We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Sun Hotel

££ - £££
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Near Walna Scar Road, Coniston LA21 8HQ, England
+44 15394 41248
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

269 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 269: English reviews
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2017

Stayed here for a night over the Christmas holiday with the family - it's a lovely old hotel with good beer. In the summer the view from the patio is one of the best views in England, perfect for a pint after a walk on the fells. Unfortunately our stay was spoiled by the quality of the food - the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
sharonandalan, Bar maid at The Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write a review and referring to it as a lovely hotel, I apologise for the food not being up too your standard, unfortunately one of our chefs decided not to come back after her holiday and we were left with no chef, we did hire a relief chef in who is no longer... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

Arrived on a Friday night, the pub was fairly empty. No problem with the service, although our friends said it was under new ownership. Most of us had the main courses, which were ok but not very exciting. We all thought the meals were expensive for what we got. When you pay £13 for sausage and mash, it needs to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
sharonandalan, Bar maid at The Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review and commenting on the service you received, the pub isn't under new ownership it's been in the same family nearly 17 years. We did have a chef not return after her holiday around the time you ate with us and can only apologise for the food not being up to standard, had you of... More 

Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

12 is us and 2 dogs not an easy ask for Saturday night But we could not have been more welcome moved tables for us it was a great night The food was great good beer and live music too Great bar staff and a cute but nuts landlady! See you next year

Helpful?
Thank duckegg20
sharonandalan, Bar maid at The Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to eat at the Sun we are so glad you enjoyed your evening with us, we are having music on again on the 14th of January where am sure our crazy land lady will be up dancing again. Regards the Sun More 

Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2016

Ate here while visiting Coniston Coppice - its actually the 2nd time we have eaten here. Wonderful home cooked food accompanied with huge glasses of wine- fantastic. The menu is fairly small but I prefer that at least I know my food is made fresh. Headed upstairs for a game of pool - gutted I didnt get a cuddle with... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrsMeeks
sharonandalan, Bar maid at The Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time too write a fantastic review, Earl (pub cat) will be mortified he missed out on cuddles but am sure you will be here next time you visit. Regards The Sun More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for two nights and it was very relaxing and friendly. Room was comfortable with lovely large ensuite bathroom. Bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast was good quality and overall was a good stay. A little bit surprised to pay £7.50 for a glass of house red! Everywhere else is not that expensive and when I questioned it,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Simon D
sharonandalan, Bar maid at The Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are surprised you found our answer to the price of your wine to be " your an idiot" type answer, it was simply explained that our wines are brought from a quality wine supplier you cannot buy our wines in a supermarket and our large glass is 250ml (1/3 of a bottle) we can't... More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

Had dinner here last night. Beer was good, had the steak and ale pie and chips, my daughter had burger and fries, all excellent. Desserts were ok but a bit burnt. I would go back for the beer and real fire.

Helpful?
Thank PDReviewr74
sharonandalan, Bar maid at The Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your mains and the beer, I can only apologise that you found your desserts a little burnt, we hope you try us again. Regards the Sun Inn More 

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016

Grumpy staff staff member told me to put a donation in the charity box when I asked for a taster of one of the beers! Never heard such a thing. Very limited range of food - beer wasn't impressive so I left. I'm used to find staff cheerful and chatty in rural pubs - very disappointing.

Helpful?
Thank AndyfromClent
sharonandalan, Bar maid at The Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review even though we found it very disappointing, we support ALL charities and asking for a small donation (as little as 20pence) has never been questioned before, after all we as a pub aren't gaining anything from the donations, we also ask for a "small donation" for our wi fi password and have had some... More 

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

You get to know what you should be paying for the same round of drinks in different places and the Sun is way over the norm that you may expect. I can understand any business trying to make the best of an income during the summer season but the Lakes is now 365 days a year. Why then pay substantially... More 

Helpful?
Thank Raymond G
sharonandalan, Bar maid at The Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, however I cannot understand how you came to this conclusion as we are actually one of the cheapest pubs in the village? I can only presume you had pints here and halves in other places or ordered one of our more expensive large (250ml) house wines that we have available... More 

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Small old pub attached to a hotel. Basic lunch menu but lovely presented and large portions. Log fire. Great welcome. Nice quiet pub to relax in as it's a few mins climb up from Coniston. Right next to footpath to and from Coniston Old Man.

Helpful?
Thank jeanf438
sharonandalan, Bar maid at The Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review regarding our food, Regards the Sun Inn More 

1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Popped into the 'Sun' as we always do after our battle with the 'Old Man' on 11/10/16 the usual warm welcome, the usual quality and selection of sales and a stroke for the dogs, see you again in March 2017 😊

Helpful?
Thank Marty W
sharonandalan, Bar maid at The Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review, we love having cuddles with our four legged customers (if they want one) see you in March Regards the Sun Inn More 

Travellers who viewed The Sun Hotel also viewed

Coniston, Duddon Valley
 
Coniston, Duddon Valley
 

Been to The Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Parking Available, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Near Walna Scar Road, Coniston LA21 8HQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Duddon Valley  >  Coniston
  • Phone Number: +44 15394 41248

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Sun Hotel and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Sun Hotel staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?