We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Last Plantagenet

Is this your business?
107 Granby Street, Leicester LE1 6FD, England
+44 116 255 5492
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good36%
  • Average27%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“curry” (5 reviews)
“priced food” (7 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
107 Granby Street, Leicester LE1 6FD, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited here on the 27th January 2015. A good local pub with a popular local theme playing on the Richard The Third link/discovery. Posters & pictures on the wall give nice information about the 'Carpark King' as he is known. Regulars seem nice. Very near...More

Thank TheLeopard79
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Typical Weatherspoon's. Could really do with some decent refurbishment. However, cheap beer and food is always available. The food is nothing to write home about, but always hot. It can get very busy and there never seems to be enough staff, but good for a...More

Thank Val B
Plantagenet225, The Management Team at The Last Plantagenet, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We appreciate all feedback from customers, good and bad. We are always looking for ways to improve and are currently in the process of hiring new staff and updating the pub décor,

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You either love or hate Wetherspoons. This is exactly what is states on the tin. Unless you love this chain best avoided. Try the Blue Boar its a proper pub.

Thank Jan R
Plantagenet225, The Management Team at The Last Plantagenet, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sorry to hear this, maybe you could visit us again and we can try and change your opinion?

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stumbled upon this venue on-route to the stadium, and it worked out well. Great selection of beers at very reasonable prices, friendly staff, supporters from both teams mixing before the game and free wi-fi. Punk Brew IPA and Hop House on draught with guest beers...More

Thank LIMPIT
Plantagenet225, The Management Team at The Last Plantagenet, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your impromptu visit! Our new additions of Hop House & Punk IPA are proving to be very popular and following the ale festival we've decided to increase our guest ale range, so make sure you come back and see...More

Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

I visited the last plantagenet with some friends and the service was great. The staff were all so friendly and really made our meal special. It's great to visit a place with a good atmosphere. Wetherspoons sometimes have a bad reputation but this pub definitely...More

Thank Danielle L
Plantagenet225, The Management Team at The Last Plantagenet, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your kind comments and positive review, we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 11 March 2018

This was a good breakfast I note that Tim Martin has issued a dictat that fried tomatoes should be fried well. I always have to ask, but here it was done properly. Attentive staff, good range of beers, cleanliness OK but didn't get a sense...More

Thank Nigel H
Plantagenet225, The Management Team at The Last Plantagenet, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the nice comments.

Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

Not sure what is going on at this Wetherspoon, made a complaint concerning our first experience there and we received a complimentary meal voucher , on visiting to use the voucher after 45 minutes no food had turned up and as we had a prior...More

Thank Gary T
Plantagenet225, The Management Team at The Last Plantagenet, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Really sorry to hear about your bad experience. We strive to provide excellent service for each customer, however sometimes we do get it wrong. Any feedback is appreciated as it goes toward retraining staff on customer service so we can constantly improve in this area.

Reviewed 28 February 2018 via mobile

We needed somewhere close to our accommodation, locals were fascinated we had come from Australia to see Richard iii's tomb at the cathedral. We enjoyed the meals, chatted with locals and sunk a few pints. Overall wonderful food at a reasonable price.

Thank ingridm909
Plantagenet225, The Management Team at The Last Plantagenet, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your lovely review - we're so glad you enjoyed your visit after coming such a low way to Leicester!

Reviewed 23 January 2018

The food was very well priced and tasted great. Didnt have to wait too long for the food to come out either which is always a plus. The staff were also very polite and helped me with any questions I had. They also told me...More

Thank Kelly M
Plantagenet225, The Management Team at The Last Plantagenet, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Thanks for your lovely review - we always like to hear positive comments, especially about the staff

Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

Decent full English breakfast for £5... my friend had the vegetarian option for £3 odd which she also Enjoyed. We were also able to exchange the tomato for more beans which some places don’t allow.

Thank Cheggers1981
Plantagenet225, The Management Team at The Last Plantagenet, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Thanks for your kind review - we hope to see you again

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 40 hotels in Leicester
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
948 reviews
.07 miles away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
1,292 reviews
.11 miles away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
649 reviews
.15 miles away
Ibis Leicester
706 reviews
.21 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Kayal
1,546 reviews
.06 miles away
Santhi Restaurant - Leicester
285 reviews
.06 miles away
Las Iguanas - Leicester
634 reviews
.10 miles away
Tatra Eastern Corner
62 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Curve Theatre
1,071 reviews
.19 miles away
The Little Theatre
113 reviews
.05 miles away
Leicester City Market
99 reviews
.23 miles away
The Y Theatre
30 reviews
.10 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Riyaz N
18 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from vijay a | Reviewed this property |
kids are suitable to bring in right from breakfast time ie 9am to 7 pm dinner time !Theyl love it!!
0
Votes
Peteduffy16
19 December 2014|
Answer
Response from vijay a | Reviewed this property |
the best thing to do is give them a quick ring youll get a better ans and the no is 0116 555492!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts American Express, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 23:00
Monday
08:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 00:00
Thursday
08:00 - 00:00
Friday
08:00 - 00:00
Saturday
08:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 107 Granby Street, Leicester LE1 6FD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Leicestershire  >  Leicester
  • Phone Number: +44 116 255 5492
Description
The name of this Wetherspoon pub refers to Richard III, the last Plantagenet king of England, who stayed in Leicester on the eve of his defeat at nearby Bosworth Field, in 1485. After the battle, his body was brought back to the city and displayed for several days. With daily offers & promotions available, The Last Plantagenet has everything to offer. We are a dedicated, hardworking & passionate team that are willing to cater to your every desire.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;