We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ye Olde Cherry Tree

) #4,407 of 18,196 Restaurants in London ££ - £££ , British,
22 The Green | Southgate, London N14 6EN, England
+44 20 8886 1808
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good28%
  • Average17%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible15%
Travellers talk about
“sunday roast” (13 reviews)
“custard” (3 reviews)
“beef” (7 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
22 The Green | Southgate, London N14 6EN, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 232 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Visited on a warm summer evening. No room to sit outside so sat indoors sweating, usual pub menu, nothing exciting, we had starter and main. Soup came out luke warm so had to be sent back! This seems to happen more often than not, food...More

Thank Fishpond1
Reviewed 1 week ago

Usually have a meal here when we are visiting locally, every couple of months or so. Staff always welcoming and helpful. Food always to a good standard.

Thank pw70a
General Manager A, Manager at Ye Olde Cherry Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi pw70a, Thank you so much for your comments. We are so glad to hear that you enjoy visiting us. Hopefully we will see you again soon! Sophie Deputy Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have had good experience of Vintage Inns over many years. However, today I took my sister and niece to dine at the Olde Cherry Tree - big mistake. The order was fish and chips, Aberdeen Angus burger, and steak and ale pie. We were...More

Thank Chris H
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Love it food and atmosphere!!! Slow service-so who is in the rush go straight to off license get a beer frozen food and go home- don't complain!!!

Thank Erika M
General Manager A, Manager at Ye Olde Cherry Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Erika, Thank you so much for your review. And thank you for your patience while we train our new team. Hope to see you soon

Reviewed 30 May 2017

This place is not what it used to be. The service is so slow, our food was literally thrown down on the table in front of us. The staff are rude. They missed a side salad from our order. One of us had the fish,...More

Thank Munzbish
General Manager A, Manager at Ye Olde Cherry Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Hi Munzbish thank you for taking the time to leave us your honest feedback. I am very sorry to hear that your experience was so poor when you last visited us, we are currently working towards getting new team members in place to improve service...More

Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

Honestly one of my worst dining experience ever! It started with the very first drinks we ordered. I asked for a simple screwdriver (vodka and orange juice) and was given just orange juice. When I mentioned it to the bar staff they argued that there​...More

Thank Maria N
General Manager A, Manager at Ye Olde Cherry Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Hi Maria N, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. With regards to the drink, the vodka and orange juice was poured by one...More

Reviewed 21 May 2017

The car park was almost full, but the restaurant far from. We were shown to a table in a very quiet part of the restaurant (read remote !!) and service was really awful. The food did not live up to expectations being badly cooked or...More

Thank Peter R L
sophie t, Manager at Ye Olde Cherry Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Good Afternoon Peter, Firstly I would like to thank you for sharing your comments with us, we appreciate and take on board all feedback received. Every table that is booked with us either by telephone or online is allocated their table based on party size...More

Reviewed 1 May 2017

Have been coming to this pub on and off for the last few years but won't be coming back in a hurry. Just came for drinks but the bar staff were terrible. Slow service despite there seeming to be plenty of staff but no one...More

1  Thank Kim H
sophie t, Manager at Ye Olde Cherry Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Good afternoon Kim H, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of us here at Ye Olde Cherry Tree. I apologise that our customer service standards weren't up to scratch, I have noted your comments and will most definitely be...More

Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

This pub could be fantastic. It's pretty and inviting. However the place is not managed well. We had Sunday lunch and my partners roast pork turned out to be gammon when it arrived!More

Thank Twotravellers2014
sophie t, Manager at Ye Olde Cherry Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Good afternoon Twotravellers2014, Thank you very much for your taking the time to write your review. I do apologise for any confusion regarding your Sunday lunch here with us, the pork we serve on a Sunday is sweet-cured which differs slightly to traditional roast pork...More

Reviewed 21 April 2017

Where do I start with this disaster of a dinner? My girlfriend and I have been huge fans of the Cherry Tree in the past and, having not gone in a couple of months, we recently went for dinner to celebrate a special occasion. We...More

Thank SpacehopRaymond
sophie t, Manager at Ye Olde Cherry Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Good Evening SpacehopRaymond, Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback on your recent visit, we do take all comments on board. I am very sorry to hear that your experience was not a positive one and...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Warda Lebanese Restaurant
132 reviews
.53 miles away
Green's Steakhouse & Grill
277 reviews
.20 miles away
Kouzina Express
36 reviews
.50 miles away
Cafe Rouge - Southgate
189 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Millfield Theatre
16 reviews
1.84 miles away
Chickenshed Theatre
11 reviews
1.65 miles away
Spice Monkey Cookery School
129 reviews
1.80 miles away
Secret London Walking Tours
44 reviews
1.46 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Dee V
26 February 2017|
Answer Show all 9 answers
Response from ania w | Property representative |
Hi there, There is plenty of parking available just next to our garden. It is pay and display so u need to purchase a ticket be.Its £2 for 3 hours but it will be redeemed from your bill. Any more questions just give us s... More
1
Vote
Barbara B
29 October 2015|
Answer
Response from ania w | Property representative |
Hi Barbara, When you say Old Town -which part do you have in mind so I can give you some more informations as Southgate doesn't actually have an old town. Ye Olde Cherry Tree is one of the oldest building round here if not... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 22 The Green | Southgate, London N14 6EN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London
  • Phone Number: +44 20 8886 1808
Description
Take an off the beaten track location in Southgate, a menu bursting with fresh seasonal dishes and a cellar full of real ales and fine wines and you have the ingredients for the perfect country pub and restaurant. It's a winning formula of traditional mixed with a few contemporary touches that makes Ye Olde Cherry Tree a special place to visit.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing