We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Honingham Buck

) #60 of 651 Restaurants in Norwich ££ - £££ British, ,
29 The Street, Norwich NR9 5BL, England
+44 1603 880393
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good18%
  • Average8%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“scotch egg” (13 reviews)
“pork belly” (13 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, Gastropub, Bar, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
29 The Street, Norwich NR9 5BL, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Can't believe this place has passed us by until now. We both had Sunday roasts. The meat was beautifully cooked and the cauliflower cheese is the nicest I've had. The Yorkshires were a little crispy for my liking but that is a minor complaint. We...More

Thank PaulaNorwich_UK
Olly B, General Manager at The Honingham Buck, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Paula! We can't believe you've waited so long! We're glad you enjoyed our roast dinners, we put as much love in to them as we do all of the other dishes on our menu. I must say I did try the cauliflower cheese myself...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a lovely meal thanx ryan and the rest of the chefs food was excellent and the service was great aswell thank you kieren and ellie

Thank Paula F
Olly B, General Manager at The Honingham Buck, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Good afternoon Paula! Thank you for your repeat custom! Great to see that you keep coming back, I will pass your praise on to the kitchen team as well as the front of house team. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really disappointed by the experience we had last night. Out for a meal for our first wedding anniversary so a special occasion and a romantic meal is what we were expecting. Staff were polite friendly and welcoming. Our table wasn't ready but that we as...More

Thank Gdawg09
Olly B, General Manager at The Honingham Buck, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Good afternoon, I am very sorry that your experience with us was such a negative one, as you can see from our other reviews this is not a common occurrence. Our kitchen staff do often listen to music whilst at work, this being said this...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a pleasure it was to eat here tonight with friends - exciting menu, warm and friendly service, intimate and comfortable restaurant. Food was superb, I will visit again and soon!More

Thank Linda B
Olly B, General Manager at The Honingham Buck, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Linda! We're so glad that you had a great time with us. We try to change our menu often to keep our customers on their toes, we aim to offer something a little different and a cut above the rest. Our staff always receive...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My family and I dropped in for the beer festival and garden party and I must say it was very enjoyable. We had some lovely bbq wings and chip's. The live music was lovely the beer I got to try was well kept and very...More

Thank love hospitality 1
Olly B, General Manager at The Honingham Buck, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Good afternoon, It's great to hear such positive feedback on what was a very successful event. This is the first time we have attempted a beer festival and it was such a hit I am sure it won't be the last! We feel the musicians...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A rare find! This chef is clearly going places, passionate about food, creative and unusual menu, well thought through dishes and all beautifully presented. What a find and in a quiet village pub- unbelievable quality. Lovely surroundings, pub is smart and up-to-date. Great wine list,...More

Thank Heather0007
Olly B, General Manager at The Honingham Buck, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Good afternoon Heather! It was so great to welcome you 3 times across such a short time period, it's lovely when we can get to know our customers. Our head chef Ryan is very talented, he has a great pedigree and has really proved his...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful country pub serving fabulous food and good beer. Food was fancy & tasty without being too over priced. Room rates are brilliant and worth it for the breakfast following morning! Advise prior booking for evening table if staying as place gets quite busy on...More

Thank laurenfluffybee
Olly B, General Manager at The Honingham Buck, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Good afternoon Lauren, It's great to hear you sampled all of our goods during your time here! We try to offer good value for money and a superior product with regards to both our food and rooms and we are very pleased to hear that...More

Reviewed 18 June 2017

The food was excellent, the service was impeccable, though you pay for this. The old adage of you pay for what you get is prevalent here. The Encore beer was superb.The garden neat,tidy and comfortable. If you feel flush then visit the Honingham Buck you...More

Thank rocketron2017
Olly B, General Manager at The Honingham Buck, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Good afternoon! Great to hear you had a lovely evening with us, it's always that bit better when the weather is on your side! We look forward to seeing you again soon. All the best.

Reviewed 12 June 2017

We have been here a previous two times of which I gave five stars to both. My husband and I were treated by his mother for a belated Birthday meal. We came midweek so it wasn't busy in the restaurant, which suited us fine. The...More

Thank Snowleopards89
Olly B, General Manager at The Honingham Buck, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Good afternoon, Firstly I would like to thank you for making a third trip down to see us, repeat custom really means a lot to us and shows us that we are clearly doing something right. I do apologise that this time round we didn't...More

Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

I booked a night in the Honingham Buck as I have me business in Norwich on Monday morning. We made it just in time for food (which finishes at 7pm on Sundays) and how lucky we were! I had Roast Beef dinner followed by creme...More

Thank Bexpayne
Olly B, General Manager at The Honingham Buck, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good evening Bex, Great to hear that you sampled both our accommodation and dining offerings and that we came up with the goods on both occasions. We put as much time and love in to our roast dinners as we do our other main courses,...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Brasserie at Barnham Broom
233 reviews
1.99 miles away
The Swan Inn Ringland
191 reviews
2.63 miles away
South Green Cafe Bar
7 reviews
3.02 miles away
Cafe Jungle
68 reviews
3.57 miles away
Nearby Attractions
All Saints Church
5 reviews
2.30 miles away
Dinosaur Adventure
786 reviews
3.39 miles away
Wensum Valley Golf
24 reviews
3.70 miles away
Taverham Garden Centre
16 reviews
4.06 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
John F H
27 October 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Bazz219 | Reviewed this property |
It's absolutely brilliant - try it.
0
Votes
jockjemfern
20 April 2015|
Answer
Response from bobandlisa1972 | Reviewed this property |
The Honingham Buck reopened on 5th June 2015
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$52
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 19:00
Monday
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 29 The Street, Norwich NR9 5BL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Norwich
  • Phone Number: +44 1603 880393
  • E-mail
Description
The Honingham Buck is one of Norfolk's prettiest Pubs set in the heart of the village of Honingham in the Norfolk Countryside only minutes from Norwich city centre. The pub has been lovingly restored and is an inspired partnership between Henry Watt, the man behind a number of Norfolk's best-loved hostelries and Lacons Brewery who are opening their first pub in over 50 years. Great Ales from Lacons and delicious food is at the heart of our offer. A warm welcome in the beautiful beamed pub, a pint at the bar, maybe a soothing from our pub menu or something a bit more sophisticated in our cosy restaurant the choice is yours. We welcome everybody and have an excellent children's menu. A lovely beer garden is great for spending a relaxing hour or two and 8 sumptuous bedrooms will be opening in 2016.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing