We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Abraham's Cafe

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

PRICE RANGE
US$3 - US$13
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Healthy, Soups
FEATURES
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveller rating
227
66
21
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
227
66
21
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salad scones beef broth rarebit soups baked potato cake ham george fisher outdoor clothing lovely ladies great cafe rainy day pot of tea at busy times specials board at lunchtime
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 324 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This cafe has always been an integral part of our visit to the Lake District. There have been changes since we last visited. The food remains good, albeit a little expensive for what it is. I think in the past we visited for the experience...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank DeniseBelper
AbrahamsCafe, Marketing Manager at Abraham's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi DeniseBelper, Thanks for calling in to see us again and our apologies that you didn't find us as you left us. We have had quite a few changes, 2018 was an interesting year for us. Along with the renovations a lot of our staff...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a cherry and almond scone and a pot of tea here. It's a really nice cafe surrounded by hiking antiquities, on the top floor of the fantastic George Fisher store. Well worth a visit

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank matty_wxm
AbrahamsCafe, Marketing Manager at Abraham's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Matty, Thanks for the great 5 Star review and lovely feedback for our shop and scones - we agree, the scones are amazing!! We'll pass your thanks on to Donna, she baked them today :-D Hope we see you soon, Rachel

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great cafe in the roof of George Fisher gear shop- ideal for recharging after much Goretex spending in the shop downstairs Good soups

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank anng99
AbrahamsCafe, Marketing Manager at Abraham's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi anng99, Thanks for the great 5 Star review and lovely feedback for the cafe and shop. We're very proud of George Fisher and it's always nice to hear when other people enjoy it as well. We hope to see you soon. Rachel

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A small selection of cooked lunch choices plus salads and snacks. The cakes looked so tempting but no room for any after a gigantic baked potato and chilli. Nice and quiet on this winter day; helpful staff and lovely views of the snow-covered scenery. You...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank cumbrianomad
AbrahamsCafe, Marketing Manager at Abraham's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi cumbrianomad, Thanks for the lovely review and we're glad you enjoyed your baked potato. You'll have to come back again for our homemade cakes and slices... or a giant scone, they are really delicious too! We'll pass your lovely feedback on to our staff...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited the cafe on a cold January day with our 2 daughters. The two ladies working gave us such a warm welcome! We sat down and straight away one of them brought over a colouring sheet and box of books which made our coffee...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Emily Y
AbrahamsCafe, Marketing Manager at Abraham's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Emily, Thank you for the lovely review, we'll let the ladies in the cafe know, they will be chuffed. We are very proud of our staff and cafe and it's always lovely to hear when we've got it right and given someone the best...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I have eaten here on many occasions and always enjoy it. This time we each just had the broth, which is tasty and substantial. Always worth a visit whether to eat or just drinks.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Graham N
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This tea room in Fisher's climbing shop has been expanded since we last visited and is a really spacious area now and has lovely staff with a good range of meals, snacks etc. We were disappointed at the size of the decaffeinated Americans for the...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank candjjames
AbrahamsCafe, Marketing Manager at Abraham's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Candijames, Thanks for your lovely review of our cafe and staff, we'll make sure we let them know, they'll be chuffed. Our apologies though that you were a little disappointed with the size of our coffee and the texture of the scones, we do...More

Reviewed 11 January 2019 via mobile

We have been coming to Abraham's for donkeys years and can only reiterate other reviews, that with the new management it's gone to the dogs We actually walked out before we were served. The staff even if overworked were unfriendly and had no foh skills....More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Dickcharboatman
AbrahamsCafe, Marketing Manager at Abraham's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2019

Hi Dickcharboatman, Thanks for calling in to see us again and we're sorry that you didn't find us as you left us. We have had a lot of changes and most of the reviews we have have been positive but we are aware that some...More

Reviewed 9 January 2019 via mobile

We always look forward to tea and cakes at Fishers when in Keswick and this time we noticed the changes; ordering at the till and different menus. Whilst it was late in the day, there were a lot of tables which needed to be cleared...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank EssexPianist
AbrahamsCafe, Public Relations Manager at Abraham's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2019

Hi EssexPianist, Thanks for calling in to see us and our apologies that we were in a state of disarray when you found us this visit. It's not how we usually operate and without knowing how busy we were or if there had been a...More

Reviewed 27 December 2018 via mobile

We visit Keswick every Christmas, other times too and Abraham’s is always our first choice for lunch. Great food, great friendly service. We came this year in November and noted the extra space given by the new staircase. Our soup for lunch was lovely but...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Alihalimh
AbrahamsCafe, Public Relations Manager at Abraham's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2018

Hi Alihalimh, Thanks for popping in to see us again and our apologies that we didn't come up to your previous experiences with us. We have put our prices up but only to maintain our staff levels and quality local homemade food options. We're also...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 22 nearby hotels
Inn on the Square
852 reviews
.12 miles away
The Kings Arms Hotel
548 reviews
.12 miles away
The Highfield Hotel
456 reviews
.14 miles away
The Skiddaw Hotel
896 reviews
.14 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 158 nearby restaurants
Fellpack
484 reviews
.02 miles away
The Square Orange Cafe Bar
1,076 reviews
.06 miles away
Treeby & Bolton Cafe
500 reviews
.05 miles away
Morrels Restaurant
1,173 reviews
.05 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 121 nearby attractions
Derwentwater
2,588 reviews
.11 miles away
Walla Crag
147 reviews
.09 miles away
Hope Park
397 reviews
.02 miles away
Moot Hall - Keswick Information Centre
181 reviews
.10 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
jlsteve99
8 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from AbrahamsCafe | Property representative |
Hi jlsteve99, Yes, we have gluten-free options. Our menu doesn't show them clearly with symbols or anything (it's a bit hidden in the text) but we have soup, bread, cakes and more ... Please just ask our staff when you... More
0
Votes
Caribean2
23 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from AbrahamsCafe | Property representative |
Hi Caribean2, Many thanks for your questions. We don't do an actual afternoon tea, as such, I'm afraid but you could always make up, or ask for, a selection from our menu. Sadly, we're not set-up for vouchers, as the cafe... More
1
Vote
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing