We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Indian, Bar, Asian, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Dinner, Drinks
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (122)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
46
32
14
8
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
46
32
14
8
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews curry butter chicken lamb tawa on tap lovely food be visiting again mains spicy lager takeaway
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 days ago

been a few times lately and tried different things and enjoyed them all the staff have been friendly and polite the prices are average to most other places. we recently went as a table of 17 and all the meals came out around the same...time and no one in the group had a complaint.as our favourite restaurant visual has closed down this is now are new favourite.the new drinks prices are a deffo plus.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 September 2023

Got recommended to go to the woolpack for dinner wish we had not gone we decided to try the beer garden we ordered drinks first before our meal. There was kids running around all over the tables jumping up and down on them and customers...have to eat there meals of them + rowdy men swearing and shouting 😳 we decided to leave after our drink 🍸 and decided to go to the Martin Inn down the road wich was definitely 5 stars ***** let's hope the management see this review and stop this happening.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 July 2023 via mobile

Emma for food and Chris at the bar amazing service can’t fault it .. food is banging lamb tawa amazing off the hook 🤩deffo recommend

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 March 2023

Went to the woolpack for my wifes birthday she had a biriyani and i had a mix sizzler both where to die for great portions great value very good staff very polite and friendly and they had a happy hour until 8pm so beer and...soft drinks where cheap i e 1 lager and a glass of lemonade £6 10p will be going back.More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 October 2022 via mobile

I went wool pack with my brother was given a table that was gi e but was told someone be with us soon to take drinks an food ordered after awhile when no1 ce I had go to the bar order my drinks an food...It was a Monday an wasn't very busy so it beyond myself how I couldn't get a propa service for the moment I was charged 5poind for a Guinness an extra 80p for blackcurrant juice. Overall food was decent but definitely need manage staff as the prices been paid doesn't reflex on service given. I happily pay extra but if the service isn't there then I dnr understand what the high prices are for. Wouldn't recommend woolpack to any if my family or friends. Sorry woolpack butbits a no from me an shall not vist there anymoreMore

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 August 2022 via mobile

From starters to main all very fresh and beautifully cooked can't fault anything staff always go above seem happy think management got a very good team will be visiting again soon

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 August 2022 via mobile

Defiently my favorite curry house in Leicester will defiently be visiting again soon the staff always very friendly and treat us like friends know us by first names

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 August 2022 via mobile

One off the best Currys I’ve had ! khrisna and team go always above and beyond will see you again in October thank you kieren and family

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 July 2022 via mobile

Still as good as when we went pre covid! Menu has changed a little but an amazing array of choice! Nice cold cobra on tap. Service was efficient and friendly, and non intrusive! Will be back soon 😀

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 May 2022

Visited the woolpack with family food was average drinks so expensive staff rude woman's toilets out of order had to use men's what a state they were in also if we had seen the food hygiene rating before we went we would not have bothered...will not be going again.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 May 2022

My family and I went to the Woolpack over the weekend for a birthday meal. We decided to go there after it was recommended by friends. On arrival we were seated and told that the ladies toilet was out of order and we had to...use the mens. The bar staff advised that we ask a male member of the family to enter in first to check that the "cost was clear before females went in". This should have been a red flag and having seen the state of the toilet we should have left at that point, but we had already ordered food at that point. This is the only toilet at least make already its clean!! To be fair the food was OK but we were sat next to a table of lads on a night out who were loud and rowdy so didn't really get to taste the food as all we wanted to do was leave. I did explain to the staff that they should have considered where they seat customers but at this point we were at the end of the meal. All in all a not so pleasant experience. Will not be returning.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 March 2022

Where do I start? Honestly, the best indian I have ever had. I have been a customer for more than 7 years and the restaurant never fails to serve delicious food. Let it be starters or mains, the portion is good. Starters are nice and...sizzling. For mains I usally get garlic naan and butter chicken. This is a prime example of how a butter chicken should be made. I have had lots of butter chickens from other restaurants where they are too sweet that it can be served as a dessert. Woolpack's butter chicken has been on point (spicy and creamy) since I ever started eating here. There is a good selection of drinks aswell. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 March 2022

We have just had a takeaway from here and both meals were lovely the food was hot the meal arrived on time by a friendly person,the portions were large and well worth the money,would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 October 2021

Hi me and a 6 of our friends came into eat and the staff were very rude and not bothered, the pint of cobra was watered down and when we told the worker this her response we got was I have served 180 pints and...had no problem! We then asked for the manager a Asian kid who could hardly speak English he was very rude and said if we do not like the place then do not come back , we was very disappointed in this experience and will definitely not be coming back! You cannot treat customers like this and I hope the owner highlights this to there staff to treat customers with care.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Woolpack L, General Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2021

Dear Adam, Sorry to hear that we could not make you happy. I am the General Manager and I have enough experience in this industry. We also take a lot of good reviews about our service. we would love to take our customer’s negative feedbacks...More

Reviewed 2 October 2021

Ordered a takeaway via Uber eats for this place. We were advised a wait time of 35-50mins. Actually when the order was placed and the time it took to get to us it was almost 2hours!!! We rang the restaurant to see what the delay...was as even though we got an unapologetic sorry, it’s because they were “busy”. We understand restaurants do have their busy days but at least be more organised and update third party companies better. If we had known it took 2 hours for a delivery to turn up we wouldn’t have bothered. Especially when the driver asks you to check the order as throughout the evening people haven’t been getting the correct deliveries. The most disappointing thing is we’ve had food at the restaurant before which was amazing, this evening the food didn’t quite live upto the higher standards previously had. It was rather average and didn’t quite have the same touchMore

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Kabalou's Hotel
44 reviews
.39 miles away
Campanile Hotel Leicester
615 reviews
.76 miles away
ibis Leicester City
851 reviews
1.07 miles away
Ramada Encore by Wyndham Leicester City Centre
916 reviews
1.12 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Aarti Sweet Centre
456 reviews
.35 miles away
Paddy's Marten Inn
584 reviews
.13 miles away
Sharmilee Restaurant
354 reviews
.35 miles away
Chaiiwala
80 reviews
.36 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Abbey Pumping Station
441 reviews
.82 miles away
National Space Centre
3,635 reviews
.80 miles away
Leicester Abbey
102 reviews
.93 miles away
Belgrave Hall & Gardens
51 reviews
.89 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Fparekh
13 April 2023|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Voyager00612092631 | Reviewed this property |
None
0
Votes
Sunshine598880
23 February 2019|
Answer
Response from Krishna k |
Yes, we do
0
Votes
Haveyougottheroomkey
7 November 2016|
Answer
Response from Gulab K |
Yes the food is halal
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE WOOLPACK INN, Leicester - 109 Catherine St - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Food Delivery & Takeaway - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Woolpack Inn

Yes, The Woolpack Inn offers takeaway services.

The Woolpack Inn is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4