We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
PRICE RANGE
£7 - £21
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
CUISINES
Polish, European, Eastern European, Central European
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Reviews (1,741)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
1,707 results
Traveller rating
1,346
264
54
20
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
1,346
264
54
20
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pierogi courgette fritters potato pancakes hunters stew beef cheeks bread pudding cheesecake polish food smoked cheese full english main course generous portions booked a table lovely atmosphere visiting york walmgate
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 days ago

This was quite the worse place I have eaten in a long while, very expensive, small portions and a lack of care and attention to traditional recipes. The service was terrible, our waitress had obviously not had any training as her mistake meant we all...3 people ate at different times, a small apology was given. There was a distinct miserly amount of meat in the goulash, lack of meat in the cabbage rolls (all rice), small, unappetising portions of pierogi (I think Smash is used in the Russian ones). BB if you’re going to serve starter sized portions as mains, change your plate sizes so customers aren’t waiting for the large empty area of plate to be filled with a simple addition of pickle or a salad garnish. All in all an expensive, unpalatable mistake, Polish food is hearty, delicious and reasonably cheap to make, your food is not!More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Sadly we didn’t have a good experience at Blue Barbikan after waiting a very long time to visit. I came with some Polish friends for lunch and we travelled to York especially for this. The atmosphere and ambience is gorgeous. Our server was really struggling...to understand the menu, we were very patient and made sure to triple-check the dishes we ordered. The starters were nice. The Polish wines are amazing!! However it all went wrong afterwards. We waited 45 minutes for our main courses, and the order seemed to be chequed incorrectly. Another server offered to replace the dishes, we were happy to just tuck in with what we had, but she assured it would just take 5 minutes. We then waited another 25 minutes for the pierogi dishes to be replaced. We did communicate that we weren’t happy with the service and sadly no resolution was offered. We didn’t order any dessert and left. The food was nice but I have to say it was hard to justify the prices for some of the dishes. 5 pierogi for £14 doesn’t make any sense. The gołąbki came alone in a baking dish with no potatoes or sides. If the server advised we could have ordered something more. The gołąbki was also more rice than meat, which made us feel like we were just being hustled for money. Maybe it was just a bad day for service but sadly the dishes and the price points don’t do it justice.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Saturday morning breakfast, poached eggs with crispy pulled pork, delicious. Service great and v polite. Interesting place, cakes look superb maybe next time.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As an Australian who loves to fish and eat both salt and freshwater, this cod is absolutely without a doubt the best I’ve ever eaten. Ever. Ever. Eat and drink here. Fantastic

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came her with my two friends whilst visiting York. The food was incredible, every dish we had was full of flavour and cooked to perfection and the service was brilliant. And as if this place couldn't get any better, due to allergies I haven't been...able to eat cheesecake or really very many desserts in restaurants for 16 years and due to them making everything themselves from scratch I was able to share 2 beautiful cakes and a cheesecake with my friends. So thank you very very much for such a wonderful experience!More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Friendly staff and delicious food made our evening! Compliments to the chefs, as every bit of our dinner tasted amazing! Thank you😊

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Since our son started postgraduate studies at York St John University in September, we have eaten at The Blue Barbakan three times. We enjoy trying food from different cultures and hadn't had much in the way of Polish food before. Quite simply, the food is...well-cooked and delicious and there are enough options for me as a vegetarian. My husband, son and I have varied our choices each lunch we've had and have not been disappointed with any of them. The lunchtime portions are not huge but room has to be left for a cake: the choice of cakes is huge! The service has always been friendly and efficient too.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Superb food, service and atmosphere. I booked a table for 7 friends I haven’t seen for years. As a result we were in there for ages and ended up drinking Polish vodka shots. The staff were brilliant and the food was as good as any...that I had in Krakow last year.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Shout out to Tom; there were two vegans in our group and he made absolutely sure to check every detail to make sure that we were properly catered for. Thank you Tom. Main meals were all excellent. Review would have been five stars had there...been any vegan pudding options among the fantastic array of 14 delicious-looking cakes, I would have loved a piece of cake. Something to consider maybe?More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having eaten at previous Barbakan we were looking forward to visit the Blue Barbakan. What a disappointment. Starters and drinks were fine but main course failed to arrive and when we asked what was happening there were embarrassed looks before meals appeared. They had obviously...been sat around for a while as they were tepid. The fish of the day was not as described on the specials board and the rabbit leg came without the promised wrapping of pancetta and accompanying butternut squash. Apparently the specials board we were looking at had not been changed to the current one. We were not charged for the fish but the whole night by then had been ruined.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The breakfast was delicious. We had polish tost and pancakes with bacon. Amazing service and good value. We will back again🙂

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 January 2024 via mobile

Had a brunch here, the family we were with booked it due to the offer of kids eat free. We arrived and were soon seated and a lovely welcome. Menus were soon presented and we all ordered. Food arrived and was OK, but just that....Came to pay and found we had been charged for all the kids. When we queried it, it was “no they eat free from the child’s menu, you ordered from the main menu”…WOW. 1. We were only presented with the main menu! 2. The main menu has written on the top, kids eat free! 3. It was obvious we had young children with us, at no point were we offered the child’s menu! Be very careful of what feels like a scam!More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greg GB, Owner at The Blue Barbakan, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2024

Hello, Thank you for your time and your review, we will look into what has gone wrong and correct it. During our breakfast times (until 12 o'clock) we offer for the children to eat free ( one per adult ). This means that you can...More

Reviewed 25 December 2023

I had heard positive things and seen positive reviews for the Blue Barbakan and were throughly excited about the food and were looking forward to the night. However, from the moment we sat down the experience was utterly horrible. Our drinks/food order were taken promptly...which is always good. We sat down and orders were taken around 7:40pm. We ordered 3 starters (fish cake, perogi, meat platter), 2 mains (lamb shank, beef and a side of mixed veg). It got to around 8:20pm and our starters still hadn’t arrived so I politely asked the waiter how much longer it would be. He came back and informed us that the order had been deleted from the system, he apologised and took our orders again. We gave it the benefit of the doubt as sometimes these things happen. We were then informed that the beef my partner had originally ordered was now out of stock. The starters (only two of them, we never received the meat platter) arrived around 30 minutes later. The mains still hadn’t arrived around 30 minutes after that (we are now on around 9:30pm, 2 hours after we sat down). We asked the waiter how much longer they would be as we were hungry and he told us ‘I wouldn’t count on them coming out’ and in not so many words told us we were better off leaving as the kitchen was overwhelmed and likely wouldn’t get the food out. This was extremely disappointing. We left hungry, upset and annoyed. At this time it was coming up to 10pm and there was nowhere open to eat, so we had to settle on toast at home. THE worst dining experience we have ever had. I emailed them privately and they never responded. :)More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 December 2023

Came here in the summer and loved it so we came back, we noticed they’ve got new staff which is never a good sign. Food was lovely as always but the service let the place down. Staff forget about you and don’t check up on...you at all. There was also a rude girl there who was the manger apparently, she spoke to us in an ugly manner and we caught her rolling her eyes at one of the girls working there. Bring back the old staff !More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 December 2023

We ate at this restaurant last night for the first time and we had a lovely evening. Fantastic food and a lovely atmosphere. The restaurant was very busy however the service remained excellent and really friendly. We will certainly be returning!

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hampton By Hilton York Piccadilly
366 reviews
.11 miles away
Hilton York
3,963 reviews
.14 miles away
Moxy York
377 reviews
.17 miles away
Hotel Indigo York, an IHG Hotel
2,707 reviews
.19 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Rise. Brunch
324 reviews
.04 miles away
Burgsy's
528 reviews
.04 miles away
Cosy Club
1,455 reviews
.04 miles away
Kalpakavadi
435 reviews
.03 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Merchant Adventurers' Hall
795 reviews
.04 miles away
SPARK:York CIC
190 reviews
.07 miles away
St. Crux Parish Hall
40 reviews
.09 miles away
Brew York Leeds
11 reviews
.08 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
T916TDtonyg
26 July 2023|
Answer
Response from Ann H | Reviewed this property |
I'm sorry I don't know but give them a ring...they are very friendly and helpful.
0
Votes
John T
24 April 2022|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Norma F | Reviewed this property |
I should think so, be worth phoning the restaurant, they are friendly.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE BLUE BARBAKAN, York - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Blue Barbakan

Yes, The Blue Barbakan offers takeaway services.

Yes, The Blue Barbakan is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Blue Barbakan is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5