We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Dovecote

££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Coventry Road, Leicester LE19 2GN, England
+44 116 286 2852
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

319 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 318: English reviews
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We live local to the Dovecote and have been a handful of times now, and each time the service and food seem to be worse than the time before. Last time we ordered the steak special which at £24 should be good. The steak was over cooked and very tough. We did send it back and eventually is was just... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Been here various times with work colleagues and every time has delivered exactly what we expected. A very good lunch menu with variety and offers. The salmon fish cakes are definitely worth having and sweet chilli chicken. Garlic bread with cheese is scrumptious and all good is good value for money.

Helpful?
Thank Asha C
Dovecote3, Owner at The Dovecote, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to give us such a great review. Our team work very hard to look after our guests so its great when we see that you appreciate it. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Michael More 

Narborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just down the road and has built itself back up following a turbulent time a few years ago. Great for Sunday carvery and has themed menu nights plus the normal menu. Staff are friendly and service is good. You don't have to have a full meal, it is ideal for snacking during the day too. Have to admit one of... More 

Helpful?
Thank John F
Leicester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Thank you to the management and staff for ensuring that the celebration was an enjoyable occasion. Met with the manageress to choose a tailor made carved buffet lunch for 28 guests. The food was excellent, service good and we were provided with a pleasant area for our gathering. The weather was good so the children were able to play outside... More 

Helpful?
Thank LIZANNLeicester
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very slow service,had to complain about the food,all we got was sorry.Would not go back again.Staff need more training on feedback.

Helpful?
Thank alan112016
Dovecote3, Owner at The Dovecote, responded to this review

Hi Alan, so sorry you had a poor experience with us. Would you email me on michael.thomas63@icloud.com with details such as date of visit, time, where you sat in the restaurant and/or a server name from your bill so I can find out what went wrong on that occasion and take corrective action asap..Thanks Michael More 

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a nice place this is, a good menu with lots to offer, all our food was good quality, and the service was very good aswell, I would recommend this establishment to anyone.

Helpful?
Thank alan b
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Me and my family go to the Dovecote for a nice fairly cheap child friendly meal. The food is good I've not experience a bad meal yet. The Sunday carvery is really good too. Staff very friendly and helpful. Always very clean and comfortable, nice atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Wendy Isobell S
Dovecote3, Owner at The Dovecote, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to submit a review. Im pleased you always enjoy your visits and we look forward to serving you again soon. Michael More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Second time of visiting under the new management and it will not be the last. Same owners as The Lime Tree but seems more homely. Food is good, beer is on the mark and the staff are very friendly, courteous and helpful. Booking is a must as we saw three parties/couples turned away in our first 30 minutes seated. Only... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian G
Dovecote3, Owner at The Dovecote, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. we did have some unathorised extra cars parked in our car park for a while but this matter has now been resolved so please revisit soon. Kind regards Michael More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Myself and my partner visited this little gem for the first time on a Wednesday evening in April. Looks just as good from the inside as it does the outside. We got the last parking space and the place was only half full so it would be interesting to see what it was like on a busy Saturday night! We... More 

Helpful?
Thank OliPun
Dovecote3, Owner at The Dovecote, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to give us some feedback. You should certainly have one waitress looking after the zone all evening where you are sat so I will investigate why this didnt happen for you. Thanks for letting me know. Michael More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice meal. The pub showing a little wear in places but nothing a lick of paint wouldn't hide! Good pint of real ale to go with a well cooked meal. Cheerful and friendly staff. I would recommend to anyone!

Helpful?
Thank Old-Bushy-beard
Dovecote3, Owner at The Dovecote, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are just in the early stages of our planned refurbishment which should take place at some point in 2017. Regards Michael More 

Travellers who viewed The Dovecote also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Narborough, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Dovecote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$18
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Coventry Road, Leicester LE19 2GN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Leicestershire  >  Leicester
  • Phone Number: +44 116 286 2852
Description
The Dovecote is a beautiful building full of character and serves a wide range of British food. Prices range from £6 for a lunch meal such as Sausage and Mash up through £8.50 For a homemade Lasagne to £19 for a Porterhouse steak.
We take bookings for any time and have over 150 seats available
We also serve a wide range of wines, spirits, beers and soft drinks.
Everyone is welcome either for a drink, light snack/coffee or a 3 course formal meal.
We have 80 space car park and a spacious garden for guests to enjoy.
Easy to find, just type LE192GN into Satnav and it will bring you right to our front door.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Dovecote and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Leicester
7 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Dovecote staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?