We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Slug and Lettuce

) #243 of 695 Restaurants in York ££ - £££ , British,
The Courtyard, 22-26 | Back Swinegate, York YO1 2AY, England
+44 1904 679900
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good24%
  • Average14%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“flatbread” (7 reviews)
“fries” (10 reviews)
“pudding” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Courtyard, 22-26 | Back Swinegate, York YO1 2AY, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 419 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
118
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Have been a customer of this Slug and Lettuce for many years, called in last weekend with a friend for drinks and had to queue for over 30 minutes before being served. Staff unable to manage the bar and control the queue fairly. Emailed the...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

felt sorry for the staff in my visit just not enough of them to carry out the task they are given. very busy bar which is small which cant be helped. however more stacc would be nice clearly not a sickness issue as its like...More

Thank TheDunningtonRacoon
Reviewed 1 week ago

Poor service ,ignorant staff who couldn't be bothered to explain the menu . Had to ask for cutlery . Due to the uncomfortable atmosphere I left promptly and won't be going back .More

Thank lynne e
Slug L, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Customer, It is a little difficult to gather what has happened here for you to call the team ignorant. We strive to give our customers the best service we can, and if we have missed the mark, we would rather you had let us...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a fab time relaxing in the afternoon with my disabled son. It was fab as nobody cared as they accepted him as he is. People just got on with their lives. Had a lovely conversation with a person who actuaĺly understood what our life...More

Thank REMEbod
Slug L, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Customer, This is really fantastic to read. Thank you so much for choosing to visit us, and I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. We really do hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Always visit this slug and lettuce as the service is fantastic and we always enjoy the food. Great breakfasts and lovely coffee. We love the new addition of the cakes on the bar. The food always arrives in good time so we never need to...More

Thank DR1784
Slug L, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Customer, Thanks so much for the lovely review. Glad to hear you are enjoying the cake, our favourite is the Red Velvet Cake!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Rude does not even cover the staff! This is clearly led by the manager because she is truly shocking and unprofessional! Such a shame for what I used to consider quite a nice place to stop for a bite to eat and drink.

Thank Rebecca S
Slug L, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear customer, If you have experienced any issues during your visit, please contact us direct at slugandlettuce.York@Stonegatepubs.com to discuss. Regards.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Having had a good experience at the Ousegate restaurant for breakfast, we were happy to call in here when desperate for a coffee stop later in the day. Ordered at the bar, coffees arrived quickly, however, table sticky, chairs marked, coffee insipid. Completely different experience,...More

Thank Fuerta28
Slug L, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear customer, Sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit to us, but that you did enjoy your visit to the Slug Riverside. We serve a blend of Robusta and Arabica beans in our coffee, all sourced from 100% ethically accredited plantations, if you...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with a group of friends and had a great time. Great choice of drinks and the bartender, Alex, was funny and helpful. Would definitely recommend the giant pornstar martini if wanting something to share with friends!!

Thank khhol
Slug L, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear customer, thanks so much for this review. Alex will be really pleased to hear your kind words. The Giant Pornstar is one of our favourites, and defintly a great drink to share with friends.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I came here on Saturday the 24th June on a hen do to enjoy some cocktails. Upon arriving i sat at a table when a member of staff approached me and mumbled something about if i was eating. As i responded the staff member turned...More

1  Thank Katie W
Slug L, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Customer, I am sorry to hear of the problems you may have experienced. We do advise customers to look after their own drinks for safety and security reasons, as was explained to you at the time. Regards.

Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Stopped to rest from the rain. Lovely little place. Friendly staff. Coffee was lovely Great decor Good value for money

Thank Karen P
Slug L, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Karen, Thanks for the lovely kind words. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your day.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Kennedys Bar & Restaurant
1,532 reviews
.05 miles away
D'Vine Restaurant and Social Bar
501 reviews
.02 miles away
El Piano
1,046 reviews
.02 miles away
Sotano Charcuterie & Bar
307 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby Attractions
York's Chocolate Story
3,705 reviews
.08 miles away
Fudge Kitchen York
252 reviews
.06 miles away
Barley Hall
408 reviews
.03 miles away
Stonegate
85 reviews
.05 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Slug and Lettuce staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$19
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 23:00
Monday
10:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:00
Thursday
10:00 - 23:00
Friday
10:00 - 01:00
Saturday
10:00 - 02:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Courtyard, 22-26 | Back Swinegate, York YO1 2AY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  York
  • Phone Number: +44 1904 679900
  • E-mail
Description
A unique bar and restaurant set in the heart of the city amongst ancient picturesque streets. We have a great reputation for quality food and drink. During the day The Slug And Lettuce York is a family friendly hub for breakfasts, lunches and coffee. In the evening we transform into a vibrant cocktail bar and a great meeting place for those after-work drinks. We also have a beer garden ideal for relaxing afternoons.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing