We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Caravaggio

Reserve a Table
Bookatable

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2016 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

About
Formally opened by Luciano Pavarotti in 1996, Caravaggio was created in homage to a key genius of the Italian Renaissance, serving a menu that brings together dishes from various regions of Italy and its islands. Inside a former bank, all that remains of the original interior is the ornate high ceiling, with its splendid Art Deco light fittings. A gallery runs around the room at mezzanine level, providing a second tier of tables. A long, marble topped bar by the entrance provides a convenient holding area for what is, at lunch times, a very busy dining room.
PRICE RANGE
US$26 - US$40
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Italian, European
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
31
52
38
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
31
52
38
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews risotto parma ham tiramisu tuna bread potatoes main course italian wines indifferent service set menu quick service food was lovely leadenhall mains diners
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A few people had recommended this as a good restaurant so suggested it for our team lunch. There were 6 of us and we were all impressed by the building which is very well maintained - though a bit dated - and in a great...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank MartinD09
Caravaggio E, Manager at Caravaggio, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Comments re the food are in the main complimentary. Re the pasta this is not normally served piping hot but then again it should not be cold. The cheese should have been served with selection of breads which if not supplied we can only apologise...More

Reviewed 7 December 2018 via mobile

After dining several times at Caravaggio I dined on Wednesday 5th December for a client lunch and was so disappointed with the experience. I’m not one to send long rants but to summarise 1. Service was incredibly slow 2. The incorrect starters were put on...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank SiWeaver
Caravaggio E, Owner at Caravaggio, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2018

Would like to apologise to this client for not receiving the service that we normally give. It is not an excuse but I should mention that we were rammed with christmas parties and of course sods law being the case we had two waiting staff...More

Reviewed 28 November 2018

In London for business and attended this restaurant with my wife. We had asked the concierge at Doubletree Tower Hill for a recommendation and he volunteered that he was Italian and knew the right place. Given his heritage I believed him. Restaurant not very busy...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank TruReviewAncaster598
Caravaggio E, Manager at Caravaggio, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2018

Regret that I find this an extremely odd review from this Canadian couple, especially as we have never had a negative review from the Double Tree Hotel. If the table of men were loud it was not at such a level that we noticed. But...More

Reviewed 22 October 2018

I met a friend for an early evening meal and we ordered from the Set Menu. I had a beetroot and goats cheese starter, followed by a chicken dish, then a chocolate dessert. The food was all very tasty and well cooked, with reasonable portion...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank KarenTTSO
Caravaggio E, Manager at Caravaggio, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2018

Staff greatly appreciate this customers review and the fact that she took the trouble to post. Thank you

Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

Our meal started well - we ordered our main course and dessert and settled down to enjoy our Prosecco. The mains arrived and they were lovely - beautifully cooked and presented. We then waited a long time for our desserts. We reminded the staff and...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 88racheln
Caravaggio E, Manager at Caravaggio, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2018

Have to apologise for this customer re the problenm with deserts as he is quite right. On busy day our patrsy chef was off with flu. As seems to happen this day we sold a grwat number of deserts which led to the delay and...More

Reviewed 27 September 2018

Lunch is usually good, but a recent visit for dinner was disappointing despite quick service from charming staff. Arriving early at 6.30 pm in half empty restaurant, the announced unavailability of some dishes suggested that dinner comprises what's left after lunch. Italian ice cream to...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank asabutton
Caravaggio E, Manager at Caravaggio, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Whilst we appreciate reviews which help us to improve we also have to respond to comments made. Our menu and specials are quite extensive. As we strive to only sell the freshest produce this does mean that on occassion some items are not available,,, this...More

Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

Located between the city and Eastern part of London , this Italian based restaurant offers excellent food and better service. The main area has large windows and the place is light and airy. There is s mezzanine area to dine also. Not to packed with...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 12JohnB
Caravaggio E, Manager at Caravaggio, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2018

Appreciate when a customer finds the time to post a comprehensive review. It is refreshing to actually have such comments made. Thank you and hopefully we can continue to please you on a return visit

Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Really good food, excellent customer service and too much food! Wonderful wines and we’re gonna back to try the desserts

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank BrunoAmici
Caravaggio E, Manager at Caravaggio, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2018

What we always try to achieve good food and service. It is not always possible to succeed but great to hear that we did on this occassion

Reviewed 23 August 2018 via mobile

Last visited about 8 years ago and nothing much has changed apart from the food being more average. Restaurant needs a spruce up, only one table occupied when we arrived on the off chance that we would get one - should have realised. My colleagues...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 673virginiak
Caravaggio E, Manager at Caravaggio, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2018

Sarcasm aside it would appear that the lady came in the evening,maybe even Monday when it is quite. But then come lunchtimes in the city it is a different story. Also please be specific as we do not have a meat ragu or a bolognese...More

Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

Booked this last minute when I discovered that children were not permitted to eat at the Gherkin! Glad to have found this instead. Great hospitality on arrival and good service throughout. Excellent value 3 course lunch deal with good wine included. Really enjoyed it and...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Firankine
Caravaggio E, Manager at Caravaggio, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2018

Appreciate the comment re hospitalit. But even more so pointing out the value and quality of our set menu. Thank you

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Caravaggio staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing