We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Great Harry

) #7,916 of 18,119 Restaurants in London £ , British,
7-9 Wellington Street, London SE18 6PQ, England
+44 20 8853 9460
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent14%
  • Very good47%
  • Average24%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
7-9 Wellington Street, London SE18 6PQ, England
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2017

Chef needs sacking. This morning I had a traditional breakfast without tomato. Bacon= 1.5 slices probably cooked two days before. Beans disgusting and luke warm (it's a fried breakfast - I don't want low sugar beans), egg broke between pan and plate so flipped over,...More

Thank Hoovacat
Alexandra R, Manager at The Great Harry, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Hi, We're sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience with us here at The Great Harry. I can assure all of our food is cooked fresh to order and we're sorry it didn't meet the correct standards on this occasion. I hope this doesn't put...More

A TripAdvisor Member
368
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

Always drink and eat here if I'm in central Woolwich. It's a Weathersoons Pub. You know what you're getting. Very reasonable priced Beer. Excellent selection of beers good speedy service. Food is good well prepared and traditional Pub fare

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Alexandra R, Manager at The Great Harry, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thanks a lot for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your visit to The Great Harry! See you again soon

Reviewed 24 April 2017

dropped by for dinner with a small child in tow. great for family with children, the Great Harry provides children cutlery, children menu and has highchairs for the kids too. Really enjoyed the British Beef & Doom Bar ale pie :)

Thank cpkphn
Alexandra R, Manager at The Great Harry, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Hey! Thanks a lot for your review! We're are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to The Great Harry! See you again soon

Reviewed 15 April 2017

Went there on a Friday evening after the tall ships event, found the atmosphere off putting there where a couple having an argument at one table loads of baseball cap wearing young men lurking around looking intimidating, feel that the safe environment that weatherspoons normally...More

1  Thank disco1969
Alexandra R, Manager at The Great Harry, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Hi, Thank you for taking your time to leave us a review. I can assure you that we do our best to ensure that every customer feels safe and protected whilst in our business and that all door staff and staff members are trained in...More

Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

Had a Vegetarian Breakfast hear today - Superb !! Everything cooked lovely, clean tables, got served straight away. They even had SOYA MILK for my tea !!! 5 Worthy Stars ⭐️🌟⭐️🌟⭐️

Thank susie1717m
Alexandra R, Manager at The Great Harry, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Hi Susie! Thank you so much for your review! We are extremely happy that you enjoyed the food, and that our new soya milk went well with your tea! We are looking forward to seeing you next time! Alexandra Ruby

Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

I visited the Great Harry with my mother for lunch, she had ham egg and chips as for myself I was not particularly hungry. So opted for the Tandoori chicken bites. What a complete disappointment they looked appetising but tasted of nothing but chicken, would...More

Thank Tony E
Alexandra R, Manager at The Great Harry, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Hi Tony, We're sorry that you wasn't happy with the food that you ordered. A few weeks ago we got a new menu and tandoori chicken bites did not make it on to it. We do however have many new and exciting dishes that we...More

Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

I lunched here between appointments. I'm usually very happy with Wetherspoons but on this occasion I was disappointed. I ordered my usual medium rare rump steak and when it arrived it looked great. However, eating it proved very difficult. At least half of the steak...More

Thank Cherry K
Alexandra R, Manager at The Great Harry, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Hi Cherry I am sad to hear that you wasn't entirely happy with your visit to us on this occasion but I am glad that a member of staff managed to fix the situation for you! We hope this doesn't ever stop you from paying...More

Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

Great place to work away on your laptop on a Saturday morning. You get refillable coffee and the staff are nice. Reasonably priced food but it can get very busy over lunch and dinner.More

Thank Ephraim M
Alexandra R, Manager at The Great Harry, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Thanks a lot for you review! Due to the location we do tend to get a little busy at times but we hope that this does not ever stop you from paying us a visit! We are glad you enjoy the coffee and the wifi!...More

Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

Everything that can be expected from a traditional pub in that area. Staff at the bar are slow to take your order, but food and drink quality is acceptable. Hygiene, including that of the toilets, is good.More

Thank Еми Т
Alexandra R, Manager at The Great Harry, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Hi Emn, Thanks for taking the time to pass on your comments about your visit. Firstly I would like to apologise if you think the service was slow, here at The Great Harry we try our best to ensure that the service time is fast...More

Reviewed 6 January 2017

I'll start with a negative because ther is only the one - the dining area felt a little cramped. Having said that, it was not cramped enough to spoil our evening.We were greeted by friendly staff who served us in a fast and efficient manner...More

Thank BillMoss
Alexandra R, Manager at The Great Harry, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Hi Bill, Thanks a lot for your comments. As a popular pub we understand that sometimes it can get a little crowded, especially over the Christmas period! However we are glad that you enjoyed your experience with us and that the staff met your expectations....More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Blue Nile Cafe
284 reviews
.06 miles away
Viet Baguette Ltd
84 reviews
.10 miles away
Kailash Momo Restaurant
144 reviews
.05 miles away
Woolwich Equitable
87 reviews
.07 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Woolwich Ferry
42 reviews
.41 miles away
Woolwich Foot Tunnel
27 reviews
.35 miles away
Maryon Wilson Animal Park
13 reviews
.96 miles away
Greenwich Heritage Centre
14 reviews
.32 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
ashley029
I'm not knocking weather spoons as I have had great meals elsewhere but I'm saying seeing staff constantly stratch their head numerous times without washing their hands while helping bring food to tables is rather off putting! If it doesn't bother you then you have a strong stomach!
22 June 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Simon C | Reviewed this property |
Didn't see that while I have been there. The staff their always seem pretty good compared to other establishments
0
Votes
GJH_35
Why do Wetherspoons employ a manager who knows as much about beer as Margaret Thatcher knew a out Cyril Smith. SACK the manager & employ Jeremy Clarkson. He would be slightly more popular than the current encumber! !!!
20 March 2015|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from GJH_35 | Reviewed this property |
Facist
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$19
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 00:00
Monday
08:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 00:00
Thursday
08:00 - 00:00
Friday
08:00 - 01:00
Saturday
08:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7-9 Wellington Street, London SE18 6PQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London
  • Phone Number: +44 20 8853 9460
Description
Here at The Great Harry we aim to provide you with the best experience possible.

Our pub is family friendly and acceptable for all ages during the day.
We have a separate area, that is suitable for young children and quieter away from the buzz of our lively bar.

We have a varied menu, that gives you a wide selection of meals, guaranteed to have something for everyone and get your taste buds tingling, as well as a huge selection of Lagers, Ales, Ciders and Spirits to choose from.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing