We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Brockhole Cafe, Brockhole-on-Windermere

££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Lake Windermere Shore, Windermere LA23 1LJ, England (Formerly Terrace Café Brockhole Visitor Centre)
+44 15394 46601
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 51: English reviews
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

I have visited Brockhole a couple of times now but this is the first time I have used the terrace Cafe. I visited with my mam and my two children. After having a look at the huge menu on the wall which in fairness didn't have a lot of choice for the likes of myself who has many food intolerances... More 

Helpful?
Thank clareb82
Brockhole_VSM, Guest Relations Manager at Brockhole Cafe, Brockhole-on-Windermere, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am sorry to hear you felt disappointed with the experience in our café. In terms of prices, we keep our menu and prices under regular review and aim to ensure these are consistent with the local market and offer good value for money. We are making some changes to the menu at present... More 

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Brockhole, as an attraction, and a family day out is a great place to visit, and one I would thoroughly recommend, however yet again the cafe experience was very poor. Would be it be so hard to get in 1-2 extra staff in the cafe? And maybe get stocked up ready for a busy day? No one wants to queue... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marrabimba
Brockhole_VSM, Guest Relations Manager at Brockhole Cafe, Brockhole-on-Windermere, responded to this review

Many thanks for sending us your review and comments which we will take on board. I am sorry that you had a 20-30 minute wait time on the food and appreciate your patience. We always try to minimise the wait times for hot food on our busiest days, and will certainly try to do better. We will be reviewing our... More 

Aldridge
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2016

I had stopped off at Brockhole as part of a boat journey on Windermere and wanted a quick coffee and a bite to eat. I have been here before and I think the standard has improved as the service was quicker than I remember, the staff were friendly and the coffee and scone I had were fair value for money

Helpful?
Thank Mary E
Brockhole_VSM, Guest Relations Manager at Brockhole Cafe, Brockhole-on-Windermere, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and felt the standard of service and food in the café had improved. I have passed on your feedback to our Café team and very much hope you will visit us again one day. More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2016

Set in the old house on the site, the café had a good selection of adults food which was expensive but I'm getting used to the prices in the area now! However the kids meal was awful! You could choose a sandwich plus 4 other items. However the items were so limited there was no "choice" about it!! They could... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amy R
Brockhole_VSM, Guest Relations Manager at Brockhole Cafe, Brockhole-on-Windermere, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send us your review and I am sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience of the children's offer in the Café. We are making some changes to the menu at present and are working with our suppliers and partners to ensure that we offer a good value range and are competitive,... More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

We arrived by boat so free entry lots to do we had a sunny day so perfect. We arrived lunch time so most of treetop activities were full but could pre book. Our 10 yr old did the climbing wall followed by a huge zip wire staff lovely patient and helpful. Nice cafe lots of seating , good for dogs... More 

Helpful?
Thank rowanlm
Brockhole_VSM, Guest Relations Manager at Brockhole Cafe, Brockhole-on-Windermere, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves here at Brockhole. I will also pass on your kind remarks to our partners who operate Tree Top Trek who will be very pleased to hear your positive feedback. Please do come back and visit us again one day, you will be... More 

Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2016

We only had drinks here as we eaten somewhere else earlier in day. Great atmosphere and attentive staff. Might go back and try the food next time

Helpful?
Thank Kim R
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2016

The Patio is a great place to sit and drink your morning coffee. We went there out of season and during term time so there weren't hoards of kids running about. The cafe was quite basic offering the usual paninis and stuff - unimaginative and pricey (especially for a family of 4 or more). The walk around the grounds and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janette G
Askam in Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2015

I have been here many times over the years and never have been disappointed,you have plenty of outside space to eat, as well as lots of space inside,the food is very good,no matter what you have,prices are slightly over but it's what you would expect

Helpful?
Thank 321Katrina
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2015

Good choice of food at reasonable prices. Great views over Lake Windermere from the terrace. There was a wedding taking place when we were there, can't think of a better venue.

Helpful?
Thank sarah a
HARTLEPOOL
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2015 via mobile

Very spacious which is good if you have a big family. Nice to have some table space and good that the dog was welcome inside. Food was average and very expensive. Only had snack lunchtime sandwiches and found it cost more for this than our large hot evening meals in near by pubs/restaurants. Will probably take a picnic next time.

Helpful?
Thank 340emma

Travellers who viewed Brockhole Cafe, Brockhole-on-Windermere also viewed

 
Ambleside, Lake District
Troutbeck, Lake District
 

Been to Brockhole Cafe, Brockhole-on-Windermere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    2 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Cafe, British
Meals
Breakfast, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Lake Windermere Shore, Windermere LA23 1LJ, England (Formerly Terrace Café Brockhole Visitor Centre)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Windermere
  • Phone Number: +44 15394 46601
Description
Brockhole Café is the perfect place to grab a drink and bite during your visit to Brockhole on Windermere. Our full café menu is available during school holidays - from breakfast to light lunches and hearty main meals. At other times we offer light snacks - including hot paninis, soup and sandwiches - as well as cakes and hot and cold drinks. All our food is cooked fresh to order using a fantastic range of local produce. Check out our website for opening times.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Brockhole Cafe, Brockhole-on-Windermere staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?