We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Bonneville

#5,877 of 17,858 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Grill, French, Bar
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
43 Lower Clapton Road, London E5 0PQ, England
+44 20 8533 3301
Website
Today
12:00 - 00:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 00:00
Mon - Wed 17:00 - 00:00
Thu - Sat 17:00 - 01:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 61: English reviews
Clapham
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place seems very confused in what it wants to be. Is it a bar? Is it a pub? Is it a restaurant? Is it sophisticated? Is it a friendly local? Unfortunately for me it didn't really achieve any of those. The interior is very pleasant with a beautiful stained glass roof over the back part and comfortable banquettes most... More 

Helpful?
Thank NCPG
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Came here for a birthday meal with my wife's family - good selection of wines and beers and a lovely meal - staff very friendly too

Helpful?
Thank hobbitandhaggis
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2016

Took my girlfriend here on the first night of our weekend away in London a few weeks back. We arrived late so we were hungry and tired, a KFC would have sufficed. Anyhow, we ended up stumbling upon the The Bonneville and thought 'what the heck, it's busy, lets give it a go!'. We were both impressed by the whole... More 

Helpful?
Thank Raymanthe3rd
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2016

Had a meal for two in the early evening. Kitchen opened at 6PM. We had the rib eye steak - one of the best steaks I've had in a long, long while. Fab chips too. Great atmosphere - the loos are worth a visit, complete with atmospheric, Victorian England style vibe and lighting! Came back later on for a drink... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gareth H
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2016

The Bonneville was booked for 10 of is, and we were made to feel very special by the great staff. we had booked the Christmas menu, very reasonable at £30 pp. The cocktail included to start with, was simply delicious, with chestnut cream base and a few other alcoholic additions - good way to get going! We all had the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter L
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

First off, the atmosphere in this place is great; all low lighting, mood music, a beautifully stocked bar, and with bathrooms downstairs that transport you back to Victorian London. However I was disappointed by the food, which I really shouldn't have been considering how expensive it was. The fish was well presented but was dry, lacked flavour and simply wasn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank DJBobH
Exeter
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2016

Dropped in there a few times recently on Sunday afternoons, and either for drinks or for food it's a real treat. Bar staff are just great, v nice menus for brunch and an all-round nice place to be.

Helpful?
Thank pjkExeter
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2016

Went to a 30th birthday at this restaurant which i used to love. More then half of the food on the menu was "sold out" and when the food arrived it was just overpriced, nothing special and just a sad sad experience. I'm so disappointed I don´t even know what to say.

Helpful?
Thank Magnus H
Sarah B, Owner at The Bonneville, responded to this review

Firstly let me say how sorry we are that you had a disappointing experience at The Bonneville. As we have a daily changing menu of fresh ingredients and dont have freezers full of food, there will be occasions where we sell out of certain dishes. However your feedback, and your feeling that the food you received was over priced is... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Visited on a Saturday night. Was a nice, gentle buzz when we arrived, and it got busier from 8pm onwards. Good selection of craft beers, continental ales and a solid wine list on offer. The pub is very nicely done out. Vaulted ceiling to the rear is very pretty, casting a nice light. Shabby/chic effect is the objective here. It... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ben G
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2016

I visited the Bonneville on Friday with my son and 2 other family members. I was charmed from the moment I walked in the premises, visually, it is quite something with its rustic decor, stained glass curved ceiling and olde worlde bar area. The staff were attentive and we were soon seated and given ample time to select from a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan C

Travellers who viewed The Bonneville also viewed

London, England
 
London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to The Bonneville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$7 - US$19
Cuisine
Grill, French, Bar
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 00:00
Monday
17:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
17:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
17:00 - 00:00
Thursday
17:00 - 01:00
Friday
17:00 - 01:00
Saturday
17:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 43 Lower Clapton Road, London E5 0PQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London
  • Phone Number: +44 20 8533 3301
Description
The Bonneville Tavern brings a French-Belgian beer-hall to a Victorian pub in East London. Serving up delicious twists on classic Belgian dishes, best of Belgian and local Hackney beers and some of the best late-night cocktails you'll find anywhere in London. The Bonneville Tavern mixes Belgian roots with local suppliers to create a unique mix on the all-new menus.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Bonneville staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?