We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cafe Oswald's

Ullswater Road, Penrith CA11 7EH, England
+44 1768 868680
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good35%
  • Average10%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Ullswater Road, Penrith CA11 7EH, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We called here twice in a 4 day stay in the Lakes. The flat white coffees were the best we had ever tasted and believe you me we have sampled a lot nationwide. The gluten free chocolate orange cake and the lemon polenta were moist...More

Thank Gillian G
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This light and comfortable cafe situated above Cranston's delicious food shop was the ideal breakfast stop en route from Yorkshire to Scotland. The breakfast baps were made with good quality local produce and served in a lovely lightly toasted local roll. The bacon was dry...More

Thank MerlinwizardYork
CranstonsCA11, Manager at Cafe Oswald's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Glad you enjoyed your mid-journey stop off breakfast baps! Sophie was happy to have a mention...See you again soon hopefully for lunches!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After being regular customers of the hot food counter in cranstons, and always in a hurry, we thought, given we had surplus time to delve into the cafe upstairs. What a disappointment. Visually the cafe is well presented and moderately clean. Although we did see...More

Thank 710benjamin
CranstonsCA11, Manager at Cafe Oswald's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Firstly I'd like to sincerely apologise for the service, food & drinks received in Café Oswald's. This is not our usual standard and will be looked into immediately. As you can appreciate it's difficult when complaints are directed at younger less experienced members of part...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stopover for a breakfast on way to Carlisle. I was outvoted by the 3 females in the family. I wanted to go to the truckers cafe next door. The food was very good and all well prepared and to a high standard. As one of...More

Thank SarfLondonHodgies
CranstonsCA11, Manager at Cafe Oswald's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your feedback! I will pass the comments onto the staff who I'm sure will be happy to hear! I myself also like to think of it as a 'healthy fry up' - it does help justify having it more often!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited for lunch and were expecting good food considering the farm shop underneath the cafe however we were disappointed. The sweet potato chips cost £3.50 and came in a tiny tin. It can't have been any more than one potato. Here is a tip...More

Thank MrsMikeReviews
CranstonsCA11, Manager at Cafe Oswald's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Firstly I'd like to sincerely apologise that you had a bad experience in our Café and felt it wasn't great value for money. At Cranston's we pride ourselves on delivering excellent standards of customer care and quality of our produce so all complaints of a...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We always stop here when travelling south it's only a few minutes from the m6 at Penrith. The food is of the highest quality and the staff always friendly. the fruit scones with butter jam and clotted cream are to die for.

Thank stuartmyler
CranstonsCA11, Manager at Cafe Oswald's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback, I'll pass your scone compliments onto the chef - always good hear!

Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

This our 4th year of calling for breakie on our way to Northumbria for holiday . Yet again , spot on . Quick friendly service in a very clean and comfortable cafe. The sausage baps and lattes are really good . Be back next year...More

Thank Steve B
CranstonsCA11, Manager at Cafe Oswald's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for a great review and your valued repeat custom, see you again soon!

Reviewed 8 August 2017

Good service food okay but coffee was cold it was taken away and another one arrived was slightly warmer but I feel they need to sort their lattes out apart from that hiccup it was good.Would like to see more different breads in the shop...More

Thank rosie a
CranstonsCA11, Manager at Cafe Oswald's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your feedback. Firstly I'd like to apologise for your cold coffee. We have recently started using milk thermometers for every drink to ensure this does not happen again. Also key members of staff are also doing a BSA lv.1 Barista Course to ensure...More

Reviewed 3 August 2017

Stopped for a light lunch. Very busy a short wait for a table. Had coffee and a sandwich which was a meal in itself. Food very good. Service a bit slow but the place was 100% full so to be expected. Would go again, the...More

Thank grahamj140
CranstonsCA11, Manager at Cafe Oswald's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for a great review, I'm glad you enjoyed your sandwich/coffee. Sorry about the service speed, we're making tweaks all the time to try keep things moving as quickly as possible even when we're 100% full.

Reviewed 25 July 2017

We always break our journeys north (and south) at Cafe Oswald where there's a warm welcome and delicious food. We've enjoyed light, tasty lunches, fab cakes and good tea and coffee. Service is always efficient and with a smile. The food hall downstairs is a...More

Thank Ttopknot
CranstonsCA11, Manager at Cafe Oswald's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and kind comments regarding our staff, cakes and drinks - appreciated! I will pass on your compliments, they're always well received!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Dockray Hall
203 reviews
.49 miles away
The Country Coffee Shop
137 reviews
.52 miles away
Grants of CastleGate, Cafe Bar Bistro
115 reviews
.50 miles away
New Squares Cafe
53 reviews
.50 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Centre Parcs Whinfell Forest
1,248 reviews
.40 miles away
Penrith Castle
194 reviews
.35 miles away
Lacy's Caves
73 reviews
.66 miles away
Penrith Museum
49 reviews
.61 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Cafe Oswald's staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$14
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Free Off-Street Parking, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Reservations, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 16:00
Monday
08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 17:00
Thursday
08:00 - 17:00
Friday
08:00 - 17:00
Saturday
08:00 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Ullswater Road, Penrith CA11 7EH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Eden District  >  Penrith
  • Phone Number: +44 1768 868680
  • E-mail
Description
Cafe Oswald's serves up a Cumbrian inspired menu of Breakfasts and lunches using quality produce from Cranstons Cumbrian Food Hall.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing