We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wellington

#1,504 of 19,550 Restaurants in London
££ - £££, British,
351 Strand, London WC2R 0HS, England
+44 20 7836 2789
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good48%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“fish and chips” (87 reviews)
“pie” (39 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
351 Strand, London WC2R 0HS, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,083)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 800 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Great selection of beers and gins! We were recommended to try rhubarb gin and tonic and it was wonderful! Staff is very helpful and attentive. We will be definitely back!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank HelenBrownn1
Reviewed 3 days ago

Walked into this pub while wondering around Strand area - made the best decision ever! Had the best Fish and Chips in London and PIes looked great too! Can not wait to visit again soon!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank LeonK91919
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Traditional pub with delicious food and very good selection of beers. Staff is friendly, polite and helpful.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank KateB78
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Fantastic location on the Strand and right next to the theatre district. We ordered drinks at the bar, service was friendly. Sat outside on a barmy mild January evening (heaters were on) which was great watching the world pass by before going to see our...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Dencroft
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fantastic staff and a great pint . Would reccomend to everyone and the fish and chips are smashing! Freshly cooked and great with a pint

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Jog145
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback following your recent visit to us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, The management team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not a lot of seating but plenty of resting spaces We called in for a pre theatre drink and snack and it was perfect The bar snack were really good value and taste The price of the drinks were a shock ...Cheaper than home in...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Scowp
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Scowp, we're happy to hear you had such a positive experience with our team! The Wellington

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We ate in the Duke's Dining Room, which is located upstairs. The atmosphere is relaxing and happy. The room though is not very big, it is more long than it is wide and can sit a good amount of people, but you are going to...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank LadyAsh0916
Wellington P, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback following your recent visit to us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us. Sausages are a team favourite too. :) We look forward to welcoming you back soon. The Wellington Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had looked at other places, sandwich shops, Covent Garden etc but nowhere looked right. Then we happened across The Wellington and our decision was easily made. The bar man was very cheerful and welcoming, the prices were very reasonable and the atmosphere was lively....More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank holiday096
Wellington P, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback following your recent visit to us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, The management team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After our disappointing visit to the RED LION we ended up in the WELLINGTON. Here we were met by happy and friendly staff. Food was good and the service was ok. British pubs are normally very busy and you have to wait a little.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank catullevirgile
Wellington P, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day! The Wellington team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly staff with quick service. Had fish & chips, meat pie, and gin & tonic and it's all good! Average pricing for a London pub.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank absm33
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Absm33, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience!

Nearby
Covent Garden
Whether you're headed here to check out the multitude
of shops, theaters, cafes, pubs, and restaurants, or
simply to be among the multitude of people who pass
through this pretty part of town, you'll love soaking
up the festive and historic atmosphere in and around
Covent Garden. Even if you don't have tickets to the
opera or a show at one of the many famous theaters
here, don't be surprised if find yourself captivated
...More
Nearby HotelsSee all 1,083 hotels in London
ME London
3,412 reviews
.03 miles away
One Aldwych
2,458 reviews
.03 miles away
The Waldorf Hilton London
5,031 reviews
.07 miles away
Strand Palace Hotel
12,549 reviews
.08 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Indigo at One Aldwych
497 reviews
.02 miles away
Afternoon Tea at One Aldwych
760 reviews
.02 miles away
Eneko Basque Kitchen & Bar
466 reviews
.01 miles away
Christopher's
1,160 reviews
.03 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Courtauld Gallery
3,385 reviews
.07 miles away
Novello Theatre
743 reviews
.06 miles away
Duchess Theatre
705 reviews
.06 miles away
Lyceum Theatre
938 reviews
.04 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Elsie K
13 September 2018|
Answer
Response from GoLeafs85 | Reviewed this property |
Yes. Their website has food and drinks menus.
0
Votes
Elsie K
13 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Bernice D | Reviewed this property |
Yes you can
0
Votes
ALISTE10
9 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Denise T | Reviewed this property |
Hi I'm afraid I don't know. I did see children eating there but not sure if there was a children's menu.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$15
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 351 Strand, London WC2R 0HS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > Covent Garden
  • Neighbourhood: Covent Garden
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7836 2789
Description
You'd be hard pushed to find a finer real ale pub in Strand London. In fact, we believe The Wellington is unrivalled in its choice of quality cask-conditioned beers and carefully compiled menu of British pub dishes.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing