We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£15 - £20
CUISINES
Indian, Asian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (2,594)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
2,547 results
Traveller rating
1,840
435
148
64
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
1,840
435
148
64
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tiffin dahl rice bunny chow goan fish curry treacle chip butty bread lamb chops fries tapas potatoes chat bombs indian food gunpowder chicken office workers bold street
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We didn’t book but just went in as we were passing on Saturday. I’ve wanted to go for a while and we are going back today with one of my twin daughters who is at uni in Liverpool. The whole ambience was buzzing. I think...it’s always best to approach places with an open mind. Nisha isn’t hands on directing in all her premises. I thought from the off it was great. Table near the front. The decor was wonderful. The waitress was so professional and explained it all so well. Service was faultless and it was so busy at 4 in the afternoon. The monkey wrap was seriously full of flavour. We tried around six dishes between us and I think that was the best but they all had layers of flavour, well presented and hot. Not sure what more anyone would want especially at the prices. Visibly its written service is included. You can take it off. I’m always happy for a visible explanation of the charity donation too. This too is explained again. We are going back again. The question is can I stray away from another monkey wrapMore

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Owner Mowgli, Owner at Mowgli Street Food - Bold Street, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Our team are going to be really happy to read this review, thank you so much for reaching out. We are looking forward to seeing you again. 🐒

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were very much looking forward to experiencing Mowgli. The initial impression was gorgeous! Really romantic and VERY busy for a Monday night! Service started off EXCELLENT- we were really excited! He was very good at explaining the menu and how it works- Ordered the...Chat Bombs which I have to say were DELICIOUS! I am pregnant so had a mocktail which was also great! The Monkey Wrap was next which I can honestly say was one of the BEST things I’ve eaten in a long time! So good! The rest of the meal was a little underwhelming! Flavours were not brilliant! Very sickly and a little bland- being a fan of ‘The great British menu’ I was expecting more from Nishas restaurant! The service also just went downhill! If the service charge is added to the bill you expect the service to be GREAT the whole way through! Overall an average experience which didn’t blow me away. I don’t think we will go back.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Food overall is good however the Rhubarb Dahl was extremely watery. The main issue is that the 12.5% service charge is automatically added to the bill. There is already an automatic £1 charity donation added as well (this we don't really mind) but two extra...charges .... then thats a negative for us and we more than likely will be giving Mowgfli a miss in the future .... shame really.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Owner Mowgli, Owner at Mowgli Street Food - Bold Street, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for reaching out. The service charge is discretionary and I’m sorry you are disappointed. I can promise you that 100% of this goes directly to our hard working teams. Thank you for your feedback. 🐒

Reviewed 6 March 2024

Visited for my daughter's birthday. Food and presentation was excellent. The chaat bombs are a delicacy and the dessert was heavenly. Relaxed, casual vibe and dog friendly - will definitely visit again.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Owner Mowgli, Owner at Mowgli Street Food - Bold Street, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2024

Our team are going to be really happy to read this review, thank you so much for reaching out. We are looking forward to seeing you again. 🐒

Reviewed 25 February 2024

Mowgli Street Food 69 Bold Street, Liverpool L1 4EZ 0151 7089356 Date of visit 25 Feb. 24 On a bustling and very busy Bold Street, on a Sunday afternoon on a very rare, decent sunny dry day, Liverpool was buzzing, dozens of busy shops and...more restaurants than you can shake a stick at. I find myself sampling another Mowgli Street Food restaurant. This time on Bold Street, Liverpool. This one hold’s claim to being the very first of Nisha Katona’s empire. A small busy, neat 60 or so seater complete with the NK’s hallmark of being stripped down to basics before being adorned with quirky soft fairy lights and soft lighting. Service is slick and smooth, friendly and chatty. The food here was superb. AND they are licenced with a good array of popular beverages. I sampled their street famous yogurt chat Bombs, Crisp bread Puffs filled with Chickpeas, pomegranate, with a spiced yogurt, coriander and tamarind sauce, that just melt in the mouth, So tasty! This time for a change, I chose Aunty Geeta’s prawn Curry. Again, it was off the charts, perfectly cooked king prawns, in a deep flavoured tomato-based curry sauce infused with panch poran a little green chilli and some fennel with a helping of fresh garden peas. At the risk of repeating myself it was perfect. I helped this along with a portion of the Mowgli Basmati rice, soft and fluffy so light and fragrant! A soft Mowgli Puree helped to mop up the plate. What I like about the Mowgli is the flavours that they manage to instil in each dish. I’ve been to four of the Mowgli’s now and there is hardly a cigarette paper between them although I still rate the Preston operation as slightly on top. The only problem is Car parking, I found a smallish multi story carpark just off Bold Street, Convenient I thought, that was until I discovered what a palaver it was to register your car into the car park and even more difficult to pay on exiting. I would like to thank the two ladies who helped me in and out! Can anyone tell me why these car park operators must make it so difficult to go in and out of these places? If it hadn’t had been for the two lovely ladies, I swear I would still be in there as there is absolutely no assistance to be found should you get into difficulties at all! So, all in all a very pleasant experience. Which merits a very handsome 9.5/ 10 from me. Price was £31.58, very reasonable for the quality and service. Well worth a trip to check out the vast array of shopping! Not forgetting the superb Cathedral.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Owner Mowgli, Owner at Mowgli Street Food - Bold Street, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2024

Thank you so much for your feedback, this is amazing. We will pass this on to the team 🐒

Reviewed 18 February 2024 via mobile

Absolutely disappointed with the food, portions were tiny. The dal no taste to it, really watery with hardly any dal. The bread with the chickpeas didn’t seem fresh and was just a massive lump. The roti was raw. When we informed the waiter of this...all they said was they would replace it but the items come in precooked and are just heated up!! Not what we were expecting! Certainly not authentic Indian cuisine and not worth the money.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Owner Mowgli, Owner at Mowgli Street Food - Bold Street, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2024

We greatly appreciate your feedback. The recipes we use are from our founders family, however we understand these are not always everyone's personal preference. Thank you for giving Mowgli a try 🐒

Reviewed 17 February 2024 via mobile

Visited late on a Friday night after the comedy club. The food was delicious and loved the atmosphere and sharing plates. We had kemer mince dish which was amazing and loved the cocktails which were delicious. The serving staff were very friendly and talked us...through the menu and offered advise when needed.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Owner Mowgli, Owner at Mowgli Street Food - Bold Street, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2024

Thank you so much for your feedback, this is amazing. We will pass this on to the team 🐒

Reviewed 17 February 2024 via mobile

I was excited to visit Mowgli after using their cookbooks. The food did not disappoint. We had the chat bombs which were a tasty and fun experience. We also had the Mowgli Chip Butty, Paneer, Goan Fish Curry and Rotis. All delicious!

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Owner Mowgli, Owner at Mowgli Street Food - Bold Street, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2024

Thank you so much for your feedback, this is amazing. We will pass this on to the team 🐒

Reviewed 12 February 2024

Came here for my birthday meal and it certainly didn't disappoint. We particularly enjoyed the little extras that came with the meal!! This is the first place outside of Southwold itself I've found to serve Adnams wine so that was particularly exciting. The service was...great and the food was amazing, a little on the pricey side for the amount on food you get but for a special occasion it was worth it.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Owner Mowgli, Owner at Mowgli Street Food - Bold Street, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2024

Thank you so much for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon 🐒

Reviewed 12 February 2024 via mobile

Went for lunch. First visit & was looking forward to small plates so as to try different things. There were 3 of us so all picked 2 to 3 dishes each as advised. The food was very nice, however the service was very disjointed. We...expected the food to all come at the same time, but this was not the case with random dishes brought out at random intervals, leaving one person with no food while the other two sheepishly ate theirs. (2 got some dishes but not all while one person was left with nothing) Would have preferred all dishes to be served together. The bill was an eye watering £90.35, 12.5% of this was a service charge which, I find excessiveMore

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 January 2024

What a great place, very reasonable prices and good service. The food was excellent and everyone enjoyed the meal. We weren't rushed even though it was a very busy weekday lunch reservation.

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Owner Mowgli, Owner at Mowgli Street Food - Bold Street, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2024

Our team are going to be really happy to read this review, thank you so much for reaching out. We are looking forward to seeing you again. 🐒

Reviewed 13 January 2024

Great staff, great food, highly recommended, if you’ve not tried them yet trust me you won’t be disappointed:

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Owner Mowgli, Owner at Mowgli Street Food - Bold Street, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2024

Our team are going to be really happy to read this review, thank you so much for reaching out. We are looking forward to seeing you again. 🐒

Reviewed 5 January 2024

Visited 4/1/24 - main meal delicious as previously visited. We would have preferred a dessert and coffee to complete our visit. But apparently there was a problem with extractor fan in kitchen, we constantly heard whilst potential bookings were being told and we were completely...ignored, lucky enough we did eventually the bill so we could leave.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Owner Mowgli, Owner at Mowgli Street Food - Bold Street, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2024

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are really sorry to hear you didn’t have a great experience with us, if you could please email olive@mowglistreetfood.com quoting reference #7173 so we can then investigate this further for you.

Reviewed 22 December 2023

Fantastic food, so varied, totally different from the usual Indian food. We were bowled over at the quality of it.

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Owner Mowgli, Owner at Mowgli Street Food - Bold Street, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2024

Our team are going to be really happy to read this review, thank you so much for reaching out. We are looking forward to seeing you again. 🐒

Reviewed 5 December 2023 via mobile

The meal was ok. The service was slow. When we came to pay we were told the cost £48.45 and told that this included a £1,donation to charity which wasn’t a problem. We tapped away with our card so was very surprised when we checked...the bill to discover we had paid £54.38 as a 12.5% service charge was added to our bill without our agreement. We won’t be returning and would advise everyone to check how much the server actually keys into the card machine.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Owner Mowgli, Owner at Mowgli Street Food - Bold Street, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2023

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are really sorry to hear you didn’t have a great experience with us, if you could please email olive@mowglistreetfood.com quoting reference #6149 so we can then investigate this further for you.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Resident Liverpool
6,867 reviews
.12 miles away
The Halyard Liverpool, Vignette Collection, an IHG Hotel
20 reviews
.14 miles away
ROPEWALKS HOTEL, BW PREMIER COLLECTION
74 reviews
.16 miles away
Aparthotel Adagio Liverpool City Centre
793 reviews
.16 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Greek Taverna Bold Street
2,344 reviews
.03 miles away
Fogo Brazil bar & grill
645 reviews
.01 miles away
La Parrilla Mexican Bar & Grill
2,874 reviews
.03 miles away
Kassap Meat House
624 reviews
.01 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
FACT Liverpool
259 reviews
.04 miles away
Genting Casino
18 reviews
.07 miles away
Forbidden Planet
7 reviews
.02 miles away
Picturehouse at FACT
35 reviews
.03 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Alanjon
29 January 2020|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from HeavyScran | Reviewed this property |
Mowgli is about a 5minutes walk from Lime Street Station
0
Votes
Ozgenc S
11 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Rachael M | Reviewed this property |
We went fairly early 7 pm and didn’t queue , just had quick drink at bar and then to table but gets busy v quickly , so early definitely better
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

MOWGLI STREET FOOD - BOLD STREET, Liverpool - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mowgli Street Food - Bold Street

Yes, Mowgli Street Food - Bold Street is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Mowgli Street Food - Bold Street is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5