We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Monro Gastropub

££ - £££
Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary, Gastropub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
92 Duke Street, Liverpool L1 5AG, England
+44 151 707 9933
Today
12:00 - 23:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:00
Mon - Thu 12:00 - 23:30
Fri - Sat 12:00 - 01:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

927 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 909: English reviews
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

They have recently introduced a new winter menu with limited choice of food. The food itself is not great, tasteless for the most part, small portions and the vegetarian option was inedible. On top of that, 5 of us only had 2 courses but were charged for 3. They did sort it out but how many people don't bother to... More 

Helpful?
Thank 7alisonc
Acid-Annie, Guest Relations Manager at The Monro Gastropub, responded to this review

"I used to really enjoy the food here but until they go back to the old menu or similar I won't be returning." Your wish is our command. Check out the new new menu :-) More 

Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have met up in this pub as a meeting point and catch-up. Yesterday was no different and the four of us Sixty year olds sat at a table in front of the fire. Pub wasn't overall busy. The fire went out and the pub became very cold, we asked if they could set it going again to be told... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank pmullany
Acid-Annie, Guest Relations Manager at The Monro Gastropub, responded to this review

"We were told by the young barman we had had enough" - Clearly you were too rock and roll for our millennial bar tender! See it as a compliment! More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had not booked yet they found us a table straight away ! This was the first night of the new winter menu and it was delightful! Good value and lovely staff. If we visit Liverpool again we will definately return.

Helpful?
Thank heather m
Acid-Annie, Guest Relations Manager at The Monro Gastropub, responded to this review

Heather! So happy you not only loved your visit to The Monro, but also our stunning Albert Dock and where you stayed - The Merchant Quarters. Continue being awesome! More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited the Monro for a departmental Christmas meal. Noticed upon arrival that the tables had been arranged to cater for the capacity of the booking, but this was very quickly sorted by a waitress, full of apologies. The food was very nice and the portions were a good size. My only complaint was that we had to ask for water... More 

Helpful?
Thank TheScouseTraveller95
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited with family for a Christmas lunch. I'd read the reviews regarding small portions - we are quite big eaters and was a little concerned but we found the portion sizes, given that it was lunch, to be just fine. It was certainly extremely tasty and we all enjoyed it. The service was very slow, particularly at the bar... More 

Helpful?
Thank MissD24
lancs
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went for our Xmas meal last week (Friday) and had the same issues as other people. The place has a good atmosphere and layout. I've been before at a different time of the year and the meal then was very good. The main problem here was with the miserable portion sizes and the attitude of the staff when we pointed... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank rooc
Acid-Annie, Guest Relations Manager at The Monro Gastropub, responded to this review

Don't go at Christmas? Just Christmas? More 

Widnes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Recently had the misfortune of visiting this place for a christmas meal. Food was ok at best, as was the venue. However we paid £18 a head for little more than baby sized portions of food. That is not a exaggeration. Certain members of staff were extremely rude and unprofessional and clearly dont value their customers. Do yourself a favour... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Deckard75
Acid-Annie, Guest Relations Manager at The Monro Gastropub, responded to this review

"Possibly the worst meal experience i have had" We'll try harder. So you won't have to use the word "possibly". More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2016

£25 for 3 course Christmas lunch. Forgave the first course as is was ok... just. but main course was a joke. Very small potions spread across large plates, not very warm and not that tasty. Seriously, just spend your hard earned money elsewhere.

Helpful?
3 Thank r0me07
Acid-Annie, Guest Relations Manager at The Monro Gastropub, responded to this review

"Forgave the first course" - Are you Jesus? More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2016

Difficult to say what the food tasted like as there was so little of it. This was more of a taster menu than a Christmas lunch, badly disappointed, both individually and as a group.

Helpful?
5 Thank frankguk2016
Acid-Annie, Guest Relations Manager at The Monro Gastropub, responded to this review

"Difficult to say what the food tasted like" - should give up smoking. More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2016

Visited The Monroe last night and with workmates for our Christmas meal, but I wish we had gone elsewhere. The food was nice...what there was of it, but the portions were disgraceful. Alarm bells rang when we given our starters, but we said nothing. When the main courses arrived it was obvious we were being had. My meal was a... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Scouser_Les_LFC
Acid-Annie, Guest Relations Manager at The Monro Gastropub, responded to this review

"Call in the chippy on the way home" - Kev's Chippy on Park Road is spot on. Nice place, food ok, enormous portion sizes! More 

Travellers who viewed The Monro Gastropub also viewed

 

Been to The Monro Gastropub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$17 - US$32
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary, Gastropub
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:30
Thursday
12:00 - 23:30
Friday
12:00 - 01:00
Saturday
12:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 92 Duke Street, Liverpool L1 5AG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Merseyside  >  Liverpool
  • Phone Number: +44 151 707 9933

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Monro Gastropub and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
runcorn
17 days ago
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 month ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Monro Gastropub staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?