We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sneaton Castle Centre

££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
St. Hildas Priory Sneaton Castle Castle Road | Whitby, North Yorshire, Whitby YO21 3QN, England
+44 1947 600051
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

9 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 9: English reviews
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Breakfast is served in the Garden Room at Sneaton Castle. Delightful views over part of the gardens. Breakfast served from 0800 - 0930 and included in the price of stopping in this lovely place. Food served ranges from cereals, compote, yoghurts, croissants. Juices, fruits. Then full English breakfast. I certainly didn't need to get lunch when out as still full.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2016

I have stayed here on an annual basis for over 10 years, with groups of university student on Geology field trip. It is the best and most well catered venue I have ever stayed in. Thank you.

Helpful?
Thank jalawrence199
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Choice of food included fruit juices, tea, coffee. Cereals, seeds, yoghurt, fresh fruit, grapefruit, prunes, croissants, toast. Full English breakfast. Lovely.

Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2015

I absolutely love staying at Sneaton Castle Centre and I keep going back! This is the first time I had stayed in their newly-refurbished area which has single rooms without a single room supplement.The rooms are very attractively designed, comfortable and quiet. The breakfasts are delicious, served in a lovely room which overlooks the gardens. The staff are just great... More 

Helpful?
Thank hopkinsx2
ljant, Manager at Sneaton Castle Centre, responded to this review

Thank you! So glad you enjoyed the new single ensuite rooms. We are pleased to be able to provide single rooms without a supplement. We also have single rooms in the hostel style accommodation - again no supplement which is always a bonus. More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2015 via mobile

Clean, functional room on a budget. Shared bathroom. Having left it to the last minute to secure accommodation for the goth weekend we were lucky enough to find space at Sneaton Castle. Close enough for taxis to be affordable and much, much cheaper than anything else on offer. Sneaton castle offers a functional base with no frills.

Helpful?
1 Thank Crlywrlygrl
ljant, Manager at Sneaton Castle Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Your description of our hostel style accommodation is perfect! More 

Cramlington
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2015

A full range of cereals, etc. and do-it-yourself toaster. The kitchen was unable to provide a boiled egg ! The full breakfast must have been standing on the hotplate for hours as it was dried out and tasteless. Thank goodness for Kellogs !

Helpful?
Thank rafaman
ljant, Manager at Sneaton Castle Centre, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you were disappointed with your breakfast. As I understand it the kitchen were happy to provide a boiled egg but as it would take a few minutes you opted for the full english. You do not mention in your review that there was also a choice of grapefruit, prunes, fresh fruit, greek or fruit yoghurt,... More 

Cleckheaton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Having read a lot of the reviews regarding Sneaton castle at whitby I was looking forward for an adventurous weekend. I was very impressed on driving up to the venue but it went down hill from there. The evening meal was cool, basic and of poor quality. The ice cream was served up with no finesse, plonked on the plate,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marion N
ljant, Manager at Sneaton Castle Centre, responded to this review

We were really very sorry to see that this reviewer had returned after three weeks to review again the same event in a negative way. The staff at the Centre work very hard to ensure that all visitors, whether Church groups, other groups, or independent travellers have an enjoyable stay. Those who wish to stay at the Centre will continue... More 

Beverley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2013

£10 for a Main Course, Pudding with tea or coffee, an incredible bargain, especially as the food was high quality. It was well worth booking with our stay. The only downsides were that the broccoli was overcooked one night (the veg was excellent the 2nd night) and there was no choice, but no-one in our party complained about the menu.

Helpful?
Thank Nigel C
ljant, Manager at Sneaton Castle Centre, responded to this review

So glad you found our meals value for money. Thank you for the feedback. More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I arranged a family gathering here on Friday 31st May 2013 for 43 family members and friends. We had afternoon tea. The setting is olde worlde and gorgeous. The sandwiches, scones and cakes were excellent and plentiful. the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had the Garden Room for our function. After our afternoon tea the doors to the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel F
ljant, Manager at Sneaton Castle Centre, responded to this review

Lovely to hear you had such a nice time at the Centre! More 

Travellers who viewed Sneaton Castle Centre also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Sneaton Castle Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
British
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: St. Hildas Priory Sneaton Castle Castle Road | Whitby, North Yorshire, Whitby YO21 3QN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Scarborough District  >  Whitby
  • Phone Number: +44 1947 600051

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sneaton Castle Centre staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?