We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crooked Billet

#2,122 of 18,807 Restaurants in London
££ - £££, British,
14-15 Crooked Billet | Wimbledon, London SW19 4RQ, England
+44 20 8946 4942
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good38%
  • Average9%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“fish and chips” (19 reviews)
“sunday roast” (14 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegan Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
14-15 Crooked Billet | Wimbledon, London SW19 4RQ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 264 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Came here for lunch yesterday with the lovely wife and my buddy Geoff. It's one of a pair of Youngs pubs located near the corner of Wimbledon Common. It was pretty quiet on a Thursday lunchtime. Nonetheless, it was pleasant enough. We all had a...More

Thank eddymaya
Crooked B, Manager at The Crooked Billet, responded to this reviewResponded today

Hi Eddy, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. It was great to hear that you joined in with our birthday celebrations however I was a bit disappointed to see that we only earned 3 stars from yourself. We would love...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

My girlfriend and I had Sunday lunch here, we chose to have the trio of meats compromising of beef, lamb and chicken with all the trimmings. However before we went we booked in advance as we thought the pub would be busy with other people...More

Thank RichardLeeds1974
Crooked B, Manager at The Crooked Billet, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Richard, Thank you so much for taking the time to send us your lovely feedback. It's always great to hear such wonderful compliments and share with the team. I'm also very happy to hear that you enjoyed your lunch with us. We do get...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a very nice evening, with good food and friendly service. The drink from the bar were very good, particularly the vodka and tonic. Thank you

Thank Rupert E
Crooked B, Manager at The Crooked Billet, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, Thank you so much for taking the time to send us your review and for your lovely compliments. it's always great to hear and share with our team and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to us.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Crooked Billet is an amazingly large Youngs pub. It's on Wimbledon Common nestling in the most attractive location and is fronted by a large sit outable green. We often go there after a walk with our dog and do lunch. The beers are excellent...More

Thank geethatshelpful
Crooked B, Manager at The Crooked Billet, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, Thank you so much for the really wonderful compliments and such a great 5 star review. It's always so great to hear and share with our team. We're making a few changes to our menu this week in keeping with what's in season so...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Best pub I have been in for many a year Food good had the Barnsley Chop Beer excellent nice choice Staff friendly and attentive Clean and tidy Gets busy so book early for your supperMore

Thank grappa0161
Crooked B, Manager at The Crooked Billet, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to send us your review and thank you so much for the 5 stars and really wonderful compliments. Really happy to hear that you enjoyed the Barnsley chop, it was really popular from our specials board. We very...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Whilst parking can be an issue, just persevere and something will turn up. Allow time. The pub is great, clean and friendly. A good variety of food on the menu with some interesting extras on the board. Good service and good food, can't ask for...More

Thank Driver_in_Europe
Crooked B, Manager at The Crooked Billet, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to send us your review and thank you for the lovely compliments and the recommendation. It's always great to hear and share with our team. We do like to keep our menu interesting and ensure that there is...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I went with two friends for some food and we had a table booked for 8.30. We went to the back of the pub to be seated, which has been refurbished fairly recently. Whilst it is a good space and it has been generally well...More

Thank Pepysroad
Crooked B, Manager at The Crooked Billet, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. I was however very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit to us. Firstly I would like to apologise for not having the Sirloin from our menu available on Saturday...More

Reviewed 6 August 2018

A nice traditional pub which is a perfect pitstop when walking on Wimbledon Common. Can get a little busy sometimes but always enjoyable on a sunny day.

Thank TR4prez
Crooked B, Manager at The Crooked Billet, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Hi, Thank you for your review and lovely compliments. It's always great to hear and share with the team. We do hope to see you again next time your out and about on Wimbledon Common.

Reviewed 6 August 2018

We have visited this restaurant many times and have really enjoyed the ambience and the food. Sadly this visit was disappointing. I appreciate that it was a warm day but overall the staff seemed almost disinterested. Our waitress seemed to not want to be there....More

Thank kusiakclaire
Crooked B, Manager at The Crooked Billet, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to send us your review. I was very sorry to hear that your visit to us this time was a disappointing one and not up to our usual standard, especially as you were celebrating. I will look into...More

Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

A friend and I were in town for the tennis and seeking a pub for Sunday lunch. We actually found the Crooked Billet from good reviews on Yelp and decided to try it. We were not disappointed. Friendly staff, relaxing atmosphere and good food. We...More

Thank ACanavan
NicolabilletMoore, Manager at The Crooked Billet, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2018

Hi ACanavan, Thank you for your wonderful compliments. It's always great to hear and share with the team. We hope you enjoyed the tennis and hopefully we will see you again next time your in the area

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 1,085 hotels in London
Hotel du Vin Wimbledon
804 reviews
.21 miles away
Wimbledon Hotel
116 reviews
.59 miles away
Travelodge London Raynes Park
256 reviews
.84 miles away
Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon
693 reviews
1.42 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The White Onion
402 reviews
.49 miles away
Light House Restaurant
306 reviews
.33 miles away
The Ivy Cafe Wimbledon Village
621 reviews
.52 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Regent Street
1,467 reviews
.57 miles away
Buddhapadipa Temple
40 reviews
.76 miles away
Southside House
20 reviews
.03 miles away
Wimbledon Windmill Museum
16 reviews
.93 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Rebekah E
27 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Crooked B | Property representative |
Hi Rebekah, Our bar area does become more of an adult space after 6pm but we do always try and seat families in our restaurant area which is family friendly all evening.This area does get busy so it is always advisable to... More
0
Votes
spiderman057
26 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from sberriman | Reviewed this property |
Some street parking nearby but hit and miss if you get a place
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 14-15 Crooked Billet | Wimbledon, London SW19 4RQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London
  • Phone Number: +44 20 8946 4942
  • E-mail
Description
The Crooked Billet is a treasured London pub and is situated right at the tip of the beautiful Wimbledon Common. This typical Young's pub offers award winning cask ales, craft beers, a cracking selection of old and new world wines and always a warm welcome, for those who've strayed beyond the village's high-street. The friendly atmosphere can be enjoyed inside by one the the cosy fires on large leather sofas, and diners in the Pantry can tuck into quality seasonal British produce prepared from fresh to deliver great pub food classics as well as succulent Sunday roasts of Aberdeen Angus striploin of beef, Dorset leg of lamb, 6 hour slow cooked pork belly or half roasted chicken.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing