We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shakespeares Head

) #1,090 of 18,155 Restaurants in London £ , British,
64-68 Kingsway | Africa House, London WC2B 6AH, England
+44 20 7404 8846
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent27%
  • Very good53%
  • Average15%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“curry” (9 reviews)
“steak” (15 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
64-68 Kingsway | Africa House, London WC2B 6AH, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

A Wetherspoons pub. You either love them or hate them. This is a good one. Nice size. Lots of seating. Usual food and drink.

Thank 444timbo
Manager239, Manager at Shakespeares Head, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks 444Timbo, We think were pretty lovable too! We're glad you enjoyed your visit, and hope to see you again.

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Ate here one evening and were impressed with the cleanliness and Service. Quite a big Wetherspoons establishment but we were served at the bar quite quickly and didn't have to wait too long for our meals. Food was hot and very tasty and good choice...More

Thank KathandDen
Manager239, Manager at Shakespeares Head, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks KathandDen, We hope to see you again too!

Reviewed 1 week ago

terribly rude staff and awful queues that weren't helped by staff having issues (it seemed)with the cash till etc ive visited many pubs but this one scrapes the very bottom of the barrel.though the toilets were spotlessy clean.i would avoid unless you are desperate

Thank daisy9700
Manager239, Manager at Shakespeares Head, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Daisy9700, Were really sorry you had a bad experience with us. We wouold really like to hear more so that we can improve our standards for the future. Please contact us at p239@jdwetherspoon.co.uk if you would like to give us further feedback. Thanks.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in here quickly before we went to see school of rock, quick service, clean resturant pleasant staff good price for central London

Thank claireylouisehar
Manager239, Manager at Shakespeares Head, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Great food, great prices and a great show, sounds like you had a pretty good day out! Thanks for the 5 star review!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

In an average month I would say I visit this specific weatherspoons about 4 or 5 times, usually on a Friday afternoon or evening after work. Yesterday was no different, enjoying a few thatchers ciders with friends. Everything was normal until the over interested bouncer...More

Thank David T
Manager239, Manager at Shakespeares Head, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi David T, Were sorry you had a bad experience with us. If you would like to get in touch with us to discuss your visit further, we are always available to contact on p239@jdwetherspoon.co.uk. Thanks

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We only had time for a couple of drinks on our way to somewhere else, but we spotted this place and thought that since it was a Wetherspoons, we knew what we were getting! It was a typical example of the chain in that it...More

Thank IndigoStar79
Manager239, Manager at Shakespeares Head, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi IndigoStar79 We take our customers (and their possesions!) safety very seriously, and the last thing we want is for your visit to be ruined by something as horrible as pickpockets and the like! Were glad you enjoyed your visit though,, Thanks!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Still just as good a meal provided. No complaints whatsoever. Quick service, even though it was very busy. Will return again in the future with pleasure.

Thank Tony36
Manager239, Manager at Shakespeares Head, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks Tony36, its always great to hear good feedback! Andrew

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is one of my favourites in the Wetherspoons chain so i was disappointed that it was closed for refurbishment when I visited in may so was looking forward to seeing want had changed. Not much as far as I could see. We ate here...More

Thank Taxidevil
Manager239, Manager at Shakespeares Head, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Taxidevil, We hated being closed too, but it was some pretty essential stuff going on while we were closed. The bar is newly fitted, as well as all of the cellar piping, so that we can serve you the perfect pint every time. Thanks...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

£5.95 for a large full English Sunday breakfast consisting of 2 sausage, 2 bacon, mushroom, tomato, toast and 4 eggs (!!) can't go wrong! Service was excellent and very prompt particularly as there were a dozen of us. A bit worrying that there were a...More

Thank Kevin H
Manager239, Manager at Shakespeares Head, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Kevin H, were glad you enjoyed your breakfast, the perfect cure for a night out! The signs are merely a precaution, we take our customers (and their possessions) safety very seriously here! Thanks for the review

Reviewed 11 July 2017

Popped in here for breakfast on way to a London Conference - normally I would go for the eggs benedict but that was off the menu so had the Breakfast Wrap - and was very impressed. Tasted fresh, excellent ingredients. Really nice.

Thank 3towels
Manager239, Manager at Shakespeares Head, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Were really sorry we didn't have your first choice 3towels, but as replacements go, the breakfast wrap is a pretty good one! Were glad you enjoyed it, thanks for visiting!

Nearby
Holborn
Inner London’s busiest streets crisscross quiet
cobbled lanes for an effect that can be urbane or
quaint – or an intriguing blend of both – depending on
the particular corner you turn. Due to its especially
convenient location, bustling Holborn hosts an
excellent range of hotels, eateries, and shops to suit
practically any taste or budget. With major
attractions like the British Museum and Somerset House
...More
Nearby Restaurants
The Ship Tavern
640 reviews
.04 miles away
Hiba Express
281 reviews
.06 miles away
Bill's Holborn
314 reviews
.06 miles away
Nearby Attractions
School Of Rock The Musical
228 reviews
.16 miles away
Sir John Soane's Museum
1,353 reviews
.10 miles away
New London Theatre
353 reviews
.16 miles away
Freemasons' Hall
367 reviews
.14 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Helen R
25 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from nicksibubs | Reviewed this property |
I don't think they do. This is a Wetherspoons pub. Why not give them a call as they may be able to section a bit off for a party. It's a huge pub.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$14
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 00:00
Monday
07:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 00:00
Thursday
07:00 - 01:00
Friday
07:00 - 01:00
Saturday
08:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 64-68 Kingsway | Africa House, London WC2B 6AH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > Holborn
  • Neighbourhood: Holborn
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7404 8846
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing