We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Squirrel

) #1,176 of 1,389 Restaurants in Liverpool ££ - £££ , British,
Orrell Hill Lane, Liverpool L38 5DA, England
01519294801
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent17%
  • Very good26%
  • Average19%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible22%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Orrell Hill Lane, Liverpool L38 5DA, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

From the moment We sat down at the dirty uncleaned table we were put off with menus covered in food stains a view of a cracked wall and worn out dirty seating and filthy carpets (in dire need of a refurb) as for the salad...More

Thank DAVEHAUGHEY
Reviewed 11 June 2017

If you are after a straightforward meal with good value and prompt friendly but unpretenious service this is the place. Popular for family dining, we find it friendly and informal. So for being exactly what it tries to be, it gets four of my best...More

Thank Pete_Chipp
Reviewed 4 June 2017

Visited last week with family. The salad bar had a bit of limp lettuce left and a bit of sweet corn, this was around 7.30pm. Then came he food, my daughters burger seemed ok but our fish was like soggy wet cabbage under soggy batter....More

Thank Brian F
General Manager A, Manager at Red Squirrel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Hi Brian, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. We...More

Reviewed 28 May 2017

Called in on way home to Southport mid afternoon - place had several other people eating and we were afforded a warm welcome. Given a choice of seating, drinks and main meal ordered and then helped ourselves to the salad bar which was well stocked....More

Thank _kev_skoulli
General Manager A, Manager at Red Squirrel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2017

Thank you for your positive feedback and repeat visits Kev. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

This lovely pub has gone right down to the dumps Salad bar very poor Brown lettuce and had to ask for empty trays to be replaced Had there been lots of customers I could have understood it but the place was almost empty (alarm bells...More

Thank Elizabeth H
General Manager A, Manager at Red Squirrel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit and hope you give us the opportunity to put this right in the future.

Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

On a family day out and on the way home we chose to eat here on the way home. The outside is nice welcoming with a good car park. When we entered we were told 15-20minutes wait for a table of 4. This was strange...More

Thank Maffyew717
General Manager A, Manager at Red Squirrel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed on this visit, we had a number of issues which coincided with the Bank Holiday weekend which we have been able to address since then. We...More

Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

50 minutes to be seated, hour and 10 minutes wait for food. Burgers came pink(RAW), most meals came cold, well done steak came rare, dietary requirements - non followed!! Corn on the cobs, fun size bites. Even the free salad bar was empty. Offered a...More

Thank Jordan R
General Manager A, Manager at Red Squirrel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Hi Jordan, we are sorry to hear of your disappointment on your visit, we had a number of different issues during the Bank Holiday period which we have been able to address since then. We hope to see you again soon to have the chance...More

Reviewed 26 April 2017

Average food and service apart from a Knickerbocker Glory full of melon and no other fruit at £4.50 , normally would have sent it back but did not. Will call again in future to rerate. Staff friendly. Overcharge on bill but corrected.

Thank David G
General Manager A, Manager at Red Squirrel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Hi David, we are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your sundae, we hope to see you again to improve your rating of us.

Reviewed 4 April 2017

Travelling along the Formby by pass we decided at the last minute to visit the Red Squirrel as opposed to the Weld Blubdell on opposite sides of the by pass. Both pub restaurants offer very good food and drinks. The traffic decided our choice. On...More

Thank Frank H
General Manager A, Manager at Red Squirrel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Hi Frank, Thank you very much for the feedback. We hope you return soon to try the larger selection of sauces we now have available with your salad on our Sauce Bar. Hopefully you have enough room for dessert next time!

Reviewed 28 March 2017

We went to the red squirrel on Mother's Day evening. 5 of us ate 3 adults and 2 teenagers. Everywhere I seem to go lately I notice the staff seem too busy to be able to deal with anything you may ask for, so it...More

Thank Luvholsx
General Manager A, Manager at Red Squirrel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Thank you very much for leaving us such positive feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your visit & look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Hightown Hotel
65 reviews
1.12 miles away
Don Luigi
253 reviews
2.25 miles away
The Pheasant
457 reviews
.40 miles away
Sorrento Formby
304 reviews
2.26 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Liverpool Pigeon
12 reviews
2.69 miles away
Crosby Beach
492 reviews
2.48 miles away
West Lancashire Golf Club
32 reviews
2.27 miles away
Farmer Teds Farm Park
343 reviews
2.83 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Red Squirrel staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Orrell Hill Lane, Liverpool L38 5DA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Merseyside  >  Liverpool
  • Phone Number: 01519294801
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing