We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#134 of 466 French in London
#2,764 of 15,049 Restaurants in London
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

With all its art deco flourishes and distinctively French glamour, Zédel is a restaurant that still delivers a certain expectant excitement as you desc...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
About
Located in the heart of Piccadilly bordering Soho and Regent Street, Brasserie Zédel is a grand and bustling Parisian brasserie. With a relaxed and lively atmosphere, the restaurant serves traditional French food at remarkably good value. Brasserie Zédel is open throughout the day, serving classic dishes such as French Onion Soup and Steak Haché. There is also a two-course prix fixe menu available from £10.95 or a Menu Formule with a glass of wine for £19.75. Furthermore, each evening, live music is played in the brasserie for diners to enjoy until close. In addition, the building also plays host to the ZedeL Café, a casual pavement-level café with terrace seating open from early until late,
PRICE RANGE
£12 - £48
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
French, European
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Gift Cards Available, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music, Jazz Bar, Non-smoking restaurants
Reviews (6,083)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
5,686 results
Traveller rating
2,619
1,787
713
346
221
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
2,619
1,787
713
346
221
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak hache choucroute onion soup profiteroles prix fixe snails duck pudding burger art deco piccadilly circus american bar crazy coqs regent palace hotel cocktail bar french cuisine west end
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday

Another excellent meal at Brasserie Zedel on 19th April 2024 . We booked as a birthday celebration and chose items from the main menu. Everything was delicious - all perfectly cooked and presented. The service was great and we'd all like to give a special...mention to Henri, the French waiter, who looked after our table. He was professional and fun - and added to our enjoyment of the evening.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brasserie Zedel, General Manager at Brasserie Zedel, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Brasserie Zedel!

Reviewed 1 week ago

All-round excellence. Food, service, atmosphere. The first time I have eaten here. Very well-run restaurant. We will return.

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brasserie Zedel, General Manager at Brasserie Zedel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Brasserie Zedel!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Tries to be a Parisian Brasserie such as La Coupole and succeeds to a greater or lesser extent. Not quite the same ambiance but not far off and food is really good if not quite excellent for its type, I would say in many respects...superior to La Coupole in Monparnesse in Paris on which it is based. This is not haute cuisine but very good French Brasserie food. Now losing its Michelin Bib Gourmand reflects the price increases. Service a bit hit miss since Minor instantly excluded Corbin and King. 15% service charge is taking liberties and quick table turnaround means your table is yours for a maximum of one and a half hours. Used to be two under original ownership. Prices have also increased too much compared to other restaurants. Decent wines and priced a little too high than what they used to be. However I’d definitely go again as I love that basic Parisian food and love the atmosphere. This is the only grande French Brasserie I know of here in the UK. Plenty of them in Paris that are better but that’s missing the point. Well recommended. We’ve probably dined here about twenty or more times but beginning to rest on its laurels now faceless Minor is in control.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brasserie Zedel, General Manager at Brasserie Zedel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We appreciate you taking the time to leave us this feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit to Brasserie Zedel.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This restaurant is in a good location for a pre-theatre meal and if you tell them that you are going on to the theatre they are very efficient so we were able to leave in plenty of time. The restaurant does not look very much...from the outside (opposite Moulin Rouge) but when you go in and downstairs to the restaurant you discover lots of different areas and a very large restaurant space. In the same group as the Delauney and the Wolseley but a bit more mass market. We had a very nice waitress and the reasonable food was served quickly.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brasserie Zedel, General Manager at Brasserie Zedel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Law64 Thank yo very much for taking the time to review your experience with us. I'm glad that you enjoyed the service and and the space. We looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards Nikolai

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Last night had cocktails and then dinner! Great ambience and impressive venue! Great staff and really enjoyed our cocktails! Dinner was really nice. Great table. Waiter was lovely and our 2 course dinner delicious! Steak in peppercorn sauce followed my choc delice dessert! Highly recommend....Book early. This place is popular.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brasserie Zedel, General Manager at Brasserie Zedel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Julie M, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at Brasserie Zedel. We're happy we could meet your expectations! Thank you again for the great review!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were there on a Saturday evening, it was packed. They need more staff to manage that kind of room and capacity. The place itself is beautiful. Really a gorgeous place to have dinner but it’s definitely gone down hill. Sadly our latest visit was...a disappointing experience. The service was glacially slow. One waiter was in fact quite rude. We had to send back soup be reheated, it was standing in our eye line for an age before service. One of our party was served when everyone else had just about finished. With a cover charge plus a 15% service charge it makes it an extremely expensive evening. Had I been picking up the bill I would not have given 15% but our bill payer didn’t ‘want to make a fuss’ which I understand. Sometimes you just want to pay and leave and that’s how we felt. I had recommended the place to our group, and honestly I was embarrassed that it was as so disappointing after I’d raved about it. I certainly wouldn’t rush back. Such a shame. Maybe a week night is quieter and more manageable for the staff?More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brasserie Zedel, General Manager at Brasserie Zedel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear SusanhA2569NC, I'm sorry to hear about that your experience didn't met your expectations. Please feel free to send me an email to ZedelManagers@brasseriezedel.com if you would like to discuss your experience further and give us the opportunity of investigating what went wrong. Kindest regards...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Compared to the last time we'd been here, the quality of food and service has declined. The food was below average particularly for the price, the service was lacking, trying to attract attention of a waiter/ress was very hard despite the early dining hour (before...theatre) and even when one got their attention they forgot what you'd asked for. We won't be coming back!More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brasserie Zedel, General Manager at Brasserie Zedel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mark R, I’m sorry to hear that your experience with us didn’t go as expected. Please feel free to contact me directly on zedelmanagers@brasseriezedel.com to discuss it further and give us the opportunity of investigating what happened. Kind regards Nikolai

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place used to be a regular place my friends & I would go to, for dinner, drinks, brunches, lunches throughout the year. I was at the opening night of BZ, I loved going to this place and I was there regularly for years. But...having been there 6-7 times after the hostile takeover after Corbin & King were ousted, I thought I’d try it out to see for myself to see what changes were made. Well, I doubt I’ll go back again. The service is shoddy, the drinks are smaller & more expensive. The food is pretty much the same but the quality isn’t the same, the waiters are far below the super high standard under C&K. My group got a table this afternoon and the waiter said we could go off menu or stick to the menu for drinks so I asked for the BZ Spritz American which he then said he’d never heard of. Despite me giving him the ingredient's list he then said he couldn't ask for it to be made. How strange. So my friends all asked for Cosmopolitans in the American Bar and they were horrendous, with a strange bitter aftertaste. When I asked the waiter to change my sour & sharp tasting drink, I saw the bartender pour a pre made liquid into my glass. It came back tasting weirder than before, what kind of place can’t make a simple drink? This incident just highlights the lack of care now prevalent at Braserie Zedel. What used to be a fantastic place to pop into has now become a touristy cliche. Such a shame.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brasserie Zedel, General Manager at Brasserie Zedel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear MsDb I’m sorry to hear that your experience didn’t met your expectations. Please contact me on zedelmanagers@brasseriezedel.com if you would like to discuss further and give us the opportunity to investigate this matter. Kind regards Nikolai

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a beautiful restaurant. Exceptional service, and incredible food. We went before a theatre show and the place was very full and had a great vibe.. there was a fabulous menu with a range of dishes and prices. Highly recommend

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brasserie Zedel, General Manager at Brasserie Zedel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at Brasserie Zedel. We're happy we could meet your expectations! We hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I’m not quite sure where to begin….. the restaurant is vast, busy and loud to such an extent that we had to shout across a small round table to hear each other. In the end we didn’t stay for dessert as the place was just...such a cacophony of noise. It was a tourist trap and felt very faux French. What’s the idea of having no English on the menu? Trying to be very French? but it’s just unhelpful. I felt like I was eating in the middle of a vast frenetic cruise ship. And now to the food, not great at all for the price you pay. £38 entrecôte was underwhelming and the onglet tasted burnt. The green salad was literally large leaves dumped in a bowl, no effort whatsoever to add any “je ne sais quoi” to it.. For a table of five, part of one dish appeared first and then several minutes later one of the steaks arrived. The waiter didn’t know if it was the rare or the medium steak so he took it away to find out and came back with it five minutes later to say which cooking it was. Why was it so long to find that out? Then after a few further minutes the rest of the meals were served. Basic elements - serve a table more or less at the same time….. . The French fries at £5 a pop were luke warm and the spinach was stone cold. The venison was barely hot when it arrived. I would normally say something on the night but everything was so off kilter and as we were there for a celebration I didn’t want to make a fuss. We couldn’t get out of the restaurant fast enough. Don’t waste your money here, I’m amazed at all the top reviews. On a positive note, our waiter was friendly and helpful and one of the party enjoyed the venison.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brasserie Zedel, General Manager at Brasserie Zedel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Isabel, I’m sorry to hear about your experience. Please feel free to contact me directly at ZedelManagers@brasseriezedel.com shall you wish to discuss it further and to allow us to investigate what happened. Kind regards Nikolai

Reviewed 18 March 2024 via mobile

What a very average evening we had. And we commented our appreciation to the manager so we are not stabbing them behind. But the service was very average, food was not to the top. For a place that we loved to go, I don’t think...we’ll ever go back.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brasserie Zedel, General Manager at Brasserie Zedel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Pierrep654, I’m sorry that your last experience has been less than positive. Should you ever wish to try us again, please contact us on ZedelManagers@brasseriezedel.com and we will ensure a more positive experience next time around. Kind regards, Nela

Reviewed 10 March 2024

For me, brasserie isn't quite the right word as this restaurant is just a bit classier in its presentation. Lovely period decor downstairs at a venue just away from Piccadilly Circus. Well trained and attentive staff and good food - surprisingly well priced for the...West End. Well worth a try.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brasserie Zedel, General Manager at Brasserie Zedel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2024

Martinv172, thank you so much for the positive review! We hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 6 March 2024 via mobile

4 of us booked for lunch on a Sunday . When you go in the entrance it is like a small cafe but you walk through and down stairs to an entrance hall which leads into a huge restaurant which is beautiful. The prices were...very reasonable for the quality,service & beautiful surroundings .More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brasserie Zedel, General Manager at Brasserie Zedel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2024

Dear Trudi, Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to your return and appreciate all your kind and generous comments. Kind regards Michael

Reviewed 6 March 2024

Although a wonderful room with stunning decor, the dining experience was poor. Our main courses were all served virtually cold. And despite a service charge of 15% , yes it's that exorbitant, the actual wait staff were not attentive. Also, the cloakroom was closed as...no staff, so coats had to be stored on our seat backs.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brasserie Zedel, General Manager at Brasserie Zedel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2024

Dear Alan I'm sorry to read of the issues you experienced with your food and service. If you should wish to discuss further, and allow us to investigate more, please do contact me directly on ZedelManagers@Brasseriezedel.com Kind regards, Yovan

Reviewed 5 March 2024

We had such a lovely lunch here and for central London not over-priced. We had live music and a choice of a varied menu. I had French onion soup and grilled calf's liver which they cooked exactly to my instruction. We shared an additional vegetable...as the portion is large. We should have shared the chocolate mouse too as that was huge. The service was polite and efficient and took a food allergy seriously and offered an alternative soup item (who know onion soup has tomato in it??). A lovely celebration and the wine was not horribly expensive either. I do wish the French used side plates, I hate getting butter on the table cloth! Looking forward to going again.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brasserie Zedel, General Manager at Brasserie Zedel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2024

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Brasserie Zedel!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Soho
The go-to district for a good time in London, Soho
hosts a wealth of world-class theatres and a
compelling lineup of cafes, restaurants, pubs, bars,
and clubs. At Soho's core is London's original Red
Light District and the epicenter of the LGBT scene –
and thus the city's hottest nightlife. For shopping
enthusiasts, Soho is not only the home of London's
greatest concentration of boutique shops, but also the
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Cafe Royal
2,455 reviews
.04 miles away
Ham Yard Hotel
1,360 reviews
.05 miles away
Zedwell Piccadilly Circus
1,390 reviews
.09 miles away
The Dilly
4,321 reviews
.09 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Green Bar at Hotel Cafe Royal
487 reviews
.05 miles away
Cakes & Bubbles by Albert Adria
539 reviews
.05 miles away
Afternoon Tea At Cafe Royal
708 reviews
.04 miles away
The Queens Head Piccadilly
1,150 reviews
.01 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Statue Of James II
6 reviews
.06 miles away
Bar Americain
278 reviews
.00 miles away
The Crazy Coqs
174 reviews
.01 miles away
Pretty Woman the Musical
278 reviews
.01 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
alexislatorre
4 January 2024|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Jim_Parle | Reviewed this property |
I am pretty sure they can sort it. They certainly handled my gluten intolerance very smoothly
1
Vote
Jayceerich
4 March 2023|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from 997kevins | Reviewed this property |
Always best to ask the restaurant direct, however we are normally limited to, I believe a couple of hours when we visit. It’s never been a problem as we are usually on our way to a show or something. Hope this helps. Cheers
0
Votes
K A
5 August 2020|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Babschap | Reviewed this property |
I don’t know if they are In the scheme.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

BRASSERIE ZEDEL, London - Soho - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Brasserie Zedel

Yes, Brasserie Zedel is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Brasserie Zedel is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5