We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Poppy Hana

Is this your business?
#10,808 of 18,479 Restaurants in London
££ - £££Japanese, Sushi, Asian
168 Jamaica Road, London SE16 4RT, England
+44 20 7231 8888
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good16%
  • Average14%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible26%
Travellers talk about
“bento box” (7 reviews)
“sushi rolls” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
168 Jamaica Road, London SE16 4RT, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

As a group of 5, we found the food disgusting. It definitely wasn’t authentic. The sushi came first and we were starving so ate it all. There was a lot of rice and not so much fish. To make it worse, the rice was a...More

Thank Steven V
Kalam A, Manager at Poppy Hana, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Steven thank you for your feedback. Poppy Hana attracts excellent feedback from our customers and we have may regulars. I am surprised that you felt your experience was not of the high standards we have. I will certainly pass on your feedback to our...More

Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

Nice place for having quick lunch here. Food delicious. Prices ok, staff little bit slow, but acceptable.

Thank Kuba1989
Kalam A, Manager at Poppy Hana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you for your review, we appreciate it. We look forward to serving you again, very soon. Regards, Poppy Hana

Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

Used to come for a dinner, the price is decent,the food was nice as well. But lately every time I come the food tastes worse and worse. The last time couldn't finish my meal, impossible to eat. Not sure weather it's a really bad quality...More

Thank Кристина Б
Kalam A, Manager at Poppy Hana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We always strive to provide great food and service. I am disappointed that you feel your experience has been below par. We will pass your feedback to our team. Please try us again, in the near future. Regards, Poppy Hana

Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

I decided to try this restaurant as they were one of the few Japanese restaurants still serving sea urchin sushi. Unfortunately when my delivery arrived, two of the items were replaced with lower value items (eel sushi and a soft shell crab roll were replaced...More

Thank Emma P
Kalam A, Manager at Poppy Hana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you for your feedback and we apologise for the initial mistake. We hope you continue to dine at Poppy Hana in the future. We will pass your comments to our team. Regards Poppy Hana

Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Great selection of sushi and other Japanese cuisine, really good value. The pumpkin fritter was amazing. If in group of 4 go for the £30 sushi selection tray very fresh and tasty.

Thank Edward H
Kalam A, Manager at Poppy Hana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you for your review, Edward. We look forward to seeing you again soon at Poppy Hana.

Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

We've been coming here regularly for over a year for our Japanese. The food is good and there's lots of variety (try the chicken karaage and spicy ramen). Sarita and the rest of the waitstaff are always welcoming, friendly and efficient.

Thank Joanne C
Kalam A, Manager at Poppy Hana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you for your review, Joanne, it means a lot to us. Wishing you all the best and see you soon. The team at Poppy Hana

Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

Found this little Japanese restaurant on Jamaica Rd. Bermondsey. Good selection of food varying prices. Good portions tasty food. Busy at lunch times so a bit of a wait for your food but worth it.

Thank mobbers44
Kalam A, Manager at Poppy Hana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you for your review and for choosing Poppy Hana. We hope to see you again soon. Regards Poppy Hana

Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

"I was really disappointed in the management and how he dealt with the staff member serving. I called the restraunt to speak to the manager who spoke very rude. I explained I didn't find it acceptable taking the staff tips and placing it into the...More

1  Thank Taste89
Kalam A, Manager at Poppy Hana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you for your feedback, we will pass on to our team. Regards Poppy Hana

Reviewed 28 July 2017

Poppy Hana is a hidden gem in Jamaica Road, Bermondsey!!! the service is reallly good and the sushi, to be fair, delicious and freshly made for you if you order it to take away or eat in. We had sushi and chicken katsu curry. The...More

Thank Laura l
Kalam A, Manager at Poppy Hana, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thank you for you review Laura. We are very pleased that you are satisfied with your experience at Poppy Hana. See you soon.

Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

We had a great time at Poppy Hana. A wonderful meal with fabulous service. Waitress are friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.. definitely we will back soon .

Thank Kavien32
Kalam A, Manager at Poppy Hana, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thank you for your feedback, it is music to our ears. See you soon. Poppy Hana

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 1,082 hotels in London
London Tower Bridge Apartments
82 reviews
.65 miles away
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
3,333 reviews
.71 miles away
The Gatehouse Studio Apartments
7 reviews
.71 miles away
The Tower
7,613 reviews
.73 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Il Bordello
760 reviews
.37 miles away
Town Of Ramsgate
114 reviews
.35 miles away
Japindo
64 reviews
.20 miles away
Angel Pub
114 reviews
.24 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Arch Climbing Wall
44 reviews
.29 miles away
Southwark Park
16 reviews
.25 miles away
The Kernel Brewery
40 reviews
.22 miles away
Butler's Wharf
27 reviews
.49 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Poppy Hana staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$20
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
17:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 22:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:30
Thursday
12:00 - 22:30
Friday
12:00 - 22:30
Saturday
12:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 168 Jamaica Road, London SE16 4RT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7231 8888
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;