We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Montagu

30 Portman Square | Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill, London W1H 7BH, England
+44 20 7299 2037
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good28%
  • Average6%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (32 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
European, British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
££££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
30 Portman Square | Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill, London W1H 7BH, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 160 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

The dining room is so open plan than I am surprised the toilets even have doors - its not a kitchen behind glass, but a kitchen so 'in your face' that instead of thinking that there is magic happening in the kitchen, you can see...More

Thank Callan A
Carlos V, Manager at The Montagu, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your visit in The Montagu. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy breakfast experience and our Restaurant layout as an open kitchen. We offer a buffet option and A la Carte,...More

Reviewed 2 November 2013

My daughter's birthday fell on a Sunday,which was perfect excuse for the Champagne Brunch at the Montagu. A wide selection of buffet food allows you to construct a delightfully tasting X number of course meal from starters to desert plus having an extra breakfast in...More

Thank Andrzej116
Carlos V, Manager at The Montagu, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

It was a great pleasure to read your review following your Sunday Brunch experience with us. Thank you so much for all your kind comments which I have shared with all the team. We were delighted that you enjoyed our food, champagne and attentive service....More

Reviewed 31 October 2013

My husband stayed at the Churchill over 35 years ago. Much updated but a lovely place to relax with a predinner cocktail.More

Thank Beth K
Carlos V, Manager at The Montagu, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback and it is a pleasure that you have visited the Montagu after many years again. We are delighted that you enjoyed our pre-dinner cocktails, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Montagu soon. I...More

Reviewed 21 October 2013

Very enjoyable experience at the Hyatt Regency for Afternoon Tea. The staff were friendly, attentive and informative. All of the food was amazing quality. Very reasonably priced. Nothing negative to say.More

Thank Nilusha M
Carlos V, Manager at The Montagu, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you very much for your very nice feedback. I have already shared all the comments with the team, and we are delighted that you had the opportunity to enjoy our Afternoon Tea service. We are looking forward to welcoming you back inThe Montagu again...More

Reviewed 17 September 2013

I met up with an old friend over from Oz here last week and we had a top table 3 courses and a bottle of wine deal for £25 each. The dishes that were part of the deal were marked on the main menu and...More

1  Thank 283Tanga283
Carlos V, Manager at The Montagu, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Thank you very much for your very good feedback. We have already shared all the comments with the team, and we are delighted that you had the opportunity enjoy our good value set menu and that you found the selection of dishes to be excellent....More

Reviewed 16 September 2013

The restaurant we found was over priced for a couple of sandwiches where the bread was stale. I would recommend many great places to eat in the area but perhaps give this a miss. When we arrived it was about 10 or 1030 pm and...More

Thank JohnSunderlandUk
Carlos V, Manager at The Montagu, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent meal on The Montagu. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your sandwiches, and the location of your table. I have addressed your comments with our Executive Chef and...More

Reviewed 12 September 2013

This is a few minutes walk from Thistle Marble Arch Hotel. When we arrived mid evening I thought it would be far too expensive to eat here. However, as it was a balmy evening we got a table outside in a lovely private courtyard. Waiter...More

Thank Jaydee231
Carlos V, Manager at The Montagu, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Thank you very much for your excellent feedback which I have shared with the team. We are delighted that you enjoyed our food and service, and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back at The Montagu again soon. With kind regards, Carlos...More

Reviewed 7 September 2013

We ate here on a Saturday evening as part of a long weekend in London. Service was excellent. Attentive but not over the top. We chose from the excellent value 2/3 courses for £20/£25. All our courses were very good - my 12 hour cooked...More

Thank DavetheDrum
Carlos V, Manager at The Montagu, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback and for your visit last Saturday. Thank you very much for all your positive comments which I have shared with the team. We are very pleased that you found our service excellent and that you enjoyed the food....More

Reviewed 20 August 2013

We went for lunch with the special offer of 2 course and 1/2 bottle of wine. It's a bargain for hotel restaurant in the West End. The food could be better but not bad at all i.e the chicken seemed to be precooked and was...More

Thank Kitty180
Carlos V, Manager at The Montagu, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review following your lunch with us. I am very happy to hear that you have found our service good and attentive and I have shared your comments on the dishes with our Chefs. We do hope you had...More

Reviewed 10 August 2013

After a river cruise and doing touristy things in London, afternoon tea at The Churchill was a welcome break. I booked direct with the hotel and upon arrival everything was in order. We arrived early but this was not a problem, were promtly seated at...More

Thank 1066country1963
Carlos V, Manager at The Montagu, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

It was with great pleasure that I read your review following your Afternoon Tea with us. Thank you so much for all your kind comments which I have shared with all the team. We were delighted that you enjoyed our sandwiches and particularly the warm...More

Nearby
Marylebone
Marylebone offers what so many London neighbourhoods
cannot: a village feel coupled with urban convenience.
Much of its success rests in its location. Wedged
between the northeastern corner of Hyde Park and the
southern end of Regent's Park and with a number of
Tube stations within easy reach, Marylebone is as
pedestrian friendly as Central London gets. The
bustling shopping mecca of Oxford Street separates it
...More
Nearby Restaurants
Texture
690 reviews
.07 miles away
Three Tuns
443 reviews
.08 miles away
Locanda Locatelli
1,080 reviews
.04 miles away
The Grazing Goat
1,048 reviews
.06 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Marble Arch
442 reviews
.16 miles away
Hertford House
17 reviews
.20 miles away
The Sportsman Casino
10 reviews
.09 miles away
Grosvenor Casino Barracuda, London
9 reviews
.12 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
RebeckSian
20 October 2016|
Answer
Response from sheila f | Reviewed this property |
Hi we went for the champagne brunch which includes wine, so I never looked at price list, best ask them to email you their drinks menu
0
Votes
Lizzie dripping s
14 April 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from LisaO1974 | Reviewed this property |
I would say it is, there is space among the tables if you need wheelchair access and the restaurant is all one level. they are incredibly helpful so I would call them if you have specific needs.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$103
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
07:00 - 23:00
Monday
06:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
06:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
06:30 - 23:00
Thursday
06:30 - 23:00
Friday
06:30 - 23:00
Saturday
07:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 30 Portman Square | Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill, London W1H 7BH, England
  • Public Transportation: We are 2 minutes walk from Marble Arch - Central Line and 5 minutes walk from Bond Street - Jubilee Line. There are many buses close by as we are 2 minutes walk from Oxford Street.
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > Marylebone
  • Neighbourhood: Marylebone
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7299 2037
  • E-mail
  • This restaurant is at Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill
Description
Offering views over Portman Square, The Montagu provides a vibrant setting for breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea, dinner and weekend brunch, with live music offered during dinner and weekend brunch. With its striking open kitchen and Chef's Table from which guests can enjoy front-row seats to the kitchen, this buzzing restaurant offers a wide range of British and European dishes prepared using only the finest seasonal ingredient. Emerging from established relationships between the restaurant and local, award-winning suppliers and independent British farms, The Montagu has been able to carefully select an array of vibrant seasonal ingredients, in order to craft a series of sumptuous dishes for the new summer menu. A full à la carte menu is offered alongside a set menu for lunch Monday to Friday and for daily dinner. The set menu is priced at £25 for two courses and £30 for three courses.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing