Lockes

Lockes

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+44 20 8091 5609+ Add website
Hours
Sun
13:00 - 22:00
Mon
16:00 - 23:00
Tue
16:00 - 23:00
Wed
16:00 - 23:00
Thu
16:00 - 23:30
Fri
16:00 - 0:00
Sat
13:00 - 0:00
Improve this listing
Ratings and reviews
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles

RATINGS
Food
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
PRICE RANGE
£2.00 – £23.00
CUISINES
Bar, British, Wine Bar
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
features
Is this restaurant wheelchair accessible?
About
LOCKES is a neighbourhood cocktail and pizza bar in the centre of theatre land, located, three minutes walk from both Covent Garden and Holborn tube stations. It has established its reputation as a fantastic party venue with incredible hospitality delivered by Marco and team who pride themselves on hosting their guests as they would host their friends in their own home LOCKES offers a curated list of classic cocktails and seasonal house signatures, bottled beers, and over 20 wines as well as some amazing pizzas. Follow @lockesbar on Instagram for our latest offers. At LOCKES the music is an essential part of our brand, along with our amazing cocktails and exceptional service. We have an outstanding sound system and years of experience curating the perfect music for any occasion. For this reason our team needs to stay in control of the music and so guests are not able to play their own music or bring their own DJ. LOCKES can cater for any size of party and occasion.
PRICE RANGE
£2.00 – £23.00
CUISINES
Bar, British, Wine Bar
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Dog Friendly, Non-smoking restaurants
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles51 reviews
Excellent
43
Very good
5
Average
2
Poor
0
Terrible
1
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

jonessb1
Northwich662 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 none
This bar/restaurant relatively new and the owner has paid a lot of attention to detail. The service is good and the staff are friendly. We had a drink here before and after a meal elsewhere that we had already booked. The customers seemed to be all ages and the atmosphere was very relaxed. We didn't eat here, but the sharing platters that we saw looked very inviting. We plan to return and eat in the future..
Written 27 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lockesbar
Thank you for leaving your feedback! Great to hear you enjoyed your time spent with us. Hope to welcome you back soon for some sharing boards? Feel free to drop me an email for more information on booking a table. Many thanks, Millie Sales Manager MillieDavies@Lockes.co.uk
Written 10 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jayne W
Brentwood24 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 none
From the moment we walked in we received the warmest welcome and service from Steve and all of the team. The cocktail choice rivals any hotel bar and they are reasonably priced with quality spirits and fresh ingredients. It was lovely to be shown straight to seats and have immediate personal service, everyone in the bar was having a good time in such a relaxed atmosphere. The music was at a level we could still enjoy it and actually speak to each other. I have at last found a bar that ticks every box and will be returning again and often. Well done!
Written 1 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lockesbar
Hi Jayne, Thank you for your lovely feedback, so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us. I will pass on your kind comments to the team. We'd love to welcome you back soon, so please feel free to get in touch if you find yourself in the Covent Garden area. We have lots of exciting things planned for 2020! Follow us on instagram for updates @LockesBar Many thanks, Millie Sales Manager MillieDavies@Lockes.co.uk
Written 10 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lisa
United Kingdom16 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2021 couples
Fell across this great little bar / restaurant on the way to a show. Wanted to kick start our Christmas weekend with a nice pre-theatre tipple and meal and Lockes ticked all of the boxes. Nico and his staff made us more than welcome, the authentic pizza and salad were fresh and exceeded expectations and the cocktail menu really brought a party atmosphere. Would definitely recommend.
Written 5 December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

manisha
London6 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2021 business
I booked this place for a small Christmas get together and did reach out to the manager directly but he has chosen to ignore my feedback and enquiry. Firstly, I found this place on a booking website called Tagvenue where they advertise the room downstairs, it seemed like a great private event space and I was quoted a reasonable minimum spend. Upon learning of our numbers we were told the upstairs bar is available but the person I spoke to tried to get me on the same minimum spend. Luckily I ended up booking through the website and the minimum spend was much less because it was a smaller area. I preordered food and drinks which were decent but little things niggled at the night When the food arrived they gave us about 6 sets of cutlery. We had ordered burratta, hardly something you can pick up with your hands, so had to request more cutlery. The space we had was at the end of the bar and I was sold it as being a great space that doesn’t have any through traffic, but the staff are constantly going back and forth through it and they were walking at such speed it’s like they pretended they didn’t see you and expected you to move around them, I found some of them to be really rude and for some reason they picked up the Christmas party props that I had brought with me and were wearing them themselves The last blow though, was at the end of the night when I requested to pay the final bill. I had ordered 2 bottles of Prosecco, and a colleague had ordered another bottle, however the bill showed 5 bottles of Prosecco has been consumed. I wasn’t intoxicated and it was a relatively sensible night, considering how many people were drinking, there’s no way this was the case. The only thing I can think is that they double charged us for 2 bottles of Prosecco. I emailed them the next day but no response. So not only did they try and impose a higher minimum spend on me they also overcharged me for alcohol. I hope it was worth it, Lockes.
Written 3 February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve L
I am sorry to hear that you feel you had a negative experience at Lockes. I am also surprised to read that you feel that you are being ignored since you have my mobile number and we spoke more than once whilst you were organising your event. We pride ourselves on our communication at Lockes which is one of the reasons we are listed as a “supervenue” on Tag Venue with a 4.9 out of 5 stars specifically for communication. It is also the reason that TagVenue removed your previous complaint from their feedback because they found no evidence that you had tried to contact us, either directly or through their website, as you had stated. I am disappointed that as a business owner someone should use a public forum rather than a more direct avenue if they feel unhappy about a product or service.
Written 9 February 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Paul H
London11 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2022 none
I organised a joint birthday party here. We had exclusive use of the downstairs bar with no hire fee and a reasonable minimum spend. It was just great. Steve and the team were communicative before the event answering my many questions efficiently and helpfully. The bar team on the night were smiley and professional. There was never a long wait for our thirsty crowd to get served. We ordered cocktails off-menu and that wasn’t a problem. We had pizzas brought to us halfway through the night which were cleverly served on long sharing platters for easy consumption (and they were all delicious). I’d thoroughly recommend this venue for a party, or a post-work cocktail or two or five on their tastefully decorated ground floor bar. Top marks!
Written 3 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

HelsBelsR
Wokingham17 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2021 none
We held a Social gathering for the team at Lockes, we had the downstairs area. It was very well organised and we had our own barman and the snacks and new pizzas were very nice. It was weird to be in a room full of people again but it was great. Only slight negative was the music was too loud so we had to talk loudly; I did ask for it to be turned down a couple of times but it was still too loud. All in all I would highly recommend this venue.
Written 8 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Freya M
York8 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2022 friends
We came to Lockes Bar for a friend’s birthday party and we were disappointed to find out that an automatic service fee was added onto all of our drinks orders. The service was not good enough to warrant a tip, and we only found out about the tips because a woman next to us raised issue with this. The bar staff then made snide comments when we asked to remove the service fee. We did not order food (which I usually tip on), only drinks. Please raise the wages for your staff if they are depending on these tips, otherwise they should be informing customers of the service fee being added, or remove it full stop.
Written 17 December 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve Locke
Thank you for the feedback. I understand your reservations about service charge, it is something we have introduced because it is an HMRC approved system that allows more money to go to the team directly without incurring the cost of national insurance. Team members receive more money than if we increased prices by the equivalent amount. 100% of the service charge goes to to the team members. I hope this explains our approach.
Written 15 December 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lola B
Portsmouth10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2023 couples
Happened to be walking past this place when it started to rain, we saw a poster outside advertising 241 aperol spritz so we sat outside under the shelter and had a drink. We ordered a second round and the waiter asked if we were cold and if we would like the heater on (all other places we visited had the heaters off as it was July) which was a nice touch. He also brought out some nibbles and a free shot of lemoncello as I mentioned that it was my birthday. Amazing service which was hugely appreciated on an otherwise washout of a day!
Written 25 July 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve Locke
The great British Summer helped you find us on your Birthday! Come back soon.
Written 10 October 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Whythisway
16 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020 none
This place is absolutely terrific.It is a proper bar for people who want quality drinks and service in a nice environment. The bar itself looks great and the staff are absolutely top notch. They are so on it and also friendly. This is a place you go to sit and enjoy the whole evening and not some crazy everyone is drunk place. It's seems to have a 'no d@ckheads allowed' policy. It's for grown-ups. They make amazing cocktails but I also had some very decent wine and some plates of food. Nowadays I need to eat something while I am drinking and this bar helped with things that went well with the drinks and the evening. My wife and friends had a lovely night and we were going to just have a few but stayed all night. Our go-to place now when anywhere close to Holborn/Cov Garden.
Written 30 July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Liah P
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 none
I had a great time here celebrating my farewell. I was not able to play my own music as it would affect the entire bar [up-stairs and down], which was fair enough! Although later in the evening the friendly bar staff allowed me to play my own tunes. I had a fantastic time there thanks to Josh on the bar and the friendly, accommodating staff. Great venue for events!
Written 3 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lockesbar
Hi Liah, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, great to hear you enjoyed your leaving party with us! I will pass on your lovely comments to Josh and the rest of the team. If you find yourself back in the UK soon, feel free to drop me an email to book another visit. Many thanks, Millie Sales Manager MillieDavies@Lockes.co.uk
Written 10 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

northerneater
North East England1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2021 friends
Very unprofessional staff kissing and dancing behind bar and not doing much work. Really clean establishment, live music solo heavy. Really nice place but staff arnt the best waited 15mins for drinks with only one other cheque on of 2 cocktails with 4 staff on 1 on bar doing cocktails, other 3 just dancing/kissing and sitting with local after putting my drinks on and not doing them. Would return if staff tightened up and was more professional
Written 16 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

gmcj8
52 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2022 couples
We had a really lovely time at Lockes; the best Gluten Free pizza we’ve ever had, and best pizza generally we’ve eaten for years, with thin base, reminding us of proper Italian pizzas we’ve eaten in Rome. And delicious baked aubergine & tomato dish. Excellent wine and a good range of alcohol free cocktails was appreciated. Very good and friendly service throughout by Ashik, thank you. Look forward to returning!
Written 29 December 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve Locke
Thank you for your review, those are just the sort of comments we are after!
Written 15 December 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ed Canham
United Kingdom15 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2022 family
Visited Lockes with a group of 8 and had a wonderful time. The decor is retro and sophisticated, the cocktails were varied and delicious, and the staff were incredibly friendly and attentive. You won’t find many better places in central London to enjoy cocktails on a Saturday in a relaxed setting. And the prices weren’t extortionate either. 5 stars.
Written 13 February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Molly
Windsor24 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2022 couples
Wow! The food and drinks were amazing! I would 100% come here again. A shout out to our waiter Dominic who was amazing and helped us out massively with out cocktail choices and another to Moh the chef who is a magical pizza/ calzone maker. Two people you should really be proud to have working for you! If I could give 20 stars! I would
Written 9 March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

430250
Bristol88 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2023 couples
Exceptional cocktails with incredibly professional, friendly and knowledgeable staff. Given the central location I wasn’t expecting much (All Bar One/Be At One’s nearby etc). I couldn’t have been more wrong. Classic cocktails nailed to a tee and delicious signature cocktails, complete with staff who care and know what they’re talking about (gave perfect recommendations). I can only imagine how good the food will be.
Written 11 December 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve Locke
Thank you for this fabulous review, it means a lot to me and the team to get feedback like this, hopefully see you again soon. Steve
Written 15 December 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-15 of 51
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
Bonoo Indian Tapas Hampstead
££ - £££ · Indian, Grill, Healthy, Wine Bar
Rudy's Pizza Napoletana - Tottenham Court Road
££ - £££ · Italian, Pizza, Neapolitan, Campania
Sitara
££ - £££ · Indian
The Spice Indian Restaurant
££ - £££ · Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
Scarlett Green
££ - £££ · Fusion, Healthy, Australian
Kachori
££ - £££ · Indian, Asian
50% off
Indian Room
££ - £££ · Indian
Bayleaf Restaurant
££ - £££ · Indian, Asian
Rice Persian Kitchen
££ - £££ · Persian
Best nearby
We rank these hotels, restaurants, and attractions by balancing reviews from our members with how close they are to this location.
Covent Garden
Whether you're headed here to check out the multitude of shops, theaters, cafes, pubs, and restaurants, or simply to be among the multitude of people who pass through this pretty part of town, you'll love soaking up the festive and historic atmosphere in and around Covent Garden. Even if you don't have tickets to the opera or a show at one of the many famous theaters here, don't be surprised if find yourself captivated by some impromptu act of a street performer wowing the crowds in Covent Garden's Piazza. If you do have tickets, you'll be pleased to note that many of the local eateries accommodate theatergoers with prix fixe menus, early dinners, and later than usual opening hours. 


Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

LOCKES, London - Covent Garden - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

All London HotelsLondon Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in London
Things to Do
All London RestaurantsRestaurants near Lockes
FlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire