Ruswarp Riverside Cafe

Ruswarp Riverside Cafe - CLOSED

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+441947600109+ Add websiteImprove this listing
Ratings and reviews
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles

RATINGS
Food
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
CUISINES
Cafe
Meals
Lunch, Drinks
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Street Parking, Free off-street parking, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
About
Ruswarp Riverside Cafe is set in a beautiful peaceful location on the river Esk, serving excellent coffee and Yorkshire tea, as well as a selection of cakes, sandwiches, paninis, salad, soup and quiche. We are licensed and sell a small selection of beer, lager, cider and quality wine.
CUISINES
Cafe
Meals
Lunch, Drinks
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Street Parking, Free off-street parking, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles174 reviews
Excellent
94
Very good
44
Average
13
Poor
13
Terrible
10
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Michael B
Wakefield479 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 none
2 visits here for snacks, whilst on a 3 night stay near Sandsend. The café is located just off a minor road that links Ruswarp and Sleights and is set alongside the picturesque River Esk. There are some interesting old photos of the area and plenty of outside seating (weather too inclement for us). We had coffee and a toasted currant teacake and scone (substituted by cake on the second visit), very tasty and decent value.
Written 24 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Mark R
Sheffield59 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 none
We called in one lovely morning for coffee and snacks and was not dissapointed. Unlike some other reviewers we had no issue ordering at the van and the drinks and cakes came very quickly. The coffee was also the best I had during our stay around Whitby. Not sure if other reviewers were unlucky but our visit was perfect and the location is great too!
Written 27 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Binglm32
Mansfield2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2021 family
I can’t understand why there are any negative comments on here. We have been twice during our stay in Ruswarp - once for drinks (excellent hot chocolate) and then we came back for lunch. The staff were always extremely helpful and polite - the food was lovely and thanks to the sunshine we’ve had this week - the setting watching the boats and the ducks go by was gorgeous. Would definitely recommend and might even try to squeeze another visit in before we leave!
Written 16 April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Stuart M
United Kingdom2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 couples
Called in for the first time for a scone and tea. When asked if the scones were freshly made that day, the young lady informed that the cheese scones were not but the fruit scones were. Two fruit scones were ordered. At £2.50 each, very very disappointing. More like cake with four pieces of fruit in. First and last visit.
Written 21 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pearson17
You are the first person to not like our friut scones, we sell loads of them and get many compliments. You should have said something at the time if you were unhappy, the fact that you chose not to do this but instead to write a review on Tripadvisor (probably while you were still here) says alot.
Written 21 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jenny
United Kingdom19 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 friends
Usually one of my favourite places to visit and recommend to my friends. However, on this particular occasion I had arranged to meet my friend there. Unfortunately I needed to contact her urgently. Having no phone signal, I asked one of the staff for the WiFi password, to be told,”we don’t have internet”. I explained my predicament to him, his response was to laugh. I can’t believe in this day and age an establishment does not have internet access for customers, particularly one in a rural location where the telephone signal is intermittent at best. Not much more to say really, other than given my reception today I won’t be going back in a hurry.
Written 12 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pearson17
Sorry to hear that you did not get the service you would have expected, the reason we do not give out the wi-fi password is that internet here is not good due to it being a rural location and if overloaded the card machine does not work. If asked we give out the landline to customers in these circumstances but it seems that the member of staff misunderstood your situation.
Written 13 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jason S
7 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2023 family
Live local , walked over on a Sunday morning for a Coffee and a Bacon Buttie .. 2 Coffes and 2 Bacon Sandwiches £18.00 . Have contacted the owner as we thought we may have been accidentally overcharged . His response was" we did nt ask " .? ? ??? .. Enough said really
Written 11 June 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

GlasgowHappyHolidays
Larbert302 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021 family
If setting by the Riverside enjoying a light lunch with a coffee and cake is your thing then this place ticks lots of boxes. Not a massive menu consisting of mainly a choice of sandwiches and a great choice of cakes. Sit back relax and feed the ducks on the Riverside then take a trip on the miniature railway. The perfect place to enjoy some lunch.
Written 3 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Dougie G
Edinburgh12 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 none
The Cafe is part of the Chainside Riverside retreats but is open to the Public. Friendly staff and great views of the River as you eat. Tasty Home baking and sandwhiches and an alcohol menu. Would recommend.
Written 21 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

zoejcksn
Mansfield138 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2023 family
We called here on a walk from whitby, only cafe around so not much choice if you want a drink. It's a lovely spot clean tidy and nice views. Cakes were very tasty, and the children enjoyed their milk shakes ! At £6.50 each, I was expecting a bit more than a jam jar full, though, to be honest. My main issue was I ordered a shandy as yes it's licenced which is great on a hot sunny day after a walk. Sadly, flat lemonade when I said that's flat, he took it out the back and came back saying he had put fresh lemonade in clearly, not as the shandy was flat and not the best. I was then told they wisk all the bubbles out to get flat lemonade for shandy !!! It's a Shame really as all they needed to do was open a new bottle!
Written 5 June 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

royandjeanette
502 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2022 none
It was a sunny day when we walked to the Riverside Café which has a great location by the river Esk. We ordered two beers, crab sandwiches and quiche. The food was delicious and the service was friendly. It’s a lovely and relaxing place to chill out and watch the tame ducks waddling close to us and everyone else too. We enjoyed our lunch here.
Written 24 September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

TPL_the_truth
Gateshead24 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2022 couples
Stumbled accross this place when staying in nearby Sleights. lovely outdoor seating areas with river views. Duck frequent the water and can be fed. (Food sold at cafe). Small fish can be seen in the river from your table. We called in after spending an hour in a rowing boat and had refreshments. Bud light pint - hit the spot, freezing cold and in the correct branded glass. Pot of tea - nice 2 tiered bot and a biscoff biscuit. Food looked popular. Kitchen area open plan and looked really clean. Would definitely use again when in the area.
Written 10 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

NorthStar80790
26 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 none
Decided to stop at this nice setting after walking from Whitby. An impromptu stop. We waited at the van outside where it said to order, however no one was serving in the van. We went inside instead and found an empty table to sit at. There inside a sign said order at the van outside. I went back out and again no one was in the van. I asked a man who was cleaning tables how I order. He replied at the van, I said there’s no one in it to which he replied and I quote give us a bloody minute! Taken a back at being sworn at I questioned his attitude and customer service standards. However rather than apologising he continued his stance and told the young lad who eventually appeared in the van to refuse to serve me. Which the lad duly agreed to do albeit looking totally embarrassed by the affair. Another lady then appeared and asked what was going on and told me I shouldn’t be rude. Pot Kettle and black springs to mind when an owner or employee swears at a customer. We promptly left and never to return. I would advise anyone to give this place a wide birth as after reading other people’s previous reviews it’s not a one off occurrence. They have form!! Be warned. People like this don’t deserve to stay in business. If I could have given a minus figure I would have done
Written 13 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pearson17
You are correct with one thing, we have form in that we do not serve anyone who is rude. You were impatient when the boy serving in the van was finishing something inside, who very much agreed with not serving you by the way. You also wanted to be served after this, so the 'promptly left' part was only because we asked you to leave... We are very cut throat with this because our staff work very hard so I will say this once again - we will never serve anyone who talks down to our staff.
Written 15 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sarah
128 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2023 family
Quick service, with a wonderful view. We went rowing along the river and decided to come here for lunch afterwards! The food was fresh and warm, with great portion sizes. I will definitely return in future
Written 31 July 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Elaine W
Norwich329 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2021 none
Walked here from Whitby on a path by the railway. Great service to our table. Hot chocolate in China cups. Sandwiches with generous fillings plus salad and coleslaw. Hot bacon sandwiches tasty and generous. Lovely tranquil setting amongst ducks, geese. River used for for rowing boats and kayaks to rent close by. A miniature railway runs at weekend . Inside seating is available. Popular and busy. Polite and friendly service. A good find. Walked back via Cinder track to Whitby.
Written 3 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Roobers74
Gomersal177 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020 family
What a lovely Café - gorgeous setting on the river bank with wide ranging menu for lunch or just a nice pot of tea. We had the cream tea and was delightful (albeit not sure the lemon peel was needed in the scone!) The boys grabbed a rowing boat on the river whilst mum and grandma enjoyed their tea. Very well set up as Covid-secure which made the stop off all the better.
Written 27 July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pearson17
Glad you felt covid-secure, we have worked very hard to make it work for everyone in these unprecedented times! A lot of people like the candied mixed peel in the scones but this is subject to personal preference :) Hope to see you all again!
Written 25 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-15 of 174
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

RUSWARP RIVERSIDE CAFE, Whitby - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

All Whitby HotelsWhitby Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Whitby
Things to DoFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire