We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Piano Works

££ - £££
Neighbourhood:
Clerkenwell
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
113-117 Farringdon Road | Entrance on the Corner of Ray Street, London EC1R 3BX, England
+44 20 7278 1966
Website
Today
17:00 - 01:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 17:00 - 01:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

272 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 265: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It all started pretty bad with our initial table booking being canceled, 2 days later because they made a mistake and didn't have any table left (we should have stopped there really I know). But we really liked the concept initially and the music and we had been a few times last year and had a great time. But that... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Clelia_SC
379nicola, Manager at The Piano Works, responded to this review

Hi Clelia_SC. Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. Please can you get in touch and send through your booking confirmation so that I can investigate further? Best wishes, Nicola (nicola@pianoworks.bar) More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

First off let me just say I'm super impressed with the service and the fact they now have vegan food options. All my food requirements were catered too and the staff were great. What I'm not happy with is the food. The fact a stuffed butternut squash on the 3 course option menu costs the same as those getting sword... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shamone2014
379nicola, Manager at The Piano Works, responded to this review

Hi Shamone2014. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We offer a set menu to parties who dine with us. Our meals are not individually priced and guests have the option to order 2 or 3 courses. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal. Our kitchen prepare the cous cous with raisins,... More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Not a live music venue before 7. Despite what the website says about being a non stop live music venue the stage is empty before 7. So if you book an early table all you end up with is a below par restaurant with a limited menu. It might be great after 7, but I won't be going back to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gareth W
379nicola, Manager at The Piano Works, responded to this review

Hi Gareth. Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. As listed on the book now page on our website, our live music starts at 7pm everyday and we can assure you that once it starts it does not stop! Our dinner tables are available at 5pm and 7pm and I would be happy to book you... More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I went to The Piano Works with my friend whilst on business in London. We were greeted with such a warm reception then when being seated we were upgraded to a VIP booth as one was still available that night. We had a fantastic view of the stage and all the performers. Hannah looked after us throughout the evening and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ruth T
379nicola, Manager at The Piano Works, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you so much for your feedback Ruth. We will be sure to pass on your amazing comments to the team and we look forward to welcoming you to the house of song again in the future. Best wishes, Nicola More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The worst thing I can say about this bar is that it's so busy however that's because it's such a fantastic night out! Music is fab cocktails are delicious throw in some mini burgers and the incredible musicians and dance the night away. Staff were great especially doormen (utterly charming) be back soon

Helpful?
Thank lynsey1605
379nicola, Manager at The Piano Works, responded to this review

Dear Lynsey. Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are so glad to hear you had an amazing night. Please let us know when you will be visiting again and we will book you a table. Best wishes, Nicola More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Firstly i think it can be confusing what this place actually is. It attracts a large crowd with queues outside the door on a Friday and Saturday so i'm thinking that the people who are visiting want to be in a busy bar, with a moderate entertainment factor, but aren't really caring for the music. This place is a definiate... More 

Helpful?
Thank Soyandcurry
379nicola, Manager at The Piano Works, responded to this review

Dear Soyaandcurry. Sorry to hear that you had a disappointing visit. We do not market ourselves as being a cozy or romantic venue. Thursday to Saturday we are very much a party venue that caters for pre wedding parties, birthday celebrations and peoples big monthly night out. If you are looking for a more intimate evening Monday, Tuesday or Wednesday... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We really loved the concept of the place so we went for a friend's birthday. It was mid week with less crowd. The place is very beautiful although can be hard to see the band playing when seating in the sofas. BUT!!.. the chances of the song/s you picked being played is very small (even with a small crowd mid... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gigi S
379nicola, Manager at The Piano Works, responded to this review

Dear GiGi. Thank you for your comments. It is very strange to hear this kind of feedback about our musicians. Even on the quieter nights the musicians are inundated by requests and the repertoire is decided by your fellow guests and not something we control. A handy tip is to leave even a £1 tip on your request it will... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked a table at the Piano Works for my birthday and was blown away by the service and atmosphere of the place! We had our own booth where we could chill if we wanted but was close enough to the dancefloor and band to party the night away. The coctails are amazing, I don't say this lightly, but best... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hannah B
379nicola, Manager at The Piano Works, responded to this review

Dear Hannah. Thank you for taking the time to send your feedback. We are so glad to hear that you had an amazing visit. Please let us know when you would like to visit again and we will get you booked in. Best wishes, Nicola More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I arrived at 8.15pm expecting that this would be enough time to get in before the 9pm deadline for paying entry. Unfortunately I ended up queuing for over an hour and unsurprisingly this was not a great start to the evening in the January cold. I managed to join some friends in the queue but other members of our party... More 

Helpful?
Thank LivelyTiger
379nicola, Manager at The Piano Works, responded to this review

Dear LivelyTiger. Thank you for taking the time to send through your feedback. We are sorry that your experience was disappointing. Can you please get in touch on hello@pianoworks.bar to give us an accurate description of who you dealt with on the night and if your group paid full or half price for a finish as it is not clear... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was my first time at the Piano Works and I had booked an area for my birthday. There was a slight hiccup on arrival as there was a miscommunication between the staff and I was told that I hadn't booked. The gentleman looking after our table apologised and offered us a free bottle of Prosecco-which we never got, which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Louise E
379nicola, Manager at The Piano Works, responded to this review

Dear Louise. Thank you for your constructive criticism. We do work very hard to deliver a great standard of service, sadly sometimes we can get it wrong. We have taken on board all of your points and your feedback will be fed back to our teams. We are sorry you didn't get your prosecco however we would be delighted to... More 

Travellers who viewed The Piano Works also viewed

 

Been to The Piano Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$15 - US$22
Cuisine
Bar, British, American
Meals
Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover
Good for
Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
17:00 - 01:00
Monday
17:00 - 01:00
Tuesday
17:00 - 01:00
Wednesday
17:00 - 01:00
Thursday
17:00 - 01:00
Friday
17:00 - 01:00
Saturday
17:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 113-117 Farringdon Road | Entrance on the Corner of Ray Street, London EC1R 3BX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > Clerkenwell
  • Neighbourhood: Clerkenwell
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7278 1966
Description
Live musicians take you back to a time when you sang and danced for the sheer joy of it. The Piano Works is a Victorian listed warehouse in the heart of Farringdon. We are a 400 capacity, live music venue, open late 7 nights a week. Part party, part bar, part restaurant, part concert - where the live musicians only play what you request. The repertoire is decided by the audience in the House of Song. Drink - Classically strange Sing - Blow the roof off Eat - Hand made in the House of Song Dance - If you want to Tip - A human juke box

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Piano Works and other visitors
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Piano Works staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Clerkenwell

Neighbourhood Profile
Clerkenwell
Owing to its proximity to Smithfield Market – the site of an ancient meat market which remains in operation today – Clerkenwell boasts a plethora of globally renowned restaurants, fabulous local eateries, and some of London's favorite pubs. This isn't merely a focal point for all things foodie though. Spend enough time wondering through the area's maze of streets and you might become accustomed to the litany of slinky models passing between Clerkenwell's handful of fashion houses. Far outnumbering the models are craftspeople and designers, many of them are more than happy to welcome visitors into their studios and showrooms.
Explore this neighbourhood