We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#3,196 of 15,109 Restaurants in London
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£8 - £26
CUISINES
British, Bar, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (1,171)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
1,070 results
Traveller rating
371
254
155
140
150
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
371
254
155
140
150
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whitebait bangers and mash lamb cutty sark great pub canary wharf sunday lunch thames
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

A fantastic looking period pub on the river at Greenwich. A good selection of real ale on draft and the food menu just about had enough variety. A busy sunny Saturday afternoon meant getting served at the bar was a bit of an issue. The...promised waiter failed to turn up outside to take our order but only a few of us wanted to eat. In the spirit of if Mohamed won't come to the mountain I ordered food at the bar. The food was good. The highlight is the location, a drizzly morning turned into a sunny afternoon, the outside seating and cool breeze from the river gave us a great place to chill out. I would have given a higher rating if the staff were a bit more attentive !More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trafalgar Tavern, Marketing at Trafalgar Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and found our selection of real ales and food menu to your liking. We apologise for the inconvenience you experienced with the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

This has changed since ur last visit 15 years ago. They have lightened the decor and have a dining room that was not there previously. The location is still great - you can watch the river traffic - and the food was good pub food...with great service. It is worth the 3 minute walk from the dock to eat here.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trafalgar Tavern, Marketing at Trafalgar Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear guest Thank you for your lovely review and feedback. Great to hear you enjoyed your visit to the Trafalgar Tavern and we hope to see you again soon. Many thanks, The Trafalgar Tavern Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Aweful experience with Sunday roast. The pros: food arrived super fast Good menu variety The cons: Chaotic service Dirty tables Food was extremely bland. Most definitely the most disappointing Sunday Roasts we ever had (our group is a big fan of Sunday roasts and constantly...looking for new places to try) Chefs potentially forgot they can add some salt & pepper at very least. I dont like salty food at all, however this wasn’t just under flavoured, but rather not even tried to add a flavour. When the best part of your roast is cabbage - you should really worry. Horseradish tasted like sourcream/mayo with a pinch of actual horseradish. Pathetic portion of Eton mess. Never seen anything like it in my entire career in F&B Brownie - you could lift it and throw at someone, most likely it would knock them out. Left disappointed. We used to visit for lunch when in Greenwich but doubtful would be willing to return.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trafalgar Tavern, Marketing at Trafalgar Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear guest Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent Sunday roast experience. We're genuinely sorry to hear that your visit did not meet your expectations and wasn't of our usual high standards. We appreciate your acknowledgment of the prompt service and the variety...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ive eaten here a couple of times over the yrs and today was pretty good. I had the monster sized cod with chips which in all honesty your not getting better. My wife had a toastie which looked great and she said was very good.... The fire was roaring today and at 1 on a Tuesday was quite busy but felt not rushed nice service behind the bar and served prompt. I do read reviews from others saying about table service and this is the facts ,its a proper Old historic london pub and ordering at the bar is normal . If your rocking in here on a weekend its going to be busy but it was good food and good ambiance and they were playing the The Smiths at 1 pm on a Tuesday but most were head down in there phones missing the views and the inside of a proper pubMore

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trafalgar Tavern, Marketing at Trafalgar Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Mark Thank you for your lovely review and feedback. We are so pleased to hear you and your wife enjoyed your visit to the Trafalgar Tavern and we appreciate all your positive comments and recommendation. We look forward to seeing you both the next...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Trafalgar Tavern in Greenwich looked so appealing online, and indeed it looked very appealing in person. Great location, nice decor... but it fell apart once my family and I were seated. Turns out that there is no table service if you're sitting in the...bar (no distinction was made when I booked my table), so I ended up standing at the bar to order our food for about 20 minutes. The bar is understaffed and disorganized. While I was waiting to order, someone came around to our table - I got excited for a minute and thought maybe they would take our order, but no. They informed my wife that there another party coming for our table and that we'd have to eat up and leave. The funniest part about that was that the other party wasn't due for 3 hours! So why even bother to tell us? I will tell you that the food did come out promptly and was very good, so Trafalgar redeemed itself somewhat. Overall a very poor experience. I'd recommend having a drink there and going elsewhere for your meal.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trafalgar Tavern, Marketing at Trafalgar Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We deeply regret that our service fell short of your expectations, and we understand the frustration caused by the lack of clarity regarding table service in the bar area. We apologise...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although I have passed this pub many times have never been in but my friend had. We had lunch in the restaurant and, not having the biggest appetite, was relieved and delighted to see smaller, imaginative plates of food. I had the mushrooms on toast...and my friend the sausages and mash, washed down with a bottle of wine. Delighted with the experience and coming back with my husband and friend soon. A most pleasant experience.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trafalgar Tavern, Marketing at Trafalgar Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest Thank you for your wonderful review and feedback. Great to hear you and your friend enjoyed your lunch with us. We look forward to seeing you when you return with your husband. Many thanks, The Trafalgar Tavern Team

Reviewed 13 April 2024

Had the fish board. Really tried hard as I hate wasted food but the herring was ugh. The board included slimy smoked salmon without a hint of even a lemon wedge. Its a weekend and we were casually dressed and immediately referred to the self...service part of the pub. Not even given the choice. Would not recommend wish I'd gone to a Wetherspoon!More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trafalgar Tavern, Marketing at Trafalgar Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest Thank you for your review though we are sorry to hear your meal wasn't up to our normal high standards. We are investigating this with the kitchen team. Just to note unless the restaurant is fully booked all our guests are welcome to...More

Reviewed 2 April 2024

My sons and I booked for the 'pub' at the Tavern. It was very busy as it was Easter Sunday...but it was extremely efficient, my son ordered at the bar and by the time he got back to the table our lovely roast lunches were...arriving! Great lunch, good value and a wonderful view of the River Thames.....what more could you want? I had had my wedding reception upstairs at the Trafalgar some fifty years previously....it's still a great venue!More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trafalgar Tavern, Marketing at Trafalgar Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2024

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Wonderful to hear you enjoyed your lunch with us on Easter Sunday and we really appreciate your lovely feedback. And how fabulous to hear you celebrated your wedding at the Trafalgar Tavern!...More

Reviewed 1 April 2024

Great location. Food awful. No coffee upstairs. Staff useless and not trained in hospitality. Toilets needed a clean. Would not go again.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trafalgar Tavern, Marketing at Trafalgar Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2024

Hi there Thank you for your review though we're genuinely sorry to hear about your disappointing. We always strive to provide a top-notch experience for our guests, and it's disheartening to learn that we fell short during your visit. We appreciate your feedback regarding the...More

Reviewed 27 March 2024

Not a pub to go to if you are gluten and dairy intolerant. The ONLY item on the menu I could eat was the soup and this came without bread. I went there for a meal and left hungry. Gluten and dairy are the two...most common allergies/intolerances. I couldn't even have chips because they were cooked in the same fat as everything else.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trafalgar Tavern, Marketing at Trafalgar Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2024

Hi there Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us though we are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced during your recent visit to our pub. We strive to accommodate all dietary needs and understand the importance of catering to various...More

Reviewed 26 March 2024

I visited Trafalgar Tavern on Sunday 24th April for lunch with four guests. It was very busy lunch time. The service was excellent and staff approachable and helpful. The food was excellent and as first time visit my guests were very impressed. The setting is...so magnificent, with artifacts and paintings everywhere mainly with Nelson and Battle of Trafalgar theme. The view of River Thames, Docklands and Canary Wharf is fabulous. I can strongly recommend Trafalgar Tavern to anyone who are planning to visit Greenwich. Muhsin MMore

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trafalgar Tavern, Marketing at Trafalgar Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2024

Hi Muhsin, Thank you for your lovely review and feedback. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit to the Trafalgar Tavern and hope to see you again soon. All the best, the Trafalgar Tavern team

Reviewed 24 March 2024

Came here for Sunday lunch today. We were early but staff were lovely and we had a great table with amazing 02 views across the river. Beautiful venue and location. Ordered the lamb shoulder. It melted in your mouth. The entire plate was yum! My...friend had the choc brownie dessert and I had apple crumble. Lovely finish to a delicious lunch. Highly recommend!More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trafalgar Tavern, Marketing at Trafalgar Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2024

Hi Julie, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a such a glowing review. Great to read your lovely feedback and we really appreciate your recommendation. We hope to see you again soon! All the best, the Trafalgar Tavern team

Reviewed 19 March 2024

I have been frequenting the Trafalgar Tavern (the pub part) as a local for years. The amazing views and the atmosphere at quiet times are lovely, despite the staff tending to be quite unfriendly and robotic. I have recently had a special occasion dinner at...the Nile Restaurant. The interior is truly amazing for the views of the Thames and the incredible collection of paintings. Unfortunately, while the setting was genuinely beautiful, the food and the staff left much to desire. Only 2 out of five main courses (the ox tounge and the baked cod) were worth the prices charged; the rest was of cantine style quality: fish and chips was greasy, the veggie burger had a cardboard feel to it, and the cordon bleu was leathery with no cheese inside (you get better cordon bleus from a supermarket freezer!). Added to this was a somewhat baffling service, with a young waitress addressing everyone (some of us could have been her grandparents) in turn as "deary" as if in a greasy spoon caf. The level of attention delivered was minimal and lacked any trace of positivity: e.g. we had to move used glasses to another table and re-arrange the table ourselves to make space for incoming plates. We generally felt as if the staff were doing us a favour by attending to us at all. So whilst the place is truly worth a visit for its own historic sake and the setting, the restaurant is not worth the money for the food and the grumpy and badly trained staff.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trafalgar Tavern, Marketing at Trafalgar Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2024

Dear guest Thank you for your review though we are sincerely apologetic for the poor experience on your last visit. This is not our normal level of service and we are deeply sorry. We would appreciate the opportunity to make this right and hope to...More

Reviewed 2 March 2024 via mobile

£44 for 4 drinks! 2 pints and 2 white wines. The Sav Blanc wine was undrinkable. Vinegar. Staff wouldn't change it. Great spot but terribly over priced.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trafalgar Tavern, Marketing at Trafalgar Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

Hi Sarah, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We sincerely apologise that your experience did not meet your expectations, particularly concerning the value and quality of the drinks you ordered. Hearing that you found the Sauvignon Blanc unsatisfactory is...More

Reviewed 19 February 2024

A nice pub with great food! We were able to get a table near the window/water, which made our visit better. The ambiance of the pub was also great! It has a nice classic and nautical pub vibe. The outside is also very cute.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trafalgar Tavern, Marketing at Trafalgar Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2024

Hi Stephanie, Thank you for your lovely review! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit, especially your table near the window with views of the water. It's wonderful to know that the ambiance of our pub, with its classic and nautical vibe, contributed...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Greenwich
Greenwich Mean Time starts here, so to speak, as the
very concept of global time was established at Royal
Observatory, just one of several buildings of
architectural interest in Greenwich. Indeed, the whole
of Greenwich's historic town center, its Royal Park
and a number of related buildings (and one world
famous ship, the Cutty Sark) make up the UNESCO World
Heritage site known as Maritime Greenwich. Today a
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
ibis London Greenwich
1,556 reviews
.40 miles away
Novotel London Greenwich
2,725 reviews
.62 miles away
Travelodge London Greenwich High Road
2,115 reviews
.69 miles away
Zedwell Greenwich
39 reviews
.72 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Midpoint Restaurant
822 reviews
.18 miles away
The Plume of Feathers
358 reviews
.23 miles away
Zaibatsu
855 reviews
.25 miles away
The Old Brewery
1,124 reviews
.21 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
National Maritime Museum
2,340 reviews
.25 miles away
Greenwich Market
1,774 reviews
.30 miles away
Cutty Sark
3,367 reviews
.26 miles away
Greenwich Foot Tunnel
533 reviews
.24 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
rebecca a
21 May 2023|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from AnaPiussi | Reviewed this property |
No cash. Most of places around it is just cards
0
Votes
Frmow
15 January 2022|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Trafalgar T | Property representative |
Hi! Yes indeed it is dog friendly :-)
0
Votes
787vivianr
13 May 2021|
Answer
Response from W6389FSheidim | Reviewed this property |
Yes
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

TRAFALGAR TAVERN, London - Greenwich - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Trafalgar Tavern

Yes, Trafalgar Tavern is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Trafalgar Tavern is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3
  • Atmosphere: 3.5