We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Oyster Shed

Is this your business?
#3,850 of 18,479 Restaurants in London
££ - £££, British
5 Angel Lane, London EC4R 3AB, England
+44 20 7256 3240
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent27%
  • Very good42%
  • Average17%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“oysters” (74 reviews)
“burger” (18 reviews)
“mushy peas” (3 reviews)
Closed
09:00 - 23:00 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
5 Angel Lane, London EC4R 3AB, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Table booked for 7pm. Arrived to be told no orders to be taken for half hour as there was no chef? Waitresses clueless about the menu and ingredients when asked. Main course of fish pie was just a pile of mash potato, no wet or...More

Thank Sorrel T
TheOysterShed, Manager at The Oyster Shed, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Sorrel, Many thanks for your feedback and please accept our sincere apologies. We're very sorry to hear left unhappy on your last visit and we can only apologise and assure you this isn't normally the case. Your feedback has been passed on to our...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

Beautiful views, food was very good, great for business lunch/dinner - cozy place. It does not have a great variety of choices, but it is decent and at a central location. It also offer some quiet space - if booked - for business meetings/lunches.

Thank Irene S
TheOysterShed, Manager at The Oyster Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Irene, Many thanks for your lovely feedback. We're delighted to hear you had a great time here at The Oyster Shed and we would love to welcome you soon again. Best wishes, Justyna Chmura Sales and Events Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great location on a sunny day, beautiful views. Food was ok not a lot of choice however service was appalling and had to wait along time to be served, will not go again for foodMore

Thank Chloe S
TheOysterShed, Manager at The Oyster Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Chloe, Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We're very sorry about the wait on the day and we can assure you this isn't normally a case. I will be sure to pass on the feedback to our team and we...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely food, nice service - friendly and attentive but not overly so, okay prices considering the area and nice menu. I have been here for leaving drinks and a nice lunch with work friends and would recommend. Nice and quiet bar area generally (obv there...More

Thank esme919
TheOysterShed, Manager at The Oyster Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Esme, Many thanks for your lovely review. We're delighted to hear you had a great time in our venue and that you are a returning customer! We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Many thanks, Justyna Chmura Sales and Events Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice place, good decor and nice views. Service was ok, BUT popped in for lunch, ordered two fish finger sandwiches and the waitress asked if we would like any sides, so we got a 2 sides of fries. The waitress didn't bother to tell us...More

Thank 482gracer
TheOysterShed, Manager at The Oyster Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, Thank you for taking the time and leaving us a review. We appreciate your feedback and I do apologise for the misunderstanding regarding your order on that day. I have passed on the message to our management and floor team so this can be...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Poor all round service. Had to ask for everything. NO OYSTERS, wrong food delivered, no front of house. Premium prices for low end food and service. Stay away. PS. Men's toilet is miles away to cap it off!More

Thank Mike F
TheOysterShed, Manager at The Oyster Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Mike, Many thanks for your review. We appreciate all feedback and I will be sure to pass this on to our management team so they can look into this matter and make sure this won't happen again. Many thanks, Justyna Chmura Sales and Events...More

Reviewed 18 April 2018 via mobile

If you want to wait 90 minutes for your food, it be cold when it arrives and only get half of your drinks order...go here! Understaffed, poorly managed and not worth it. Bar staff were excellent but hugely let down by the rest.More

1  Thank Simon c
TheOysterShed, Manager at The Oyster Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Simon, Thank you for your review. I'm terribly sorry you had an unpleasant experience on your last visit at The Oyster Shed. If you would like to forward us full details from this visit then I will be sure to look into this matter...More

Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

went there thursday night what rubbish service and poor food told the kitchen closes at 9 pm and we had to wait 20 minutes for our table that was also dirty when we sat at it did not leave a tip and will not go...More

1  Thank douglas s
TheOysterShed, Manager at The Oyster Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hello Douglas, Many thanks for your review and please accept our sincere apologies. We're sorry to hear you left unhappy on your last visit and we will be sure to look into this matter for you. We do hope to welcome you back in the...More

Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

The experience was awful! I had a reservation for my birthday on Friday 23rd of March. When we arrived at The Oyster Shed no one was there at the reception. We had to keep asking the waitresses when the receptionist could come to seat us....More

2  Thank María Belén R
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

We booked a table for 8.30pm for a friends birthday. We arrived and couldn’t find anyone to greet us. Tried to get people’s attention but just too busy. By the time we were sat down at a makeshift table we were immediately pounced on and...More

1  Thank Jonathan R
TheOysterShed, Manager at The Oyster Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hello Jonathan, Many thanks for your feedback and I'm terribly sorry you left unhappy on your last visit. I can assure you this isn't normally a case and a business we strive to deliver the best standards and customer service we can. I can only...More

Nearby
City of London
From its ancient past as a Roman trading outpost to
its 21st century status as the wealthiest square mile
in the world, the financial district known simply as
“The City” is one of London's most historic and
fascinating neighbourhoods. Here high rise office
towers such as Norman Foster’s Gherkin mingle with
Roman ruins and architectural marvels from virtually
every era in between, including Christopher Wren's
...More
Nearby HotelsSee all 1,082 hotels in London
Travelodge London Central Bank
843 reviews
.20 miles away
Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel
1,366 reviews
.21 miles away
Premier Inn London Bank (Tower) Hotel
2,169 reviews
.27 miles away
London Bridge Hotel
2,858 reviews
.28 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Harry's Bar
178 reviews
.17 miles away
Bill's Clink Street
476 reviews
.17 miles away
The Banker
120 reviews
.10 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Monument to the Great Fire of London
1,930 reviews
.18 miles away
Golden Hinde
458 reviews
.15 miles away
Clink Prison Museum
1,327 reviews
.17 miles away
London Bridge
299 reviews
.12 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Lozza033
10 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Stretch1958 | Reviewed this property |
Yes definitely but book early !
0
Votes
Lozza033
10 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from KatieJ0 | Reviewed this property |
My hubby has had Xmas do’s there before and has enjoyed himself. There’s plenty of space. My suggestion would be to try the restaurant out for yourself, that’s what I usually do before organising a Work function.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$40
Cuisine
Bar, British
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Bar Scene, Business meetings, View, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 16:00
Monday
09:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:00
Thursday
09:00 - 23:00
Friday
09:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5 Angel Lane, London EC4R 3AB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > City of London
  • Neighbourhood: City of London
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7256 3240
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;