We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Founder's Arms

#4,143 of 18,788 Restaurants in London
££ - £££, British,
52 Hopton Street | Bankside, London SE1 9JH, England
+44 20 7928 1899
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good43%
  • Average16%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“fries” (12 reviews)
“beef” (10 reviews)
Open Now
09:00 - 23:00 Hours
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
££ - £££
52 Hopton Street | Bankside, London SE1 9JH, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,060)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 876 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

The matinee started at 3pm so we had a great Sunday Roast sat outside. The food, drinks and service were all slick and you don’t get better entertainment than watching the life on the Thames pass you by. We’re booked in again on Saturday evening.

Thank Jinglish
Reviewed yesterday

Whenever we are in London & visiting Tate Modern, we always pop in here. Sometimes it’s just for drinks, sometimes we eat too. I can honestly say that, we have never had a poor meal & the waiting staff have always been good. Our food...More

Thank ArchieK1
Reviewed 4 days ago

always busy and a decent pub with gastro type food on the south banks of the river thames . not got much character and not a cheap pub but it has a good location and has decent beer and food , try the real ale...More

Thank ptrabant
FoundersArms, Manager at The Founder's Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Ptrabant. Thank you for the 4 star review! We hope to see you soon.

Reviewed 4 days ago

Stopped here for lunch before going to the Tate Modern. The location on the Thames is superb for the river views, people watching and access to the Tate. The food is fine, solid and unspectacular, but the service was really poor. Slow, unobservant bartenders, who...More

Thank Deborah K
FoundersArms, General Manager at The Founder's Arms, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Deborah, Thanks for taking the time to review us. I'm so sorry to hear about your experience with us. If you get a moment, we'd really appreciate it if you could send us a little more information so that we can investigate the matter:...More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Went there on a Saturday last week, customer relations not there strong point & despite stating catering for dietary requirements they appear to neglect from regular tastes like putting butter on a sandwich piss poor average at best .... nice ale but manager a ar#%...More

Thank chels1970
Reviewed 1 week ago

While the riverside views and atmosphere are very nice, the bar service was very disorganised indeed. One should not have to wait at the bar for ten minutes in order to be served two lukewarm half pints of Camden Pale Ale costing 3 pounds each...More

Thank Alex B
Founders A, Manager at The Founder's Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Alex, We're sorry you feel this way. As you mentioned, the views especially are what attract a lot of people to our pub therefore we can at times get very busy. Our bar team are allocated specific spaces behind the bar to ensure they...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited Founder’s Arms for dinner and drinks. Th service was excellent, the beer selection was terrific, the wine was good too. We had the cod and chips, yummy. Lentil soup was really good. My friend was suddenly taken ill enough it was necessary for...More

Thank Ric P
Founders A, Manager at The Founder's Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Ric Thanks for the 5 star review and lovely comments, we were, of course, more than happy to be of assistance. Hope your friend is feeling better and see you again soon! Team Founders

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stood at the bar for 15 minutes waiting for a drink and watched the staff serving loads of people that came in after me. Asked the barman if I would get served quicker if I stood somewhere else.he said no.When I got tired of patiently...More

Thank Susie D
FoundersArms, General Manager at The Founder's Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Susie, Thanks for taking the time to review us. I'm so sorry to hear about the experience you had with us. The team are given allocated areas of the bar to serve in and it sounds as though the team you interacted with did...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Full stars for view and location. I had the fish salad special which was really tasty. Wine was average. They lost a star due to poor service. We had to ask several times if we could order food, plus had to request water three times...More

Thank Saskia-Irene
FoundersArms, General Manager at The Founder's Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Saskia-Irene, Thanks for taking the time to review us. It's great to hear you enjoyed your meal and the views. However, I'm so sorry you received disappointing service and that the wine you had did not meet your expectations. If you were seated in...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Food was OK. Nothing to write home about.. had the sharing ploughmans.Good sized portion but not enough variety. Pork pie, scotch egg, two bits of cheese, loads of bread, cornichons,branston. Service was OK but not overly friendly. Drinks expensive, even for London. Wouldn't rush back.More

Thank Triffel
FoundersArms, General Manager at The Founder's Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, Thanks for reviewing us. I'm sorry you were disappointed with our Ploughman's. We do have a full description of this on our menu, so I'm sorry if this was in any way misleading. I'm very disappointed to hear that the service you received wasn't...More

Even before the arrival of the instantly iconic Shard,
the riverside scene in Southwark had moved well beyond
any up-and-coming phase of development. For quite some
time, locals and out-of-towners alike have loved
browsing the boutiques of Bermondsey High Street,
foraging through the bounteous stalls at centuries old
foodie haven Borough Market, and flocking to the banks
of the Thames to enjoy some of Britain's biggest
Nearby HotelsSee all 1,085 hotels in London
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
1,159 reviews
.17 miles away
The Mad Hatter Hotel
1,408 reviews
.18 miles away
LSE Bankside House
604 reviews
.19 miles away
Hilton London Bankside
2,200 reviews
.21 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
tibits bankside
119 reviews
.16 miles away
Frank's Cafe
101 reviews
.16 miles away
114 reviews
.15 miles away
Doggett's Coat and Badge
719 reviews
.14 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Shakespeare's Globe Theatre
7,814 reviews
.23 miles away
109 reviews
.09 miles away
Tate Modern
9,030 reviews
.10 miles away
76 reviews
.22 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
2 August 2017|
Response from es-travler | Reviewed this property |
Clearly annoying, you do know that you can inform TripAdvisor yourself- go to the bottom of the information on a site.
15 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Laura F | Reviewed this property |
I have a dairy allergy - they were able to check what I could/couldn't eat. Didn't seem to have an allergy menu it was more of an in and out to the kitchen to check set up. They were accommodating to amend the dish where... More
Karen L
26 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from FoundersArms | Property representative |
Hi Karen, The roasts are part of our specials menu every Sunday so do not appear on our menu online.. but we'll always have West County roast beef and roast pork belly with all the traditional trimmings on from 12pm until... More
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$12 - US$37
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Open Hours
09:00 - 23:00
09:00 - 23:00
09:00 - 23:00
09:00 - 23:00
09:00 - 23:00
09:00 - 00:00
09:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 52 Hopton Street | Bankside, London SE1 9JH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > Southwark
  • Neighbourhood: Southwark
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7928 1899
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing