We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pied Piper

££ - £££, British,
Orchard Way | Ormesby, Middlesbrough TS7 9BZ, England
+44 1642 306201
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good17%
  • Average17%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub, Grill
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Orchard Way | Ormesby, Middlesbrough TS7 9BZ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I took my family here on Sunday and found the manager Dave to have a really bad attitude and no idea about customer service

Thank badboygood
General Manager A, Manager at The Pied Piper, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi thank you for taking the time to leave us your honest feedback.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Well well i cannot say how pleased I am with the service & attention my family & I received tonight from the staff at the Piper for my mother in laws 85th Birthday. Their attention to detail was second to none, food arrived in good...More

Thank r1828
General Manager A, Manager at The Pied Piper, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your kind words and this wonderful review! We as a team thrive to provide excellent guest experience's and I'm glad we have delivered! Regards Dave General Manager Pied Piper

Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Nice looking pud since it's refurb service was good and a good choice of food on the menus all though on our table menus were filthy covers in dryer on food. Ordering at the bar was fine after the staff member found his till key...More

Thank David Lee S
General Manager A, Manager at The Pied Piper, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

David Lee S, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We regret that you had a negative experience, and will use this as an opportunity to improve. Thank you for complimenting the new look pub we are so happy with how it looks...More

Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

First time we had visited here so can't comment on the refurbishment too much, other than it had a nice warm homely feel to the pub when entering. The food wasn't bad at all, plenty on your plates for a very reasonable price (especially the...More

Thank kevinrobinson1965
General Manager A, Manager at The Pied Piper, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave us your honest feedback.Firstly the fly situation is now under control, and my apologies for that. The skillet deal I agree isn't worded the best on the menu and could be worded better and this is...More

Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

Well once again the Piper comes up trumps👍 booked a table last night for 16 adults & 2 toddlers foxtrot oscar my son in laws birthday. From the arrival to leaving the level of service was excellent, nothing was too much trouble. The food arrived...More

Thank r1828
General Manager A, Manager at The Pied Piper, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Hi Ray, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Pied Piper. We're happy we could meet your expectations!

Reviewed 8 August 2017

Been to the pied piper three times since refurbishment really enjoyed food/drink sunday dinners are good and the place is looking well,staff are brill but my daughter wants to know were the sweet tower has gone she was gutted when we walked in and it...More

2  Thank gedcairns1965
General Manager A, Manager at The Pied Piper, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Gedcairns1965, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Pied Piper! We are glad you are regular visitors and enjoy it each time. Unfortunately we had to take the sweet tower. Hope to see you again soon. Regards Dave

Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

Refurbs good, lots more room. We visit at least once a week and have to say staff really look after us. They are busy at times but always make sure the table is clean and we are served as fast as they are able to....More

Thank Biskit17
General Manager A, Manager at The Pied Piper, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Hi Biskit17, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Pied Piper. We're happy we could meet your expectations!

Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

Newly refurbished pub, same old poor service. Asked for a table to be cleared/cleaned of other peoples food /plates full of left food so we had somewhere to sit, it took about 15 minutes to get rid of the empty glasses and plates but wiping...More

Thank howlowcanyougo
General Manager A, Manager at The Pied Piper, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Howlowcanyougo, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. Sorry you didn't have a great experience. As a team we are working hard to improve standards and deal with the increased volume effectively. As you can see from...More

Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

Travelled down for some Sunday bait. Was really busy but food was to a perfect standard really enjoyed!

Thank Risky M
General Manager A, Manager at The Pied Piper, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Thank you for your feedback Risky. Glad your travel down was worth the trip. I'll make sure to pass your kind comments onto my team. Regards Dave General Manager Pied Piper

Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

We stopped off at the Pied Piper for a quick bite to eat on a longer journey. First thing everything seemed a bit sticky, the tables, the menus - everything. We ordered our food and then waited...and waited...we enquired where the food was after 40...More

Thank Sarah L
General Manager A, Manager at The Pied Piper, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Sarah L, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. It shocks me that you feel you received poor guest service as it is something we really pride ourselves on. Glad to hear once you recieved your food it was hot and...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Costa
35 reviews
.90 miles away
Norman Conquest
144 reviews
.74 miles away
Cafe 16
6 reviews
.73 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Stewart Park
347 reviews
1.06 miles away
Basingstoke Country Hotel Spa
57 reviews
1.27 miles away
Ormesby Hall
134 reviews
1.45 miles away
Captain Cook Birthplace Museum
127 reviews
1.06 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Pied Piper staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$3 - US$25
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub, Grill
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Television, Highchairs Available, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 22:00
Monday
09:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 22:00
Thursday
09:00 - 22:00
Friday
09:00 - 22:00
Saturday
09:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Orchard Way | Ormesby, Middlesbrough TS7 9BZ, England (Formerly Sizzling Pubs)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Middlesbrough
  • Phone Number: +44 1642 306201
Description
What makes The Pied Piper such a favourite amongst pubs in Ormesby? Maybe it's the satisfying sizzle of our famous skillets, or our unbeatable value for money on food. Or it could be the infectious buzz of our friendly bar, where you'll find all your favourite drinks at fantastic prices. With the whole sizzling package, it's no wonder the people of Eston, Nunthorpe and Coulby Newham can't get enough of us.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing