We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Botanist

No 7 Sloane Square | Sloane Square Hotel, London SW1W 8EE, England
+44 20 7730 0077
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good42%
  • Average13%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (47 reviews)
“steak tartare” (19 reviews)
Open Now
08:00 - 23:30 Hours
CUISINES
European, British, Soups, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
No 7 Sloane Square | Sloane Square Hotel, London SW1W 8EE, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (980)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 900 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

We went for dinner and choose the cod presented nicely with mushroom, Jerusalem artichokes, watercress and, apples finely sliced. The cod was perfectly cooked and the quality was amazing. The mash potatoes and spinach were lovely. The choice of wine by the glass was good....More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank MURIEL N
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Arrived at 5.30 and the service was great. In fact the two ladies who looked after us went out of their way to make sure we were quite satisfied with all aspects. Agreed, not inexpensive, but the size of the portions more than compensated -...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Homecountiex
AdamETM, Guest Relations Manager at The Botanist, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thanks so much for this, so pleased to see that you had such a great visit with us, we will make sure this gets back to the teams before service today.

Reviewed 6 days ago

Although the food is okay, the service is poor. The waiters are thin on the ground. And they struggle to keep up. It isn't their fault, it is clearly a management issue. I wish they would fix it. Their neighbors the Colbert and Cote offer...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Frederika881
AdamETM, Guest Relations Manager at The Botanist, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thanks for this, we will make sure that this is fed back to the operations team who will look into this.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went in to check menu out for dinner and ordered a beer +G&T and had to hand over £17.50! Beer was fizzy pop... No real hand pulled ales... Place was heaving so obviously popular but not for us!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank johnhG6702BU
AdamETM, Guest Relations Manager at The Botanist, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thanks for taking the time to leave this review John, we will make sure that this feedback gets back to the relevant team.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have only been here for brunch and found it to be very average. The restaurant itself is stunning and I would definitely like to come here for a drink but I don’t think it’s worth it for a meal. The coffee is just plain...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank giuliadb17
AdamETM, Guest Relations Manager at The Botanist, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for this feedback, we have raised this with the team at The Botanist who will be looking into the issues that you have mentioned, so disappointing to see this was a poor visit with us.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have eaten here many times....on a recent last minute trip into town with our daughter, we found ourselves in Sloane Square on a dark cold night and thought we would pop in to somewhere 'reliable' - wrong! It was a Sunday night and the only...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank SavvySuzi
AdamETM, Guest Relations Manager at The Botanist, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks so much for this review, so disappointing to see this but the feedback is more than welcome. We have already launched an investigation into this with the team in house and have called a meeting with the kitchen team, if you would like anymore...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had the linseed-encrusted salmon, and it was nicely cooked, buttery and very good indeed. The spinach, string beans and potatoes on the side were also good. This is not fine dining, but a good, fun mid-level choice.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank danlev
AdamETM, Guest Relations Manager at The Botanist, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks so much for this, great menu choices. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Walked in to The Botanist on the off-chance for a spot of lunch with a few friends the other Thursday and were pleasantly surprised. Despite not having booked, we were quickly shown to a table with no hassle and drinks promptly taken. Nice size menu,...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank BigTaps
AdamETM, Guest Relations Manager at The Botanist, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks so much for the review, we look forward to seeing you again for lunch soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lively restaurant with relaxed ambience. Had lunch here and chose from the al la carte menu. Food was preceded by a g&t and a bloody Mary both of which were well prepared. Great variety of tasty and sensitively cooked food on the menu and my...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Dornick
AdamETM, Guest Relations Manager at The Botanist, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks so much for this feedback, pleased to see you had a good visit overall, we will certainly be speaking to the tam about their manners.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Walked in and were lucky to find a table. Front of house was attentive and went out of her way to help as did the rest of the staff. Nothing was too much trouble and the food and wine delicious. The confit duck fell off...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank ACL22
AdamETM, Guest Relations Manager at The Botanist, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for this excellent review, the team are thrilled that you had such a great visit with us and we can't wait to welcome you back again soon.

Nearby
Belgravia
Home to the vast majority of embassies and diplomatic
residences in London, sophisticated and upscale
Belgravia also boasts a wealth of luxury hotels, fine
dining restaurants, and some of the city’s most stroll
worthy lanes. While the prices here are high, taking a
leisurely stroll through the streets of picturesque
and elegant white stucco houses is free. Hyde Park and
the Buckingham Palace Gardens are only a stone's throw
...More
Nearby HotelsSee all 1,085 hotels in London
Sloane Square Hotel
1,382 reviews
.02 miles away
Draycott Hotel
841 reviews
.12 miles away
11 Cadogan Gardens
1,046 reviews
.12 miles away
Annandale House Hotel
2 reviews
.12 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Royal Court Bar & Kitchen
298 reviews
.02 miles away
Cote Brasserie - Sloane Square
962 reviews
.01 miles away
Wulf & Lamb
141 reviews
.10 miles away
Granger & Co
109 reviews
.11 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Saatchi Gallery
1,306 reviews
.17 miles away
Cadogan Hall
180 reviews
.06 miles away
Sloane Square
127 reviews
.04 miles away
Royal Court Theatre
85 reviews
.02 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
p-majorca
8 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from jmLondon845 | Reviewed this property |
Same answer as my previous TA reviewers
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$24 - US$72
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 23:30
Monday
08:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
08:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:30
Thursday
08:00 - 23:30
Friday
08:00 - 23:30
Saturday
09:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: No 7 Sloane Square | Sloane Square Hotel, London SW1W 8EE, England
  • Public Transportation: The Botanist is ideally located for public transport. The closest tube stations are Sloane Square and Victoria and local bus routes include the 11,19,22,137,170,211,319,360,452 and C1.
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > Belgravia
  • Neighbourhood: Belgravia
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7730 0077
  • E-mail
Description
Situated in the heart of Chelsea on the world famous Sloane Square, The Botanist offers high quality food and drink in the most striking, yet informal setting. Open all day every day for breakfast, brunch, lunch, afternoon tea, supper and Sunday roasts, we are relaxing the rules of fine dining.Named in honour of adventuring naturalist Sir Hans Sloane, the dining room is adorned with a gallery of hand painted illustrations from Sloane’s Caribbean exploration. The gleaming pewter bar is the perfect setting in which to sip on a chilled glass of champagne or be adventurous with one of our bespoke cocktails. Move into the dining room to be treated to a delectable three course lunch with dishes such as Norfolk asparagus served warm with poached hen’s egg and hollandaise and Fresh water crayfish tagliatelle, chilli, crab bisque and sorrel cream to tantalise your taste buds. Alternatively indulge in a delectable afternoon tea with our homemade scones and Preston Hall jams.The elegant surroundings of The Botanist provide the perfect retreat for that relaxed pre-shopping brunch or that long over due catch-up with friends or family.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing