We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

31 Castlegate Restaurant

#44 of 664 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
31 Castlegate, York YO1 9RN, England
+44 1904 621404
Website
Today
11:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 21:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 16:00
17:30 - 21:00
Tue - Fri 11:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 21:30
Sat 11:00 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

935 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 919: English reviews
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Fancied a late Valentine's dinner, and decided on this as we'd often walked past and thought it looked good. Glad we did - clearly busy so we were lucky to get a reservation - as it was well worth going. The pea and asparagus soup was lovely, as was the asian sesame pork, and we each had a steak: a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve H
nickjulius, Owner at 31 Castlegate Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5* review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your late valentines meal with us here at 31 Castlegate. We are a very busy restaurant most of the time,so i am so happy that you were able to get accommodated for your meal. Thank you for your kind comments about your meal and that the staff... More 

Wigton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I had booked well in advance for a weekend trip to York. I checked recent reviews before dining and was apprehensive in what service we were going to find. Everything started well with attentive staff and drinks and then food coming in a timely manner. We were then forgotten about as the waitress had said she would bring a dessert... More 

Helpful?
Thank B C
nickjulius, Owner at 31 Castlegate Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Firstly, we are a very busy restaurant so your comment is invalid. Maybe it was quiet at the time you dined with us. I am sorry for the poor service you received from my staff, be assured that i have spoken with them all and the staff on shift that night do send their apologies... More 

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Visited on a recent trip to York and had a pleasant meal. There was plenty of choice and also a set menu. We had the a la carte and all had different choices. Staff were very attentive and helpful. An enjoyable evening with tasty food.

Helpful?
Thank Fiona2810
nickjulius, Owner at 31 Castlegate Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Many thanks for taking time out to leave us a review. I am very happy that you enjoyed your meal here with us and that the staff were helpful and attentive. Glad you enjoyed your evening with us. Nick Julius More 

Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Very delicious food actually, it sounded so good we opted for the set menu and was well worth going. Little annoyances can make or break an experience.. Some minutes after being seated I ask for some bread to dip in the eagerly awaiting dishes of olive in and balsamic already on the table to be told it would come automatically... More 

Helpful?
Thank Speakasyoufind8
nickjulius, Owner at 31 Castlegate Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Whilst i truly appreciate your review and your kind comments regarding your starter and main meals, i do have to comment on the bread. Our homemade focaccia bread is made fresh every single morning, it is not known as a moist bread hence why there are dipping oils on the table, and we serve a... More 

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We visited here on the 15th for a late valentines meal. It was quiet at first but soon got very busy. Despite how busy it was the waiting staff were great and our orders were taken quickly and all the food came in good time. We absolutely loved the food and wanted to go back again the next day!! I... More 

Helpful?
Thank withtabby
nickjulius, Owner at 31 Castlegate Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5* review. What more can i say apart from thank you for taking time out to leave us such a lovely review regarding the food and the service from my staff. Regarding the heat, please do apologise to your boyfriend, we have people too cold, we have people too hot, i am sure one day we... More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My OH booked for Valentines day as we'd never been before. The service was good if a little unorganised, we had multiple waitresses saying different things and despite asking for a suitable starter option ( I'm coeliac) and being told they could do a goats cheese mousse with gluten free bread, no bread was offered with the starter. I'm not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Saffr0n
nickjulius, Owner at 31 Castlegate Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I do apologise that you found service to be unorganised, i have spoken to my staff about this and more training will be given to my staff for busier evenings like valentines. I have also spoken to the newer members of staff who i can only imagine it was new member of staff who offered... More 

Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Visiting York and booked quite by chance as we suddenly realised it was Valentine's day and we wouldn't get a walk-in table in many places (just a couple of old romantics!). The menu was a set menu but had a very good range of choices. We were seated in the same room as another poster here but were unaware of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Auds632
nickjulius, Owner at 31 Castlegate Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Such a lovely review from the same evening where we have received such negativity. It was a very busy night for us which i personally believe was executed as well as it could have been. Mistakes do happen and as you kindly mentioned, your drink mishap was amended and apologies were given. We thank you... More 

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Thought I'd choose the restaurant for Valentine’s day as the menu looked impressive and the reviews on Trip Advisor were also good. Bad Points Area for waiters is far too close to diners meaning that you can hear all their conversations which doesn’t create a positive atmosphere when the conversations aren’t positive The above included ordering wine and being able... More 

Helpful?
Thank James O
nickjulius, Owner at 31 Castlegate Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I do have to apologise that you were served warm wine, this is not acceptable and for that i am very sorry. Firstly, we are a small, independent restaurant with a total of 51 covers in the entire restaurant, we are close to our customers, but without been to intrusive, it only takes a read... More 

Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked 31 Castlegate back in July 2016 for our upcoming wedding On 2nd September 2017. After emailing them yesterday regarding menu's I was told that they no longer have a private dining room as they have turned it into a bar which means our wedding meal is now cancelled. I truly believe if I hadn't emailed them that wouldn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank theboxer18
nickjulius, Manager at 31 Castlegate Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I find it very selfish that you left us a 1* review when you have not actually dined with us, you literally have never set foot in the restaurant. Right, you got in touch with us via email to ask for information regarding our private dining room which we had at the time. I sent... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I've just "had lunch" in your restaurant and it was a worst experience ever. We choose your place because it wasn't crawded and we were with a baby and pushchair, also because of good comments you've got on tripadvisor. We spent there an hour and your waitress/barmaid looked on us maybe four times, she even not smiled for a second.... More 

Helpful?
Thank paulinajoy
nickjulius, Manager at 31 Castlegate Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Firstly let me apologise that you had a negative experience with us. The lady who served you was myself, i checked on you several times and made sure everything was ok, maybe you would have noticed this if you wasnt chasing your small, only just walking child around a restaurant, licking the door windows and... More 

Travellers who viewed 31 Castlegate Restaurant also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to 31 Castlegate Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$20 - US$30
Cuisine
European, British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 16:00
17:30 - 21:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 21:30
Wednesday
11:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 21:30
Thursday
11:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 21:30
Friday
11:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 21:30
Saturday
11:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 31 Castlegate, York YO1 9RN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  York
  • Phone Number: +44 1904 621404
Description
Located in the heart of York, under the shadow of the imposing Clifford's Tower, 31 Castlegate offers fine dining contemporary Modern European cuisine in an extraordinarily charming atmosphere.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of 31 Castlegate Restaurant and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
Doncaster, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from 31 Castlegate Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?