We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pheasant Inn

££ - £££, British,
Crosthwaite Road, Keswick CA12 5PP, England
+44 17687 72219
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good27%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“beef pie” (51 reviews)
“lamb henry” (34 reviews)
“scampi” (23 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 23:00 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Crosthwaite Road, Keswick CA12 5PP, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great food and very dog friendly as well never miss Going here when in Keswick Can recommend the steak and ale pie and the fish pie really nice you will not be disappointed + great selection of ales

Thank Steve E
MICHELLE G, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thanks for your review. Our food is all cooked from fresh and of the best quality. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Our family loved this place, eating outside on a warm Keswick evening. Each of our meals was very good, and the service was friendly and prompt. Good choices of ales and cider on draught. For us, this was a much better choice / far better...More

Thank Robert1127
MICHELLE G, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the review. Please you enjoyed your meal. Please visit us again soon. Thank you.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Pheasant Inn is a traditional old pub, with the interior tastefully decorated. Located in a picturesque village with beer garden having views of the local countryside. Staff were very friendly and welcoming, giving a choice of seats to choose from. Menu had plenty of...More

1  Thank Mand789
MICHELLE G, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the review. We are so glad you enjoyed uour meal and surroundings. Thanks again and please visit us again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Ate he in June after recommendation from the B&B we were staying at and we were not disappointed. A short walk out of the center and well worth it as food was delicious. I had the salmon and my husband had the duck both were...More

Thank LynneBaz97
MICHELLE G, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your dining experience. Thanks again and please visit us again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I phoned the Pheasant Inn last night around 8pm to check what time they stopped serving (9pm). The man on the phone was perfectly pleasant and we were looking forward to the dinner based on the reviews. Once we arrived, it was clear the place...More

4  Thank Lauren T
MICHELLE G, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your review. On the night in question the Pheasant Inn was as you say 'packed' as we are an extremely busy lakeland pub renowned for its food and ales. All the staff were busy all night and when you arrived there was...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I went with my wife & a friend for lunch. Although the pub decor looked a little tired, the welcome, service & food were very good and enjoyed by all

1  Thank colinpoppy
MICHELLE G, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. We are a lakeland traditional pub inviting and charming with a welcoming atmosphere which seems to be it's attraction. I am glad you enjoyed your meal and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were staying in Keswick but wanted to get out of the town centre as it was very busy. We had read reviews of the Pheasant Inn so booked a table. The room we were in was small but away from the bustle of the...More

1  Thank JanetNewcastle
MICHELLE G, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello there. Ongrstulations on your Ruby wedding.Thank you for coming to visit us and pleased you had a lovely meal.yes the flies come with the heatwave I'm afraid and we do our best to keep them under control. I am pleased your husband enjoyed his...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited on Saturday evening after our Scafell Pike hike . Food was delicious and portions are very generous. Place is a bit dated but that didn’t affected our experience. Staff were very polite and helpful . Also dog friendly . Would definitely recommend.

1  Thank Kasia H
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When we arrived at the pub, we had to wait to get seated. When we got a table and our food was delivered, the food tasted fantastic. Possibly book in advance next time.

1  Thank Silverswan76
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We didn't book a table and took our luck with the main bar eating area at 7:30 pm. 10 minutes later the pub was full with more coming in. The staff where welcoming and the beer, local one on draft, whetted the appetite. The food...More

1  Thank Neil S
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 23 hotels in Keswick
Lairbeck Hotel
208 reviews
.17 miles away
The Skiddaw Hotel
833 reviews
.48 miles away
Inn on the Square
768 reviews
.49 miles away
The Kings Arms Hotel
511 reviews
.49 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Woodhouse Cafe Keswick Garden Centre
24 reviews
.16 miles away
A Taste of Thailand Restaurant at Shemara Guest House
363 reviews
.41 miles away
Kat's Kitchen
176 reviews
.33 miles away
Mrs F's Fine Food Emporium
173 reviews
.40 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Keswick Brewing Company
94 reviews
.46 miles away
The Puzzling Place
1,187 reviews
.45 miles away
Keswick Museum
208 reviews
.44 miles away
Fitz Park
130 reviews
.51 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
240donna
28 April 2018|
Answer
Response from James D | Reviewed this property |
I don't know I'm afraif. I suggest you give them a call.
0
Votes
Debbie M
26 December 2017|
Answer
Response from Christine B | Property representative |
Sorry this has just reached me today
0
Votes
Tracey186361
19 December 2017|
Answer
Response from Christine B | Property representative |
Hi yes we do but only in the bar area not the dining rooms.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$20
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Crosthwaite Road, Keswick CA12 5PP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Keswick
  • Phone Number: +44 17687 72219
  • E-mail
Description
Traditional lakeland gastro pub. Great ales. Fine wines. Stunning food..extensive menu reasonably priced. Friendly welcoming staff. Dog friendly in the bar. Children welcome. Beer garden. Front outside tables with beautiful views. Open every day. Please book for food to avoid disappointment
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing