent service by friendly staff. So good, we went there twice! Well worth a visit, especially if you're a steak fan...but the other meals were just as delicious.

Thank Martine H
D H, Owner at The Log House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Martine H Thank you so much for the great review. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit with us.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived at the hotel to be told the car park they used over the road was closed & was out of their control as they had only been told on the Friday , this was Tuesday , had somebody thought to let people who...More

Thank Spookie18
D H, Owner at The Log House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Spookie18 First of all thank you for posting a review however low the score. We do take all reviews seriously and we always respond as there is always 2 sides to every story. Again our apologies for the car park being closed by South...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose to go here as it looked pleasant from outside and inviting inside. We in Ambleside for a weeks holiday and was going out for somewhere nicer to eat for our Wedding Anniversary. The welcoming was pleasant, then it seemed to go downhill from...More

Thank Debbie L
D H, Owner at The Log House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Debbie L Thank you for the review and my comments are the same as previously posted on the " Accidents Happen "review posted 24 Sept 2017. I will however post the footage of the ACCIDENT and subsequent events cleaning and replacing your meals and...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We called in on the off-chance as we'd read that booking is advisable. We were fortunate to get the only unreserved table. The building is truly unique, having started life in Norway before being shipped to the UK and finally ending up in Ambleside. The...More

1  Thank Keitht
D H, Owner at The Log House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Keitht Thank you so much for your great review which is very much appreciated. We work very hard to create a relaxed atmosphere for our guests to dine and it is a welcome breath of fresh air to be congratulated on social media for...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived in Ambleside and our lovely landlady recommended that we try The Log House so we rang and luckily they had a table for two at the time we wanted to eat. We arrived and the steak deal was explained so we chose the...More

2  Thank deano6972
D H, Owner at The Log House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear deano6972 Thank you so much for the fantastic and honest review and we are glad that you enjoyed your evening with us here at The Log House and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Copper Pot Cafe
251 reviews
.32 miles away
Fellinis
1,121 reviews
.30 miles away
Lucy's on a plate
2,133 reviews
.33 miles away
The Lily
315 reviews
.27 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Ambleside Waterhead
430 reviews
.45 miles away
Bridge House
270 reviews
.53 miles away
Ambleside Climbing Wall
177 reviews
.25 miles away
Hayes Garden World Ambleside
122 reviews
.09 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Bren07England
14 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from D H | Property representative |
Hi not as yet however the menu will be on our website shortly
0
Votes
Teresa L
8 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from D H | Property representative |
Yes they do although lots to choose from
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$17 - US$50
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
View, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
17:00 - 21:00
12:00 - 15:00
Tuesday
17:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
17:00 - 21:00
Thursday
17:00 - 21:00
Friday
17:00 - 21:00
Saturday
17:00 - 21:00
12:00 - 15:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Ambleside
  • Phone Number: +44 15394 31077
  • E-mail
Description
Now over 100 years old, the Log House was imported from Norway by the celebrated artist Alfred Heaton Cooper. Steak on the Stone is a meal like no other. A meal where you have the opportunity to cook your food exactly as you like. With innovative SteakStones products, The Log House are bringing the mouthwatering versatility of this meal to you. We hope that you enjoy this unique culinary experience. We do allow children into the restaurant but please be aware that we do not have a specific children's menu.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing