We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Bull

) #302 of 1,355 Restaurants in Liverpool ££ - £££ Bar, British, Pub
Gateacre Brow, Liverpool L25 3PA, England
+44 151 421 1819
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good30%
  • Average9%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“mixed grill” (2 reviews)
“pub grub” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
DETAILS
Gateacre Brow, Liverpool L25 3PA, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Have visited the pub several times and the standard is always good, nice food and a great selection of ales.More

Thank Ken T
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this review

Hi Ken T, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Black Bull, Liverpool. We're happy we could meet your expectations! Your recommendation means so much to us and we're so happy to have earned it. Thank you again...More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Lovely pub small room my family have reserved for special celebration days. A place close to my families heart as my Uncle loved the place! Recently there to celebrate my uncles birthday! I love the Sunday lunch here (roasties are massive!) Some good 2 and...More

Thank Kayleigh M
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this review

Hi Kayleigh M, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Black Bull, Liverpool. We're happy we could meet your expectations!

Reviewed 1 week ago

We visit weekly and we are always made welcome .The staff are very friendly and accommodating. The atmosphere relaxed. The food is delicious and well cooked. The service is generally prompt .The place is clean and well maintained .The toilets very clean and attended to....More

Thank Jennifer M
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this review

Hi Jennifer M, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Black Bull, Liverpool. We're happy we could meet your expectations! Thank you so much again for your feedback! We hope you have a great day!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great pub grub with good variety, even on their early evening meal option, which is excellent. Staff helpful & friendly & service is reasonably quick considering how many were dining. Can recommend.

Thank supercon2016
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the positive review! We hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is usually my favourite place to eat. We have called in twice this week (27th April & today 1st May) and both times have been left waiting for over an hour. I think we will have to find somewhere else to call In to...More

Thank Carol B
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this review

Hi Carol B, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hi everyone. Firstly, this pub is generally good, and we've eaten here many times. That said. Today, for the first time we sampled their Sunday traditional roast dinner; what a total disappointment. Given that their Sunday mains menu describes their roast potatos as being "crisp...More

Thank Philip C
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this review

Philip C, we work hard to provide a fantastic experience to everyone. It's discouraging to see that you had a negative experience, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We regret that you had a negative experience, and will use this as an...More

Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Came here with my mum and friends and had an excellent evening Drinks were reasonable and there is a good choice of wines and beers. The food was nice too. I had gammon and had no complaints at all. We also had a mini dessert...More

Thank scouser_gal
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback, Scouser_gal. We strive to provide excellent service to our customers at The Black Bull, Liverpool. We always love to receive great feedback.

Reviewed 9 April 2017

Wonderfully friendly and helpful staff - typically Liverpudlian. Food reasonably priced and good. Surroundings picturesque

1  Thank Rosemary B
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback, Rosemary B. We strive to provide excellent service to our customers at The Black Bull, Liverpool. We always love to receive great feedback.

Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

Gorgeous xmas dinner & amazing breakfasts! Good menu to choose from. Friendly staff too. Big car park in the back

Thank Gary H
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback, Gary H. We strive to provide excellent service to our customers at The Black Bull, Liverpool.

Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed a lovely meal here.With fantastic customer service.However, we were shown to a dark and miserable wooden tudor style room at the back of the lounge.Which was described as the Family Room.!.As we had our 4 week old grandchild with us..Would have sooner have sat...More

1  Thank Julie O
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback, Julie O. We strive to provide excellent service to our customers at The Black Bull, Liverpool. Thank you very much for sharing these comments, Julie O.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Old Hardware Shop
132 reviews
.52 miles away
Othello's
330 reviews
.63 miles away
Istanbul Barbecue & Bistro
347 reviews
.61 miles away
Coast Cafe Bistro
257 reviews
.56 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Mendips - John Lennon Home
1,054 reviews
.82 miles away
Woolton Village
77 reviews
.60 miles away
St. Peter's Church
64 reviews
.53 miles away
Strawberry Field
35 reviews
.83 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Muriel d
What time is brunch
14 May 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from supercon2016 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, not sure what time brunch is, as we went for an early evening meal at 5.15pm. Do know that if you go between 12noon & 5pm - Mon.to Sat. you can have a very nice 2 course meal for £6.49, or £8.79 after 5pm which is... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations
Good for
Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 23:00
Monday
11:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 23:00
Thursday
11:30 - 23:00
Friday
11:30 - 00:00
Saturday
11:30 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Gateacre Brow, Liverpool L25 3PA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Merseyside  >  Liverpool
  • Phone Number: +44 151 421 1819