The Hydrant, Monument

The Hydrant, Monument

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+44 20 7623 5446+ Add website
Hours
Sun
10:00 - 20:00
Mon
10:00 - 23:00
Tue
10:00 - 23:00
Wed
10:00 - 23:00
Thu
10:00 - 23:00
Fri
10:00 - 23:00
Sat
10:00 - 23:00
Improve this listing
Ratings and reviews
3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles

RATINGS
Food
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
PRICE RANGE
£15.00 – £30.00
CUISINES
British
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
features
About
Among the very the best bars in the City of London, The Hydrant serves up great food, craft beer, wine - and a stunning view of The Monument to the Fire of London.
PRICE RANGE
£15.00 – £30.00
CUISINES
British
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles261 reviews
Excellent
67
Very good
96
Average
54
Poor
23
Terrible
21
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Nina7944
Ruislip77 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 family
During a family trip to the Monument, my children 6 & 5 needed a call a nature. So we popped into the Hydrant and asked to use their bathroom- this was not a problem at all. It was at this time that we saw the menu on the wall and said how nice the place was. So decided to go back for lunch, once we’d taken our photos around the attraction. Personally I thought the menu was small, but thinking about it now perfectly adequate for what we were looking for. We ordered two fish finger sandwiches and a club sandwich (2 adults/2 children) along with four soft drinks. The food was absolutely delicious and plenty to fill us all up. Considering the location we didn’t feel it was badly priced for what we had (£39.00) and would most definitely like to return.
Written 25 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jagoda
Dear Nina. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We can't thank you enough for the kind words about our pub and our food. We count ourselves lucky for customers like you. We look forward to working with you again in the future.
Written 10 August 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

David P
Northern Ireland259 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 none
My wife and I came upon this place whilst walking towards Monument Tube station, and simply fancied fish and chips. Good sized portion of fish, and good quality chips. We didn’t need anything more.
Written 13 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KirstyEvents
Great to hear you enjoyed your food and the visit. Please do drop by again if you find yourselves in this area!
Written 13 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

the_stoddarts
Sydney2396 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2022 none
We were getting a little chilly after our cruise along the Thames from Westminster Pier, and the walk from The Tower so it was a wonderful warm welcome as we entered the Hydrant. Staff were also friendly and we were soon seated and supplied with menus. Coming from Australia we were pleasantly surprised by the amount of non-meat options (many thanks for my tasty haloumi chips, squid, cheesey chips 😉) My husband also enjoyed his chicken Buffalo wings. Accompanied by a glass of beer it was an excellent lunch and set us up to continue our walk along the river.
Written 18 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Peter D
Leeds104 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2023 family
Walked around to find somewhere to eat and came across this place right next to Monument. The breakfast was excellent value for money for around £9‐12 including a hot drink and location . Not to busy but would definitely come again.
Written 22 January 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jagoda
Dear Peter, thank you so much for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are thrilled that you loved your experience; our staff will definitely be happy to read what you wrote. We put customer experience and satisfaction as our priority, and your review reaffirms the hard work we put in every day. So, thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards The Hydrant team
Written 24 January 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

HappyBeachBunny5
Isle of Wight25 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 friends
Went to The Hydrant for a quiet birthday lunch only to be disappointed by the severe lack of choice of menu compared to what’s advertised on the website menu. Be aware that you’ll have to pay extra for chips etc to go with your main course AND watch out for the service charge?! It’s a bog standard pub for goodness sake. Sad to say we won’t be returning.
Written 24 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KirstyEvents
Thank you for getting in touch, we are sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your visit but we must admit we are a little disappointed in the review you have left. Firstly to disclose the full circumstances you were recommended to us by one of our employees family members. As a courtesy for visiting us based upon this we kindly gave you 50% off your food because of your connection. So it is somewhat disheartening that you didn’t decide to speak to us on the day or privately let us know some of your grievances. We have double checked the menu online against the one you had on the day and we can’t find a single dish that doesn’t appear on both, in fact we also had a special on so you had more choice. We do indeed charge extra for a side so the price of our burger reflects this. We choose to sell burgers and sides separately giving customers the choice of over 10 different side options rather than the usual burger & chips. Service charge is also discretionary so you are more than welcome to ask for this to be removed. I am sorry that you felt that what you received at 50% of the value of normal wasn’t satisfactory enough and in line with your expectations of us.
Written 25 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

DunelmArts
Aberdeen1158 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2023 couples
Called here for lunch after the Ride London cycle event and got an outdoor table. We had to clear and wipe down the table ourselves as it was a bit sticky, but lunch, club sandwiches served with chips, was good and the portions were big. Staff were friendly and the location, right next to The Monument, was great - ideal for people watching.
Written 30 May 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jagoda Blake
Hi, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We hope to see you again soon, and we hope you will consider our venue in the future. Kind Regards The Hydrant team
Written 15 March 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Paul Legate
United Kingdom21908 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2021 friends
The Hydrant is a busy pub opposite The Monument. It is heaving most of the time especially during the week but when we visited on a Saturday evening it was fairly quiet, we managed to find a table straight away. There was a good vibe to the place and the staff were attentive and friendly. There was a good range of craft beers and the menu had a varied selection of dishes. I had sweet potato salad which was nicely presented and tasty. The Hydrant is a great place to visit and is hugely popular and it is easy to see why.
Written 6 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jagoda
Thank you for your kind review! We hope that you will visit soon so you can try the rest of our menu! Kind regards, Matt
Written 10 November 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

SteveB
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2021 none
I had booked online but the booking was refused when we turned up on a Saturday evening. The bartender refused to take ownership of the problem and just said it was the manager's issue to deal with. The manager never appeared and I doubt whether he was even told. Think very carefully about booking a table here, they cannot be trusted.
Written 12 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jasmine Raj
Sorry to hear about your recent experience. I have spoken to the manager on shift and the person who first greeted you. As a policy we never refuse a booking but as we run a live system, sometimes bookings do fall through the cracks. If you ever felt that we were not allowing you to dine with us then I apologise. If you are willing to give us another chance we would be happy to welcome you back. Sorry again for your experience and you are assured this will not happen again. Kind regards, The Hydrant Team
Written 27 October 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Melanie H
Zurich25 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2024 family
This restaurant is just amazing! The Staff is so friendly. The restaurant ambience is cool and modern and I really liked it. I ordered the fish and chips and it was delicious. I highly recommend it. Also the burger was so delicious as well, the burger pattie was juicy and very flavorful. All in everything it was a great stay and i can only recommend. I will definitely go back if i visit london again.
Written 14 March 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jagoda Blake
Hi Melanie, Thank you so much for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are thrilled that you loved your experience; our staff will definitely be happy to read what you wrote. We put customer experience and satisfaction as our priority, and your review reaffirms the hard work we put in every day. So, thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards The Hydrant team
Written 15 March 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Mel.
Oxfordshire421 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2022 family
Visited here on a day trip to London. We had the most amazing service from a lovely gentleman (didnt catch his name but sounded Irish) apologies if this is incorrect but he was brilliant. Really kid friendly and the food was incredible. My daughter wanted to use the toilet and instead of going down the stairs they offered to open the disabled toilet for us. Very child friendly and they couldn't do enough for us. We left stuffed and saying how nice the food was. 5 star just for the service received by this gentleman let alone the amazing food!!!
Written 25 July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Richard M
London20 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 business
This pub is located directly by Monument. It is styled like an American diner, over two levels. We went in on a Thursday evening. It was busy, a bit overly loud in places due to the music. We ordered two pints of the guest ale upstairs. Unfortunately, the beer had gone stale (it was sour, but was not supposed to be a sour beer). We politely asked the barman to replace our beers. He refused, so we left. Not what I would expect from a Fullers-owned pub. Very disappointed.
Written 9 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KirstyEvents
Thank you again for bringing this to our attention. I have replied to your post on another platform but once again apologies for the experience this isn't standard protocol and we will be speaking to the staff.
Written 13 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sarah C
Ashtead1292 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021 none
We stopped in here for a quick drink before going for lunch elsewhere. It was lovely to sit at the outdoor cafe tables in Monument Square, right in the shadow of The Monument. With Covid still around it was order-by-QR/app which was straightforward and efficient and our drinks arrived promptly. We popped to the loos afterwards which were also good.
Written 29 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jagoda
Thank you so much for your kind words, Sarah. We count ourselves lucky for customers like you. We look forward to working with you again in the future!
Written 10 August 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

JDM59
London140 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2023 couples
We had a drink and late lunch here on a cold Friday afternoon. Food was good, staff were really helpful and craft beer selection was impressive - especially Anspach and Hobxay London Black. We'll definitely go back.
Written 10 March 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Hannah
Bodicote279 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2022 couples
Sat outside on a beautiful day eating dirty chips and an elderflower spritz! Perfect Saturday! You could order and pay via your phone which was simply and staff were efficient. Great view of monument as well and right by the tube. Worth a visit
Written 25 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jagoda
Thank you so much for the lovely review and giving us 4-Stars! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience at The Hydrant. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, The Hydrant Team
Written 27 June 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Debbie W
Reigate910 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 none
Went for a drink before dinner with some friends. We were there with the after work crowd and it was quite busy at the bar area. Think you have to get there quite early to secure a table. Drinks prices are ok and also selection was ok. We would go back but probably more as not a lot of choice around here that isn’t a traditional boozer or isn’t crazy busy.
Written 19 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KirstyEvents
Thanks for leaving us a review. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Written 21 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-15 of 231
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
Sponsored
Chourangi
££ - £££ · Indian
Bonoo Indian Tapas Hampstead
££ - £££ · Indian, Grill, Healthy, Wine Bar
Rudy's Pizza Napoletana - Tottenham Court Road
££ - £££ · Italian, Pizza, Neapolitan, Campania
The Spice Indian Restaurant
££ - £££ · Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
Sitara
££ - £££ · Indian
Scarlett Green
££ - £££ · Fusion, Healthy, Australian
Kachori
££ - £££ · Indian, Asian
50% off
Indian Room
££ - £££ · Indian
Bayleaf Restaurant
££ - £££ · Indian, Asian
Best nearby
We rank these hotels, restaurants, and attractions by balancing reviews from our members with how close they are to this location.
City of London
From its ancient past as a Roman trading outpost to its 21st century status as the wealthiest square mile in the world, the financial district known simply as “The City” is one of London's most historic and fascinating neighbourhoods. Here high rise office towers such as Norman Foster’s Gherkin mingle with Roman ruins and architectural marvels from virtually every era in between, including Christopher Wren's glorious St.Paul's Cathedral, and John Soane's dauntingly classicist Bank of England. This neighbourhood is also home to some of the finest restaurants and plushest hotels in Europe, in addition to an assortment of of watering holes, upscale shops, and Tube stations. During the week, the City is abuzz with white collar workers going about their business; the weekend sees this area turn into a quiet haven for sightseers.
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE HYDRANT, MONUMENT, London - City of London - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

All London HotelsLondon Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in London
Things to Do
All London RestaurantsRestaurants near The Hydrant, Monument
FlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire