We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ye Olde Cherry Tree

) #3,589 of 17,852 Restaurants in London ££ - £££ Bar, British, Pub
22 The Green | Southgate, London N14 6EN, England
+44 20 8886 1808
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good29%
  • Average17%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“sunday roast” (13 reviews)
“custard” (3 reviews)
“beef” (7 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
DETAILS
22 The Green | Southgate, London N14 6EN, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

The car park was almost full, but the restaurant far from. We were shown to a table in a very quiet part of the restaurant (read remote !!) and service was really awful. The food did not live up to expectations being badly cooked or...More

Thank Peter R L
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have been coming to this pub on and off for the last few years but won't be coming back in a hurry. Just came for drinks but the bar staff were terrible. Slow service despite there seeming to be plenty of staff but no one...More

Thank Kim H
sophie t, Manager at Ye Olde Cherry Tree, responded to this review

Good afternoon Kim H, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of us here at Ye Olde Cherry Tree. I apologise that our customer service standards weren't up to scratch, I have noted your comments and will most definitely be...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This pub could be fantastic. It's pretty and inviting. However the place is not managed well. We had Sunday lunch and my partners roast pork turned out to be gammon when it arrived!More

Thank Twotravellers2014
sophie t, Manager at Ye Olde Cherry Tree, responded to this review

Good afternoon Twotravellers2014, Thank you very much for your taking the time to write your review. I do apologise for any confusion regarding your Sunday lunch here with us, the pork we serve on a Sunday is sweet-cured which differs slightly to traditional roast pork...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Where do I start with this disaster of a dinner? My girlfriend and I have been huge fans of the Cherry Tree in the past and, having not gone in a couple of months, we recently went for dinner to celebrate a special occasion. We...More

Thank SpacehopRaymond
sophie t, Manager at Ye Olde Cherry Tree, responded to this review

Good Evening SpacehopRaymond, Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback on your recent visit, we do take all comments on board. I am very sorry to hear that your experience was not a positive one and...More

Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

We went for a family meal to celebrate a birthday. The food was nice and the staff were friendly but they didn't seem to have enough staff and the service was very slow. The meal took over 3 hours.More

Thank Foodfire
Cherry T, Manager at Ye Olde Cherry Tree, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Foodfire, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit to us here at Ye Olde Cherry Tree. I am very pleased to hear that you liked your food and that the team were friendly towards...More

Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Might have caught them on an off day. Walked through the pub which seemed lovely. But then the bar was very under staffed service too a while. Went outside to enjoy our refreshments and confronted with tables that were stacked with empty glasses or dirty...More

Thank BLACKROM
Cherry T, Manager at Ye Olde Cherry Tree, responded to this review

Good Evening Blackrom, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to us. I would just like to apologise for your experience, unfortunately due to the lovely weather we were caught a bit unawares this weekend but can assure you we have...More

Reviewed 31 March 2017

It took a while to get our order in but it did arrive fairly quickly after that . The starters were all ok but a little bland . Main course of Hunters Chicken was about average and the pudding of Creme Brule' was good ....More

Thank Cyril L
Cherry T, Manager at Ye Olde Cherry Tree, responded to this review

Good Evening Cyril, Thank you for your recent review about your experience with us. From what I can see your visit with us fell on Mothers Day, on this occasion we had a reduced menu for a fixed price. Hopefully you can join us again...More

Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

Nice pub, clean and nice atmosphere. Service very very hit or miss. I ordered a pizza and it was like pulling teeth. Also getting served at the bar quite hard work. Nice pub though so just be prepared for poor service .More

Thank DuvetMonster
Cherry T, Manager at Ye Olde Cherry Tree, responded to this review

Good Evening DuvetMonster, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry to hear that the service you received from the team was not up to standard. We appreciate our bar can get very busy at times, in future...More

Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

Dropped in here for a wee break. A lovely pub with nice staff and good food. A pity only here for a short time, a nice pint relaxing in this quaint pub would have been nice.More

Thank Mike H
Cherry T, Manager at Ye Olde Cherry Tree, responded to this review

Good Evening Mike, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review! I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed visiting us. Hopefully you will get chance to return, I would recommend coming in the Summer so you can enjoy our lovely...More

Reviewed 28 March 2017

Sunday dinner, we arrived 9:40pm a table for 4, Staff took our order at the bar, 2 fish and chips and 2 steaks (8oz). The most unsightly terrible food we all ever had in a restaurant served 40 minutes after our order. The fish batter...More

Thank Soudabeh F
Cherry T, Manager at Ye Olde Cherry Tree, responded to this review

Good Evening Soudabeh, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. I apologise that your recent visit was not up to the standard we aim to provide our guests. Whenever there is an issue with any dish we do like to...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Green's Steakhouse & Grill
277 reviews
.20 miles away
Kouzina Express
35 reviews
.50 miles away
The Highland Restaurant
71 reviews
.05 miles away
Cannons Traditional Fish and Chips
103 reviews
.03 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Chickenshed Theatre
11 reviews
1.65 miles away
Spice Monkey Cookery School
119 reviews
1.80 miles away
Secret London Walking Tours
44 reviews
1.46 miles away
Trent Park Equestrian Centre
88 reviews
1.84 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Dee V
What are the parking facilities?
26 February 2017|
Answer Show all 9 answers
Response from ania w | Property representative |
Hi there, There is plenty of parking available just next to our garden. It is pay and display so u need to purchase a ticket be.Its £2 for 3 hours but it will be redeemed from your bill. Any more questions just give us s... More
1
Vote
Dyanna O
I have lost my receipt for breakfast with Santa tomorrow. Do you have a record of reservations? You have not answered the phone in 24 hours and I have tried over 50 times. I only get a recording that says try later. My child will be devastated if she can't come or you have no further availability. I don't know what else to try. Please responsd! Thank you.
4 December 2015|
What is your answer?
Posting guidelines
Submit
Barbara B
we would like to know what the old town is like
29 October 2015|
Answer
Response from ania w | Property representative |
Hi Barbara, When you say Old Town -which part do you have in mind so I can give you some more informations as Southgate doesn't actually have an old town. Ye Olde Cherry Tree is one of the oldest building round here if not... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 22 The Green | Southgate, London N14 6EN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London
  • Phone Number: +44 20 8886 1808
  • E-mail
Description
Take an off the beaten track location in Southgate, a menu bursting with fresh seasonal dishes and a cellar full of real ales and fine wines and you have the ingredients for the perfect country pub and restaurant. It's a winning formula of traditional mixed with a few contemporary touches that makes Ye Olde Cherry Tree a special place to visit.