We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Floating Grace

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Floors marked for social distancing
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, British, Contemporary
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Table Service
Reviews (1,714)
Filter reviews
1,709 results
Traveller rating
1,463
175
29
22
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
1,463
175
29
22
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews apple pie and custard sunday roast lamb shank three course meal scones afternoon tea evening cruise liverpool docks lovely trip captain peter recommend this trip informative commentary running commentary be booking again enjoyable afternoon royal albert food was lovely
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday

I booked the dinner cruise at £35 but then it adds £2 booking fee per ticket and £37 for a basic two course meal (plus the cost of drinks) and a boat trip that lasted not much more than an hour seems poor value for...money. The commentary would have been interesting if you could have heard it which wasn't possible above the noise of people talking. The boat trip lasted not much longer than an hour by the time it left and was back by 8.50pm. Not worth over £40 by the time you include drinks.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 25 February 2022 via mobile

Where do I start... I dont know what I enjoyed more, learning about the history of the docks, the food, the friendly staff, or the sing a long. What an absolutely fantastic evening. I booked this for my partner and I, for our anniversary and...it not only supassed any expectations I had. Right from booking, the admin were on call and so helpful, attentive and friendly. On board, it was so warm and cosy, I had salmon fillets and my partner had lamb shank, with vegetables and potatoes- All cooked to perfection, by the ex- military chef. I could not find a fault in the food if I tried. The chef was so smiley and warm and took time to speak to individual parties. Then there was the Skipper (Peter Kelly) he made our evening, he laughed, and he joked, he danced, he sang, he also steered the boat up and down the Docks, as far as the Dingle. Being from Liverpool, you get such a different perspective of the Docks, whilst riding on the water. His knowledge of the history of the Liverpool Docks is remarkable. I learnt so much from him, thank you. You could see straight away that this was so much more than a job to Peter, he cared your experience was a positive and joyful one. If you have not booked this yet, you should, it's unbelievable value for money. You will not be disappointed, I guarantee it. We loved it that much, whilst on board, we booked to go back in 3 weeks time. Thank you to the whole team. If there was a ten star rating for the Floating Grace experience, it still would be 90 stars too short. 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?2  
PeteSkipper1, Owner at The Floating Grace, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2022

Thank You so much for your Review the Staff and myself are really chuffed with you lovely review just to let you know my surname is Peter Kenny not Kelly if you could ament the dpei g of my surname i would be so grateful...More

Reviewed yesterday

Initially we were booked on a Wednesday evening, but we received an email telling us it was cancelled and to phone to book another evening or cancel. The woman on the phone was very helpful and quickly booked us on Thursday. There is a limited...menu but we were very satisfied with the food. The skipper gave us a running commentary with lots of humour.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed yesterday

Excellent enjoyment from start to finish. Good afternoon tea. Hard working and very friendly staff all happy to please with a smile. Sit back and enjoy the informative history of the Liverpool docks all presented with good humour and a love for Liverpool.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 days ago

It was a wonderful experience with my lovely family the food and the service was excellent nothing was too much trouble you are a great team. Definately wouldn't hesitate to go again.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Had an enjoyable couple of hours on the Floating Grace to celebrate an 18th birthday. The Sunday roast was delicious, the drinks were very reasonably priced and the sing along was great. You can tell Peter the captain enjoys his job. He is very knowledgeable...and gives a good commentary along the different areas of the docks, he also likes to crack a few jokes along the way. A very cheery, likeable man. I had an unfortunate accident getting off the boat which was nothing to do with Peter or the running of the boat. He was very concerned about my welfare. Just to let you know Peter, I had a torn ligament in my foot which is healing nicely. Finally, a thank you to all of the staff who were really friendly and of course the chef for the lovely roast.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 days ago

We wanted to do something different for her birthday and the floating grace was the perfect occasion. Lovely meal and views Would recommend to everyone to try. Peter the skipper was great , entertaining and friendly Staff helpful and attentive Thank-you

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 days ago

Spent a great afternoon on the Floating Grace with 5 other members of our family . The staff were very attentive and friendly. The commentary was very informative and told us the rich and interesting history of the Docks . The food was nice and...there was a decent selection of drinks . All in all a very pleasant afternoon spent on a sunny Sunday .More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 days ago

I have been on the floating grace several times. I have previously had the evening meal , I have also had the afternoon tea and today we did the midday Sunday Roast. As fabulous as always. The sun was shining and all the staff were...happy to greet us. Captain Peter was not on board today but his stand in was just as great. There was even a recording of the tour guide so we didn't miss out on a bit of history as we went around the docks. I had the beef roast dinner. The beef was succulant and very tasty. I like a lot of gravy and I did ask for a bit of extra gravy and the staff were more than happy to accommodate. For dessert I had chocolate fudge cake and cream. Absolutely delicious! My son doesn't like cream so I asked of he could have custard instead and this was also accommodated with no problems. We had a lovely afternoon and will definitely be returningMore

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 days ago

Me and my friend had a lovely afternoon the staff were fabulous would definitely do it again well worth a visit thank you floating grace had a wonderful time

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Premier Inn Liverpool City Centre (Albert Dock) hotel
5,948 reviews
.06 miles away
Jurys Inn Liverpool
4,185 reviews
.10 miles away
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool - Royal Albert Dock, an IHG Hotel
2,059 reviews
.11 miles away
ibis Liverpool Centre Albert Dock - Liverpool One Hotel
2,447 reviews
.14 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Rough Hand Made
242 reviews
.07 miles away
Miller and Carter Albert Dock
3,495 reviews
.06 miles away
Lerpwl
134 reviews
.07 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Beatles Story
8,710 reviews
.09 miles away
A Case History
40 reviews
.08 miles away
Slavery History Trail
30 reviews
.02 miles away
Billy Fury Statue
14 reviews
.07 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
James K
25 January 2022|
Answer
Response from janetC9808JY | Reviewed this property |
I would say you would be better booking on their website as they may not check Tripadvisor regularly. We booked online via the website, took a couple of minutes
0
Votes
Pamela G
1 January 2022|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from jennifertR1141ZU | Reviewed this property |
Try looking on the website as I have no way of providing an answer to your question.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Floating Grace

Yes, The Floating Grace is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Floating Grace is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5