We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Shepherds Tavern

££ - £££
Neighbourhood:
Mayfair
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
50 Hertford Street | Mayfair, London W1J 7SS, England
+44 20 7499 3017
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 11:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 98: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited this pub yesterday whilst on a walk round London. There were six of us. Food was very expensive for what you got. Three very small jacket potatoes cost £17.97 and a cheese sandwich cost £5.99. My daughter had a tuna melt baguette and you could hardly find the cheese! Pot of tea for two barely half filled two... More 

Helpful?
Thank C A P
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in here for a couple of drinks on the way to a restaurant. Fairly small inside, not packed and friendly staff. Priced reasonable and good choice of drinks. They do food as well. Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Tim G
Connecticut
Level Contributor
652 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Jet lag made us not want to travel far but wanted to get the London vibe going with fish and chips. Very good and a bargain. Place was crowded and noisy with people enjoying themselves. Guys in tuxedos were grabbing a bite before some type of performance.

Helpful?
Thank JillConnecticut
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

Ordered 4 meals for my family & waited 35 mins to be told lasagne was off. Ordered a baked potato for my daughter instead then the other three meals turned up. Waited 10 more minutes then went downstairs to check where the potato was - barmaid said she'd let me know. 10 more minutes I went back to be told... More 

Helpful?
Thank finbarn16
Mia T, Guest Relations Manager at Shepherds Tavern, responded to this review

Dear finbarn, I am very sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience in our establishment. We apologise for the wait on food and certain products not being available. Unfortunately sometimes this can happen when we are busy, please do not let this deter you from visiting again. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

Much calmer than other Shepherd Market pubs. Served straight away. The 1730 ale is a taylor walker special to celebrate year of their foundation Upstairs is a wonderful spacious space Easy access from Green Park tube and my 19 bus home Would be excellent were it not for the gents having a floodette

Helpful?
Thank Mike G
Mia T, Guest Relations Manager at Shepherds Tavern, responded to this review

Dear Mike, we are glad you enjoyed your time with us and especially our beer!! I sincerely apologize for the leak in the gents toilets, unfortunately at the time we could not do anything about it. Be assured that the problem will be tended to immediately and your next visit will be much more enjoyable. More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

Service and food good girls had scampi and chlps and the veggie nachos and I had hunters chicken. The only thing might be if they put barbie sauce in a sauce boat as it tends to overpower the plate. But all enjoyed our meal

Helpful?
Thank Janet P
Mia T, Guest Relations Manager at Shepherds Tavern, responded to this review

Dear Janet, we are all so glad you and your girls enjoyed your time here with us. We hope you return soon in the new year and visit us again!!! More 

London
Level Contributor
103 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

Visited on 08.12.2016 (to assist the management) and yes Liz Hurley was turning on the lights and maybe you were a little bit busier than usual in the run up to Christmas - actually you weren't, the pub wasn't full and the queue for a beer wasn't that bad but the service or lack of it was woeful. It took... More 

Helpful?
Thank dodge
Mia T, Guest Relations Manager at Shepherds Tavern, responded to this review

Dear dodge, I'm very sorry to hear you didn't have a pleasant experience at our establishment, but i sincerely thank you for your feedback so we as a business and a team can improve. Please do not let this one negative experience deter you from visiting us again. More 

Datchet, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2016

If you happened to be staying at the Dorchester and/or the London Hilton on Park Lane and do not want to spend ridiculous money on food in your hotel. Just around the corner on Hertford Street on the corner we found this lovely small pub. It was very busy downstairs but they have more seats upstairs where we were able... More 

Helpful?
Thank ArtRamirez
Mia T, Guest Relations Manager at Shepherds Tavern, responded to this review

Dear ArtRamirez, thank you so much for your kind review. We hope you will come and visit us again soon! More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

Stopped in here for a spot of lunch, will not go again! I ordered the chicken burger which specified comes with BBQ sauce, when the food arrived the chicken was not a full chicken breast it was flat! Not much in there at all! It also came with burger sauce, when I approached the waitress about the confusion with the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sian A
Mia T, Guest Relations Manager at Shepherds Tavern, responded to this review

Dear Sian, I am very sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience in our pub. But we thank you for your feedback so our establishment and our team can improve. Please don't let this discrepancy deter you from visiting again. More 

Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2016

Attending Farnborough Airshow 2016, some 15 colleagues and I made our way to the Shepherds Tavern arriving a wee bit late/end of the diner service. Katalin, Veronika and Aga simply ensured we felt most welcomed, savored best fish and chips in London, quenched our thirst sampling through their fine selection of beers. A great night to remember indeed !

Helpful?
Thank gauthierisa303
Mia T, Guest Relations Manager at Shepherds Tavern, responded to this review

Dear gauthierisa303, thank you so much for your review. Please come and visit us again!! More 

Travellers who viewed Shepherds Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Shepherds Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$11 - US$17
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations
Good for
Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 50 Hertford Street | Mayfair, London W1J 7SS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > Mayfair
  • Neighbourhood: Mayfair
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7499 3017
Description
The Shepherds Tavern is a handsome feature in the Shepherd Market landscape. Built in 1735 as part of the original redevelopment of the area by Edward Shepherd, after the original May Fair was moved to Bow in 1686. Edward Sheppard was an architect and property owner, the tavern was built on ground belonging to him. Formally a butter shop, the exact date of when the building converted into pub is not known. English born actress M.B.E Wendy Richard lived in the pub from 1948 to 1953, and is honoured by the Heritage Foundation.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Shepherds Tavern staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Mayfair

Neighbourhood Profile
Mayfair
Set beside some of London's best parks and home to world-class galleries, luxurious hotels, and famed thoroughfares, the ultra upscale Mayfair is one of London's most exclusive haunts. Here the shopping is haute, the dining is exquisite, and the nightlife is vibrant. A casual stroll through the area’s chic streets will reveal that Michelin stars and chauffeured cars are practically the norm here. Even if you're on a tight budget, this exceptionally well connected swath of Central London is worth exploring, if only for the chance to take a peak at the goings on of upper crust English society.
Explore this neighbourhood