We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Beach Blanket Babylon

££££
Neighbourhood:
Notting Hill
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
45 Ledbury Road, London W11 2AA, England (Westbourne Grove)
+44 20 7229 2907
Website
Today
12:00 - 00:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 12:00 - 00:00
Sat - Sun 10:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

657 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 599: English reviews
uk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited 11 march with some girlfriends as we were staying near by. We were not greeted or tended to on arrival even though fairly quite and staff milling about. We asked a waitress for a table and were shoe horned into a cramped corner. No drink orders were taken for over 10 minutes and when they were it took a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank nomad11uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just come back from a great evening at Beach Blanket Babylon. We booked and then tried to cancel when read a number of the reviews on trip advisor, but as this would have cost £30 a head we decided to give a go. We were shown to a table straight away and got our cocktails within 5 minutes. Girlfriend is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve H
London
Level Contributor
203 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place is so over rated. Maybe you go there to take pics but even the decor is shabby and looks dirty. We had 5 different person wait us. Rude staff; we waited over an hour for an avocado toast. The food is below average. It took 30 mns to get the drinks and at the end they didn't even... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Londoner1710
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place looks amazing! An eclectic boutique selling cocktails. Unfortunately, that's where the magic ended. After being seated in a prominent area of the bar, we were totally ignored by a range of servers walking past. It was a late Saturday afternoon and the bar was quiet (God knows how they manage on a Fri/Sat night!) I eventually went to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank CMH3108
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was second visit and will never go back. Gave it benefit of doubt the first time that maybe it was an bad day ... turns out it's alway bad. Menu is crap and overpriced. Staff take an age to do anything. Service was horrendous. Literally have no idea how this place is still open.

Helpful?
1 Thank niamhore
Management response:

Dear Niamhore I am so very sorry to hear that you had not one but two bad experiences at Beach Blanket Babylon. The business will soon be under new management, I very much hope you will return and find that you have a wonderful experience. In the meantime thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came for brunch on a Sunday. We were quite hungover and in need of a good breakfast. We were sat at what looked like a waiting table, expecting to be taken to a proper table after waiting (despite having booked). This is where it gets bad... We were finally asked what drinks we would like, after 30 minutes of waiting.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Manish S
Management response:

I am so very sorry to hear that you did not have a five star experience at Beach Blanket Babylon. The business will soon be under new management, I very much hope you will return and find that you have a wonderful experience. In the meantime thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Seriously, you could sit for hours and not get served. And..then they don't actually bring anything you order. Cool place, great cocktails and food but staff purposefully stride about achieving nothing.

Helpful?
Thank Hamish295
Management response:

I am so very sorry to hear that you did not have a five star experience at Beach Blanket Babylon. The business will soon be under new management, I very much hope you will return and find that you have a wonderful experience and fabulous service. In the meantime thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stupidly booked brunch here without checking the reviews. Just assumed it would be good as its an upmarket brand. The service is horrendous. The place was almost empty (we can now understand why) yet it still took over 15 minutes to take our order. After being there for 30 minutes we still didn't have our drinks. The food is edible,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie S
Management response:

I am so very sorry to hear that you did not have a five star experience at Beach Blanket Babylon. The business will soon be under new management, I very much hope you will return and find that you have a wonderful experience and fabulous food and service. In the meantime thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. More 

Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I travelled here from the other side of London as we had heard great things. On arrival we received a warm welcome and were feeling very pleased with our choice when we were shown through the busy bar area down to our beautiful cosy table. I cannot fault the appearance of the restaurant or the rushed off... More 

Helpful?
Thank amber122
Management response:

I am so very sorry to hear that you did not have a five star experience at Beach Blanket Babylon. I am particularly apologetic with regard to nuts on your boyfriend's salad which is totally unacceptable. The business will soon be under new management, I very much hope you will return and find that you have a wonderful experience and... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was the worst meal and service I have had in a long time. Firstly it took over an hour from finishing our starters for our main courses to arrive. When our main courses arrived they were cold. The duck was awful couldn't even cut it to eat it. When we complained that our food was cold the staff were... More 

Helpful?
Thank 833alex789

Travellers who viewed Beach Blanket Babylon also viewed

 

Been to Beach Blanket Babylon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$32 - US$50
Cuisine
European, British, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 00:00
Monday
12:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 00:00
Thursday
12:00 - 00:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
10:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 45 Ledbury Road, London W11 2AA, England
    (Westbourne Grove)
  • Public Transportation: Notting Hill Gate tube is a 5 to 8 minute walk from us.
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > Notting Hill
  • Neighbourhood: Notting Hill
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7229 2907
Description
Beach Blanket Babylon Notting Hill is a townhouse serving quality British food and inspired cocktails from lunch till late. Our menus update seasonally and our venue is perfect for exploring Baroque, Rococo led design and our Ballroom hosts the best banquets around. Grand fireplaces, glistening chandeliers and exceptional food and drink make us the place to be to take in the sheer decadence of it all.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Beach Blanket Babylon and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Beach Blanket Babylon staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Notting Hill

Neighbourhood Profile
Notting Hill
As West London's friskiest corner, Notting Hill more than manages to retain plenty of the same appeal that's brought the affluent area so much worldwide attention. In this attractive cobblestoned neighbourhood, a delectable variety of eateries, independent shops, galleries and street vendors offer a delightful window into how to live the good life in London, with each presenting visitors with an experience that's a little more idiosyncratic and endearing than the last. Travelers looking to forage for antiques should be sure to visit the Portobello Road Market on Saturdays, the largest antiques market in the United Kingdom.
Explore this neighbourhood