We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Angel Hotel

) #67 of 160 Restaurants in Whitby £ , British,
1 New Quay Road, Whitby YO21 1DH, England
+44 1947 824730
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent27%
  • Very good34%
  • Average16%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“eggs benedict” (11 reviews)
“curry” (18 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 New Quay Road, Whitby YO21 1DH, England
Write a Review
Reviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

after exploring the Abbey harbour and the shopping area of Whitby it was nice to sit down and have a drink lovely place outside seating

Thank John B
Angel H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks for your review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited this Wetherspoons on the Tuesday after Spring Bank Holiday Monday and as expected it was fairly busy. We gave had quite a few steaks in the past on steak club night and have never been disappointed. Until now. The steak that I was...More

Thank DMandMM
Angel H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks for the review. The Duty Manager is always best placed to deal with situations like this and I'm pleased to see on this occasion you managed to speak to him. Once again we are sorry if you didn't fully enjoy your meal but we...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Called in here for a drink on a pleasant sunny afternoon, knowing we would not have to pay over the odds for our beers, that's why the pub was full to the rafters on the outside seating terrace and quite busy inside as well. It...More

Thank dnowland_12
Angel H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks for the review. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Yes its a Wetherspoon's The main problem is the lack of staff to serve and clear tables when people have finished eating , that's how you get cheap drinks , no music , no tele , no staff The meals looked standard Wetherspoons fodder Only...More

Thank Audilad
Angel H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the review. We do have over 100 staff working at The Angel Hotel so I'm unsure why you think there is no staff here? We also have a TV available to watch should you choose. You are right about the music, we have...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ate twice at the Angel...great value for money. Food was hot and well presented. One of the best steaks I have had for a while...the pay by phone system works well...will be going again on our next visit.

Thank guestyNotts
Angel H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the review. I'm pleased to hear that you had a good visit and we hope you come again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice outside seating. Inside busy Picked a window table, had to bus it myself. My wife had the fish and chips and was ok with it. I had the breakfast, it arrived mostly cold and with ham slices dried out. After I finished I regretted...More

Thank BobxxxxCindy
Angel H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the review. We are a very popular pub especially going into the summer season. We would always recommend that if a customer is not happy with the quality of their food they let us know before consuming it so that we can resolve...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited The Angel and sat outside for a few drinks in the sunshine which to be fair was nice, especially as you can chat and watch the world go by. Re-visited the next day and due to bad weather decided to sit indoors and we...More

Thank JohnnyH1973
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely refurbished Wetherspoons/Hotel with typical fishing theme for the area and view to match. Staff extremely friendly, unfortunately their fish is something to be desired and well avoided atm. Haven't tried the Hotel but I'm sure it equals the high decorative standard but does not...More

Thank petula_peel
Angel H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for the review. We are please you had a good visit and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited several times on different days over the bank holiday weekend but only for drinks. Wouldn't really like to eat there because the place isn't kept clean as it was (the gent's toilet wasn't really clean on any visit and stank on one) and...More

Thank Graham H
Angel H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for the review. We really do care, which is why I spend time going through reviews to see what people think. At peak times over the bank holiday weekend we had 20 front of house staff working as well as 10 kitchen staff. We...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited on a Thursday evening for a drink. We arrived at about 5:30 and found stable outside, which had lovely views. The bar was understaffed, it took 20 minutes to be served and then the bar staff did not know how to make the...More

Thank MrsSOC
Angel H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for the review. We do in fact have a larger bar upstairs that tends to be quiet and is easy to be served at. We do have notices around the pub pointing this out but people do tend to stand in the queue downstairs...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Singing Kettle
236 reviews
.03 miles away
Trenchers
2,768 reviews
.05 miles away
Sherlock's Coffee House
857 reviews
.08 miles away
The Willow Branch
75 reviews
.07 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Captain Cook Memorial Museum Whitby
496 reviews
.10 miles away
Swing Bridge
154 reviews
.07 miles away
Whitby Tourist Information Centre
77 reviews
.13 miles away
Den of Antiquity
5 reviews
.09 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
grahamcoppin
Do you have parking for those that stay.
15 May 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Angel H | Property representative |
Hi there. We have no onsite parking ourselves however there are long stay car parks located just over the road if you wish to use them 😀
0
Votes
Nathan H
do rooms have an hairdryer
13 April 2017|
Answer
Response from Angel H | Property representative |
yes they do
0
Votes
Nathan H
do rooms have an hairdryer
13 April 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from annieDoncaster | Reviewed this property |
Yes they do have hair dryers....
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Bar Scene, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 New Quay Road, Whitby YO21 1DH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Scarborough District  >  Whitby
  • Phone Number: +44 1947 824730
  • This restaurant is at The Angel Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing