We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fountains Abbey Paddington

#3,517 of 18,960 Restaurants in London
££ - £££, British,
109 Praed Street | Paddington, London W2 1RL, England
+44 20 7723 2364
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good47%
  • Average14%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“fish and chips” (25 reviews)
“pies” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
109 Praed Street | Paddington, London W2 1RL, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

We recently hired the upstairs function room for a private party and found the whole process from start to finish very easy. The staff on the bar were welcoming and friendly, the food from the buffet package was delicious and well priced and overall our...More

Thank victoriaeiles
kitty1707, General Manager at Fountains Abbey Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thankyou for taking the time to leave your lovely feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your function and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went there for a beer and some food. I ordered a medium-rare steak and I got a completely overcooked one. I asked the girl in the bar if she could do something about it and instead of solving any problem she told me that...More

Thank Nico C
kitty1707, General Manager at Fountains Abbey Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are very disappointed to read your review and apologise for the service you received. We will be speaking to all of our front of house staff about your recent experience and can only apologise that you didn’t have your meal changed to your liking.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Pop in this place a few nights it was bustling yet chilled even with the football on . Staff were friendly. This place also serves food which we didnt get round to trying but maybe next time!

Thank heather1372
kitty1707, General Manager at Fountains Abbey Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to leave your positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again to try the food!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Seemed like a good menu and well priced. Just had the onion rings. Nice but small size portion for price. Tables left uncleared. Three staff on duty but seemed more interested in own conversation. Television was loud. Hated walking through smokers to get inside.More

Thank drtgfnz
kitty1707, General Manager at Fountains Abbey Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are sorry to hear you felt the staff were not working as hard as they could have been and will be discussing your review with the team that were working yesterday. We hope you pop...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We popped in as passing and hungry nice pub waitress friendly highly recommended the fish and chips standard price for s pub in London.

Thank Navigator227195
kitty1707, General Manager at Fountains Abbey Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your positive review and we hope you return to us again in the future!

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Called in while touring around London. Place was welcoming and staff were very friendly. Menu had plenty to choose from, one guy behind bar (think he was aussie) took time to explain dishes to us at length. - we chose the fish & chips that...More

Thank mishkor54
kitty1707, General Manager at Fountains Abbey Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thankyou for taking the time to leave your positive feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent visit with us and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Reviewed 14 September 2018

It is what you would expect of a London pub. We had fish and chips. Very tasty and perfectly cooked as the fries were crisp and the fish moist and flaky. Service was respectable, but don't forget you have to order at the bar. It...More

Thank Randy C
kitty1707, General Manager at Fountains Abbey Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thankyou for taking the time to leave your positive feedback. We are trying to offer table service upstairs so hopefully you can sample this when you return to us in the future!

Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

I was very disappointed in the service myself and my friends received in the Fountain Abbey last night. Was stood at the bar waiting to be served before the final bell went, was still ignored to be served and someone who came to the bar...More

Thank chrissyd91
kitty1707, General Manager at Fountains Abbey Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

We are so disappointed to read this review and very sorry you experienced this level of service from our staff which is unacceptable. We will be discussing your review with all of our front of house team. Please pop in and ask to speak to...More

Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

I am not English so I might not be really informed critic for English foods. Also know that when travelling, I always like to try the “local” cuisine. My wife and I have had the English version of fish (Haddock) and chips elsewhere in London...More

Thank woodmister
kitty1707, General Manager at Fountains Abbey Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your meal. We will be discussing your review with our kitchen team during our next team meeting to see where improvements can be made. We are delighted to hear that your wife enjoyed her meal, and...More

Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

I ordered a bacon cheese burger and it was not made with not fresh ingredients. The bread was dry and the burger was made with a bad quality beef. I didn’t like it at all. I used to come to this pub 2 years ago...More

Thank DanielaN1103
kitty1707, General Manager at Fountains Abbey Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent visit with us and had you made the staff aware that you were not satisfied with your meal when they completed the check-back, they would have gladly changed it for you. We do hope...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 1,087 hotels in London
The Belvedere
503 reviews
.03 miles away
Avon Hotel
226 reviews
.04 miles away
easyHotel Paddington London
928 reviews
.04 miles away
Hyde Park Court Hotel
271 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Frontline Club
355 reviews
.02 miles away
It's all Greek to me
146 reviews
.01 miles away
Bonne Bouche
226 reviews
.05 miles away
Micky's Fish and Chips
444 reviews
.01 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Paddington Station
1,263 reviews
.12 miles away
Serpentine Boating Lake
112 reviews
.30 miles away
Paddington Waterside
48 reviews
.26 miles away
Alexander Fleming Laboratory Museum
42 reviews
.08 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Fountains Abbey Paddington staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:30
Saturday
11:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 109 Praed Street | Paddington, London W2 1RL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7723 2364
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing