We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#3,356 of 15,040 Restaurants in London
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (439)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
434 results
Traveller rating
184
130
39
42
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
184
130
39
42
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sausage and mash pie sandwich the pub wimbledon village sunday lunch favourite pub
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Awesome service as ever from Rhianne - one of the reasons we keep coming back here… always makes us feel welcome and very friendly..

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Crooked Billet, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dave , thank you for your kind words and this wonderful review! If you're ever in need of more help, please let us know!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good food, pleasant surroundings and good service. The vegetarian option was tasty and all servings generous. Thoroughly enjoyed

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Crooked Billet, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

John N, thank you so much for the positive review! Our team strives to deliver an excellent experience, and are glad you found this to be the case during your visit. If you have further needs or questions, please reach out!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I very rarely leave reviews but I feel compelled to do so by the quality of the food served to me last night. I ordered the fish and chips and the fish was so over-cooked it was incredibly crisp and dry, difficult to even cut...without it falling apart. The mushy peas were also bad, cold (as if not reheated properly) and a tasteless lump with an unpleasant texture. I would have sent it back but my companion's meal was cold, so to get a fresh meal for me would have meant us eating in separate shifts. Such a disappointment, as when I came a few years back I really enjoyed it. The staff also seemed run ragged and the wait for even to place an order was a long one.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Crooked Billet, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Blondeonwine, we're disappointed to hear of the negative experience you had here at the Crooked Billet and did not enjoy the fish and chips. We will be looking into this matter to improve int he future. Thank you for taking the time to leave us...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great staff who were very attentive and as a result the service was excellent. The food arrived hot and promptly. Thank you.

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Crooked Billet, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Harry, Thank you for leaving such an amazing review. We are so glad to hear you found the service excellent. We hope to see you again very soon!

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Was really looking forward to my Mother’s Day treat, unfortunately the meal was awful. The Sunday lunch looked appealing on the plate however the food was barely warm and the meat was very tough, and the vegetables were not the best The pleasant waitress got...our dinner replaced to be given again a lukewarm dinner. We were given a refund for the dinner and an apology from the lovely waitress, but unfortunately the manager didn’t apologize as he took our payment for the drinksMore

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Crooked Billet, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Angela, We do apologise for the experience you encountered here at the Crooked Billet. We will be addressing all the issue you have raised to us and get these resolved. Hopefully you will give us another chance in the near future.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We went for Mother’s Day lunch and was sadly very disappointed. When we arrived to the restaurant part, the place was extremely cold. Heating must have been turned off. My sister kept her jacket on for the entire time! Not what you want on a...rainy Sunday afternoon. We ordered the beef, and it came out quickly. Some of the roast potatoes were like bullets, couldn’t even cut them. The meat was under, and really fatty, mine was still a bit bloody in places, and just some of it was just generally inedible. Portions were also really small for the price. I ordered the bread and butter pudding, and what I got was beyond disappointing. I was expecting some sort of home made pudding. What I got was a slab of compressed brioche that must have come straight from the microwave with tiniest amount of sauce. The staff were good and friendly, but that’s about the only positive thing I can say about the experience. All in all, a very disappointing afternoon. I organised it so felt extremely embarrassed to have paid so much for so little. May have been an off day, but I won’t be coming back to find out.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Crooked Billet, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Monki_anolog, We appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we can improve....More

Reviewed 3 March 2024

Kya was a lovely server very patient with our children. Delicious food and generous helpings. Quick service. We will be back.

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Crooked Billet, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2024

Annabel C, reviews like this give us motivation and help us ensure we provide high-quality care. We can't wait to see you again, have a great day.

Reviewed 1 March 2024

We had such a lovely evening as did our two little dachshunds Elvis & Eugene. They were super spoilt buy our server Kya! High recommend.

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Crooked Billet, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

Hi Melissalj1160kt, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at Crooked Billet. We're happy we could meet your expectations! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Reviewed 18 February 2024

My family and I had a lovely trip here on a Saturday. We opted for the sandwich lunch menu and it's safe to say the bloomer bread was huge! We were stuffed, but it was all super tasty. The staff were great too - we...had a dog with us and they gave her lots of fuss. The Crooked Billet is a lovely, traditional pub in a great setting. We'll definitely be returning.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Crooked Billet, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2024

Thank you so much for leaving an amazing review. We are glad to hear you had a lovely trip to our pub on Saturday and enjoyed the sandwiches. We can't wait to welcome you back to us soon!

Reviewed 17 February 2024

Had lunch here, served by Kya she was amazing. Very attentive and helpful and really made the experience amazing. Credit to the company

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Crooked Billet, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2024

Hi Tom, Thank you for leaving such a great review about Kya. I love hearing feedback from customers about my team! We hope you have a lovely day and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 17 February 2024

Kya is fabulous- great lunch and great atmosphere. Brought nervous dogs and she was so kind and brought treats and water. Thank you.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 February 2024

Service was wonderful. Pitched perfectly. Honestly surprised by how good the food was! Tasty, hot and a good choice on the menu.

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Crooked Billet, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2024

F4283cqkatem, we strive for 100% satisfaction, and it is great to see you had such a positive experience at Crooked Billet. We hope to be of service to you again in the future. Best wishes, Crooked Billet

Reviewed 5 February 2024 via mobile

A solid Sunday roast and good value for money. We were greeted by our server Kya who was friendly and attentive. We started with bread and smoked anchovy butter. The butter was flavourful and a nice twist on the traditional. We both opted for the...roast beef. This was cooked well and a generous portion. The gravy had good flavour although could have been richer and a little thicker. Something that is often neglected when it comes to pub roasts are the veggies and sides. It was a nice surprise to find this wasn’t the case here. The roast roots were hot and well seasoned and the cabbage was fresh and still had bite. We ordered a portion of cauliflower cheese as a side. This came hot and nicely portioned although not particularly cheesy or well seasoned. We chose a white Rioja with dinner which was perfect.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Crooked Billet, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2024

Kit H, thanks for your praise and kind comments about our team. If you ever need anything else from us, please feel free to give us a call or stop by. Have an awesome day!

Reviewed 30 January 2024

Great venue for birthday meal with family. Food was excellent and there is a wide range of beers. Staff were friendly and helpful. Will definitely come back.

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2024 via mobile

Staff didn't instruct us where to go on arrival. We had to look for our reservation name on the tables. They've overfilled the place and the front of house / kitchen clearly can't handle peak times. It took an age to order, waiting staff didn't...seem to care, just going through the motions. No eye contact at any time, even when we complained about food. We had to hail people down just to order a drink, or clear the table. Food was miserable compared to what was advertised. You'd expect a small menu would make it easier to deliver some quality from the kitchen, but my steak was grey and overcooked, sent back and got a blue steak instead. Medium or medium rare should be easy to execute with only one steak on the menu! Pork belly had no crisp or crackling at all. You can't eat unrendered fat! Stew was watery, and the burger was just bland. Tables were too close together, and it was a madhouse. Peoples dogs, babies, bags, children, the place was chaos. If they'd just sacrifice a few tables, staff would be less overwhelmed, kitchen could deliver what is promised and everyone could have space without backing into the people next to you at every turn. We paid, the staff didnt bat an eyelid, we left. The end. Will never go back.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Crooked Billet, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2024

Johnjogs, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. Falling short of meeting your expectations is not to the standards we strive to achieve, and we humbly ask for the opportunity to make this right. Thank you for...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel du Vin Wimbledon
1,273 reviews
.21 miles away
The Wimbledon Hotel
143 reviews
.59 miles away
Travelodge London Raynes Park
717 reviews
.82 miles away
Premier Inn London Wimbledon Broadway Hotel
475 reviews
1.26 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Hand in Hand
511 reviews
.02 miles away
The Light House
399 reviews
.33 miles away
The Ivy Cafe Wimbledon
1,004 reviews
.53 miles away
Cent Anni
142 reviews
.45 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Buddhapadipa Temple
62 reviews
.76 miles away
Cannizaro Park
15 reviews
.18 miles away
Southside House
21 reviews
.07 miles away
Wimbledon Library
12 reviews
.82 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
AdamAndJoanna
22 December 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Ying L | Reviewed this property |
There is parking available - not many spots - but usually pretty empty.
1
Vote
587rebekahe
27 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Crooked B | Property representative |
Hi Rebekah, Our bar area does become more of an adult space after 6pm but we do always try and seat families in our restaurant area which is family friendly all evening.This area does get busy so it is always advisable to... More
0
Votes
spiderman057
26 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from Simon B | Reviewed this property |
Some street parking nearby but hit and miss if you get a place
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE CROOKED BILLET, London - 14-15 Crooked Billet - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Crooked Billet

The Crooked Billet is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4