We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carvery and Grill

372 Strand | Strand Palace Hotel, London WC2R 0JJ, England
+44 20 7379 4737
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good37%
  • Average19%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“beef” (75 reviews)
“gammon” (19 reviews)
“soup” (23 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
372 Strand | Strand Palace Hotel, London WC2R 0JJ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Alittle bit of a hit or mis affair. Some times (very) good, some toimes just oke. If they still have it, the Gammon is the best!

Thank Vin9902
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Upon arrival we were greeted by an extremely friendly lady and shown to our table. Our waiter (Andrea I think), went through the menu with us and explained everything that was available. We both had a starter of a salad buffet, everything was fresh and...More

Thank Chris T
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Not at all impressed by this carvery. The meat was delicious, tender and succulent but the accompanying vegetables were dreadful. Roast potatoes hardly looked roasted. Skinny strips of parnsips and overdone broccoli accompanied by a tasteless watery gravy. This s British cooking at its worst....More

Thank sofieuk
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

We were very tired after our first day in London, and decided to eat dinner at the hotel we are staying at. We were not dissapointed. Good service, wonderful food and refreshing beverages made our evening relaxing and fulfilling. Will come back if and when...More

Thank StineMarie_NO
Omar H, Manager at Carvery and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to review us. Its good to read that you enjoyed the food and service. We aim to deliver quality food and service. Hope we see you on your next visit. regards,

Reviewed 4 July 2017

This was another of our pre theater dinners and the most disappointing. We were put in an empty room, while all around the wait staff were cleaning up and setting tables. It took awhile to get any service. We never got bread. The buffet was...More

Thank Eliz329
Omar H, Manager at Carvery and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Hello Sir, I'm sorry to read the experience you had with us. It is not our standard for food and service what you experience. Please accept our sincere apology for the errors you experienced during your dining experience.

Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

I understand that this is a high standard hotel and the prices are high because of the place where the restaurant is located but in my opinion it's a little overpriced. However we had the carvery set menu which was with roast meat and I...More

Thank Anna S
Omar H, Manager at Carvery and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to review us. It's good to read that you enjoyed the food and service. our aim is to deliver quality food and service. Hope we see you on your next visit. Regards,

Reviewed 24 May 2017

As a large group Of 40+ we booking the Carvery along with our show at The Aldwych Theatre. Every single person within our group found the food disappointing in the fact that the roast potatoes didn't appear to have seen an oven - they were...More

Thank maggierennie
Omar H, Manager at Carvery and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Dear guest, I'm sorry to read the experience you had with us. It is not our standard for food and service what you experience. Please accept our sincere apology for the errors you experienced during your dining experience. We have since put training and systems...More

Reviewed 24 May 2017 via mobile

Souless space, lacking in character and atmosphere. Staff are disorganised. Appear officious and pleasant hiwever dont turn up with the goods. For a table of 5 - 1 starter didnt turn up, 3 main courses were wrong, and they forgot the dessert altogether. Whilst food...More

Thank JKlondon09
Omar H, Manager at Carvery and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

I'm sorry to read the experience you had with us. It is not our standard for food and service what you experience and I sincerely hope you give us another chance. We have since put training and systems in place for the miscommunication error so...More

Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

Why you would add 12.5% service onto the bill of a very ordinary help yourself buffet, I don't know. At best it's cheeky, at worst it's daylight robbery ! I didn't realize and also gave a tip so they got over 20% onto an already...More

Thank l0ngw00d
Omar H, Manager at Carvery and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to share your experience with us. I will be looking at these issues, thank you! Hopefully see you again soon.

Reviewed 17 May 2017

we stayed at the strand palace on the sunday evening we decided to try the carvery it was very good we got a good serving of meat and there was plenty of choice of veg

Thank Leigh H
Omar H, Manager at Carvery and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Dear guest, On behalf of the management, I want to thank you for giving us feedback on your recent visit. Your kind words of praise and encouragement means a lot to us. We will strive hard to exceed your expectation on every visit.

Nearby
Covent Garden
Whether you're headed here to check out the multitude
of shops, theaters, cafes, pubs, and restaurants, or
simply to be among the multitude of people who pass
through this pretty part of town, you'll love soaking
up the festive and historic atmosphere in and around
Covent Garden. Even if you don't have tickets to the
opera or a show at one of the many famous theaters
here, don't be surprised if find yourself captivated
...More
Nearby Restaurants
The Savoy Grill
4,371 reviews
.04 miles away
Joe Allen
1,364 reviews
.02 miles away
Simpson's in The Strand
76 reviews
.03 miles away
Salieri Restaurant
696 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Savoy Theatre - Dreamgirls
1,561 reviews
.06 miles away
Lyceum Theatre
693 reviews
.06 miles away
The London Film Museum - Covent Garden
898 reviews
.08 miles away
London Transport Museum
1,996 reviews
.07 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Carvery and Grill staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Buffet
Good for
Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 372 Strand | Strand Palace Hotel, London WC2R 0JJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > Covent Garden
  • Neighbourhood: Covent Garden
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7379 4737
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing