We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£10 - £20
CUISINES
Fast food, Seafood, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
View all details
features, about
Reviews (1,890)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
1,883 results
Traveller rating
687
326
255
259
356
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
687
326
255
259
356
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bread and butter pudding haddock and chips blackpool tower visiting blackpool food was lovely booth jordan seaside
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 days ago

Chips hard fish tasted of old oil not drained worst meal at Harry Ramsden ever we are oaps socost is always a premium and this was not worth the cost disgusted

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited this restaurant while in area. The restaurant is modern, clean, in a good location and has a good seating capacity. The food is good but a little over priced for what you get. The staff are friendly and helpful

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 April 2024 via mobile

Visited this iconic Fish & Chips restaurant located in Blackpool Tower and sampled their Afternoon Tea with a chippy twist. Their version has a mix of mini fish burgers, fishcakes, battered sausages, panko crusted gherkins with mushy peas + curry sauce, onion rings, chips, banana...fritters with biscoff sauce and bread & butter pudding. We thoroughly enjoyed the variety of savoury and sweet options which had a nice balance of flavours, well-seasoned and perfectly cooked plus good portion sizes. Cosy ambiance, hearty food and accomodating staff (our server Tom was very attentive), overall a great experience. Harry Ramsden’s has been serving up World Famous Fish & Chips for over 90 years (since 1928) so we can only expect the best from them. They have been dishing it up at fab locations across the country including their 420-seater restaurant in Bournemouth which is one of the largest in the world.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Edwina Low, Marketing at Harry Ramsden's, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Joey, thanks so much for the warm feedback! We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 2 April 2024

Me and my husband had fish and chips it’s the best fish and chips he has ever had he is a fussy eater staff amazing served by staff member Debbie nice lady very funny pleasant girl definitely recommend this place for food worse thing is...going to eat and having rude tired waiters but this place definitely was not like that everyone was happy and really nice thank youMore

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Molly Brown, Marketing at Harry Ramsden's, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Charlene, thank you for the warm feedback! We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 1 April 2024 via mobile

Just had the afternoon tea and we did get it on a discounted voucher but I would pay the £25 for next time round it was so tasty 😋

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Molly Brown, Marketing at Harry Ramsden's, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Jim, pleased to hear you enjoyed our Afternoon Tea! Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 27 March 2024

Visited the night before our wedding and we fancied fish and chips, food was delicious and the staff were friendly and welcoming, would definitely recommend to all.

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Molly Brown, Marketing at Harry Ramsden's, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Matt, thank you for the feedback! See you again soon.

Reviewed 14 March 2024

We were pleasantly surprised by our experience here. We moved to Blackpool over a year ago and we had avoided the place in the past because every time we walked past the front of the building (facing the prom) it looked completely empty. Of course,...your instinct tells you not to eat at an empty restaurant. It always seemed strange to us because it has a very prominent position on Blackpool prom, and looks really clean and modern, so we presumed it must not be good. Yesterday we decided to come in from the rain and finally try it out. It wasn't busy, but it is mid-week and out of season for the area. The staff were really friendly and we really enjoyed the food. I had chips and gravy and my husband had the steak and kidney pie with chips. He said the pie was delicious and his only negative was that the mushy peas were bland. Overall we thought it was good value for money and a nice place to have lunch. Before we left, I asked the staff why it was so quiet and why they didn't sit anyone in the front of the restaurant where most passing trade goes by. I explained the lack of customers in the windows had put us off coming in. They explained that some drainage issues from the neighbouring Blackpool Tower had caused a lot of water to gather on their roof and cause the roof to sag, so they had to try not to sit customers here until the issue is fixed. The reason made total sense, but I think it's such a shame that it has been like this for clearly a year at least, because it really does like the restaurant is closed or quiet everytime you walk past. We'll definitely be back to enjoy lunch here againMore

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 March 2024 via mobile

We booked an afternoon tea from Wowcher and was very impressed with the quality of food and the service!! Tom talked us thru what was on the menu and so polite. Chanel delivered our dessert in the same friendly manner. Not somewhere I would normally...choose but will return after the excellent customer serviceMore

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2024 via mobile

Terrible service, there were more staff than customers yet we had to find one to place the order and when the food came part was missing. As for the food it looked like a waiter was cooking in the kitchen area and probing everything that...came out of the fryer, I wish he never with my cod, it’s was very over cooked and dry, partnerships fish cake also over cooked. Didn’t take the missed items off the bill and the staff really didn’t give a s..tMore

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 February 2024

Given a voucher for xmas for Afternoon tea. It was amazing. From going in to leavin the staff where so lovely, helpful and friendly. The afternoon tea was just fab. Highly recommend it.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 January 2024

Tried to go one night and none of the doors would open! Staff members inside saw us but didn't let us in. Went the next evening and we made it in, good service and food overall.

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 January 2024 via mobile

A lot of people look down on fish and chips, and many might raise their eyebrows at this flavourless review. But I tell you, fish and chips can be done brilliantly and it can have flavour. It doesn’t have to be all about grease. I...am packing up to move back to London at the moment, but fancied a stroll along the beach for a break. So I jumped in the car for the relatively short drive from Manchester to Blackpool. It is January, so naturally most places are closed. But beneath Blackpool Tower is Harry Ramsden’s. If anyone can do fish and chips well, it must be these guys right? I ordered a small cod and chips, with a side of mushy peas. I was feeling extra peckish, so I also ordered a childhood favourite. A jumbo battered sausage. Due to driving, I had a Coca Cola to wash it down. Not fine dining or bib gourmand, but a staple classic of the British seaside. The food is, as promised on the menu, cooked to order…. well, I would hope so. After an acceptable wait, my food arrived. I seasoned with the obligatory salt and vinegar. Let’s look at this experience item by item. Coca Cola. Someone needs to get onto the phone to Atlanta. I appreciate that in a business like this, your coke is going to be BIB postmix (bag in box). However, I know something about this and the settings of syrup to water ratio has been turned down. It’s something restaurants and pubs do to squeeze profit out of an already profitable item, but it leaves you with a weak and tasteless cola. Battered jumbo sausage. The batter didn’t look natural. The formation of it around the sausage (cheeky) was uniform and the same all over. It was tasteless as a batter and the sausage cocooned inside tasted of water. This was the poorest tube of meat I’ve ever had, and I enjoy a good sausage. Mushy peas. There were peas in there, and they were mushed up…. But whatever process there was in making them, probably took place in a factory 80 miles away before they were tinned up and shipped to this outlet by Bidfresh. You can make mushy peas easily! You don’t have to have tinned and microwave, especially at the price being charged here. Cod and chips. The cod was actually a nice piece of fish. Tasted good and hit the mark. You could also see the natural messy formation of the batter, though this part still had no flavour. The chops were disappointing. They are hand cut chips, whether here or in a food processing centre… but they had the consistency of over chips instead of deep fried. Have they been on hot holding too long? I don’t know, but they were a sad excuse to go with what was a nice piece of fish. Overall, maybe this is what you should expect of a Harry Ramsden at Blackpool Tower… but it could be better. Much, much better.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 January 2024

Amazing interior, but I had a feeling I eat from the floor due to ceramic tiles on the table. Food was not good enough for this prices. Chicken bbq burger was in real 3 nugets in barm with dry lettuce. And the same fish burger...was 3 fish fingers in barm with dry lettuce. Disgusting for this price. It supose to be the best fish and chips in UK. Big mistake. Two onion rings. One was onion skin only not eatyble. I ask for small corona I received big one. Only waitress was good. Very nice and polite. I will never back there again. Trully not recomend.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 December 2023

Waited in a queue to get in then a lovely lady kindly said they have no availability. My husband then suggested rather than make people wait perhaps put a notice up for customers . Then very sharply and rude a gentlemen (staff) basically screamed we...have no staff in front of my 6 year old son . Absolutely appalling and managers response was no staff . No apology and other customers witnessed this alsoMore

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 December 2023

Went into Harry’s about 5.45 pm. Greeted by a lovely smiling waitress who was very nice and welcoming. Spotted us waiting, and seated us promptly. The waitress took our order, 2 fish and chips mushy peas and a big pot of tea, which was lovely,...and a coke. The restaurant was half empty, but had about 25 minute wait for food. The food came, to find the fish very well done, dry, and really inedible and tepid. Told the waitress and she apologised and got a fresh fish. This was better, but I shared it with my daughter as hers was the same but didn’t like saying anything. Very poor quality of chips, think they are cooked and reheated hard sharp chip ends. For £15.99 was a disgrace. The waitress asked about the food and told her it was poor as we left fish and chips. A discount was given which was fine, she was really helpful. I would recommend to go elsewhere and save your money. We initially went in the takeaway section this was filled with dirty tables and not a single member of staff about, nor a smell of chips or a cooked piece of food in the display. This needs attention whoever is in charge.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Adelaide House Hotel
491 reviews
.17 miles away
Melville Hotel
660 reviews
.18 miles away
Belroy Hotel
134 reviews
.19 miles away
Premier Inn Blackpool North Pier Hotel
908 reviews
.20 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Revolution Blackpool
2,040 reviews
.12 miles away
Beach House Bistro & Bar
2,223 reviews
.07 miles away
Papa's Fish & Chips Blackpool
1,476 reviews
.09 miles away
Cookies
200 reviews
.09 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Blackpool Tourist Information Centre
387 reviews
.10 miles away
Viva!
3,799 reviews
.07 miles away
Blackpool Tower Ballroom
4,637 reviews
.03 miles away
The Blackpool Tower
11,257 reviews
.02 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
nataliesS9646QA
24 June 2023|
Answer
Response from julianp623 | Reviewed this property |
Ring before hand and ask them
0
Votes
SueHadfield2023
16 October 2021|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from amandahF5928ES | Reviewed this property |
No face masks were worn by staff
0
Votes
784lyndsaye
29 December 2019|
Answer
Response from fentilena | Reviewed this property |
New Year's Day) 11:30am–8pm Hours might differ
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

HARRY RAMSDEN'S, Blackpool - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Food Delivery & Takeaway - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Harry Ramsden's

Yes, Harry Ramsden's offers takeaway services.

Yes, Harry Ramsden's is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Harry Ramsden's is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3
  • Atmosphere: 3