We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pioneer Bar and Brasserie

) #293 of 1,389 Restaurants in Liverpool ££ - £££ , European, British
107 Liverpool Road | Crosby, Liverpool L23 5TD, England
+44 151 924 1665
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good15%
  • Average10%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“dry martini” (2 reviews)
“onion soup” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, European, British, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
107 Liverpool Road | Crosby, Liverpool L23 5TD, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Often call into Pioneer for a few drinks after work on a Friday. We are always welcomed by friendly staff and can never fault the service at all. Yesterday evening we decided to eat in the Restaurant with my family and some friends. We where...More

1  Thank garethcia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a wedding party in the private dining area upstairs on the 17th June. We had a sit down meal for 32 family and friends. We had a fabulous night. The food was excellent, all our guests commented on how tasty the meals were,...More

3  Thank Joanne M
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went here with my partner, we had onion soup and a sandwich and meatballs in linguine, I found the service very good and friendly and the food was lovely... definitely recommend this place.

Thank str280577
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have been here before but not had a meal, decided to try out and have to say it was excellent...the lamb was cooked perfectly and was tender the whole meal was just perfect. Staff are attentive and friendly. Would recommend it any time.

Thank Krissy24_11
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Since my last review where it was questioned why I haven't written positively even though i regularly frequent the Pioneer, I've sought to remedy this although I generally only review when the experience is very good or bad rather than just average, but to be...More

Thank Wendy H
Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

A touch of European, cafe-style hospitality in Crosby. Extensive gin menu, with all the trappings. When we arrived a wedding breakfast party was just leaving - as we left a birthday party was arriving. Obviously a popular event venue

Thank Gaijin-tanuki
Reviewed 25 May 2017

Regularly go to this bar for snacks etc and know the owner unfortunately last night was one of the worst dining experiences I have had anywhere and I'm really sad to be writing this review. Went around 5.45 and found the place literally running with...More

4  Thank Wendy H
Pioneer2016, Public Relations Manager at Pioneer Bar and Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Firstly, thank you for frequenting Pioneer since we first opened 9 years ago. Unfortunately, you didn't enjoy your evening last week. Sadly, you have never chosen to write about your good experiences before? You are correct the owner cannot be on duty 7 days a...More

Reviewed 23 May 2017

Visited with 5friends for early evening meal. Staff very attentive and friendly.We all enjoyed our meals - especially myself being a veggie. Good atmosphere and good value for money.

Thank veggielady2016
Pioneer2016, Public Relations Manager at Pioneer Bar and Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Thank you 'veggielady' glad you enjoyed your meal and the service our staff gave you

Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile

We went out for some cocktails and was not disappointed at all, probably the best cocktails I've had outside of the city centre. But the food really disappointed, I had heard amazing reviews of the food but the food we ordered was unbearable, was trying...More

2  Thank Michael S
Pioneer2016, Manager at Pioneer Bar and Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Glad you enjoyed your cocktails! we also do 2 for 1 on selected cocktails on Thursdays. I have spoken to our head chef who has taken on board your comments. However, the crepes are on the evening menu and the med veg and Halloumi combination...More

Reviewed 13 April 2017

We visited Pioneer based on the positive reviews we had read on TA, backed up by friend recommendations. So glad we did! Had breakfast there before Aintree - superb varied menu, really well cooked and presented. Went back for dinner after Aintree, and had one...More

1  Thank peten243
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Ayuthaya
363 reviews
.25 miles away
The Tree House
439 reviews
.20 miles away
So Salsa
290 reviews
.33 miles away
Ellingtons
120 reviews
.03 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Liverpool Pigeon
12 reviews
.02 miles away
Purple Monster Play Centre
24 reviews
.38 miles away
Plaza Cinema
77 reviews
.80 miles away
Blundellsands Beach
40 reviews
.86 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
barbwinza
3 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Stezinho | Reviewed this property |
No, sorry never had afternoon tea!
0
Votes
LiverpoolFlower
23 March 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from IamMickey | Reviewed this property |
Well...I've just checked on the satnav and it says it would take 1 day and 5 hours to walk to the pioneer bar from crake valley. So it may be worth considering something a little closer. Although if you've got sturdy... More
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Television
Good for
Business meetings, Kids, Romantic, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 107 Liverpool Road | Crosby, Liverpool L23 5TD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Merseyside  >  Liverpool>  > Central Liverpool
  • Neighbourhood: Central Liverpool
  • Phone Number: +44 151 924 1665
  • E-mail
Description
Family run business in the heart of Crosby.Prominent Location easy to find if coming from the city centre or Southport, located on Liverpool Road, on the corner of Endbutt Lane. Open weekends from 9am and weekdays from 11am, serving breakfast, brunch, lunch and dinner. Also Tapas in the bar area. A fully stocked bar, wine menu, cocktails, non alcoholic drinks and over 12 gin choices Private dining/function room available for hire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing