We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Slug and Lettuce

) #351 of 690 Restaurants in York ££ - £££ , British,
1 Low Ousegate, York YO1 9QX, England
+44 1904 639971
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good24%
  • Average15%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible19%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Low Ousegate, York YO1 9QX, England
Write a Review
Reviews (845)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 230 of 845 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

Never again will I eat at slug and lettuce shocking experience from start to finish took over 20 minutes to order food and a drink when quite, then wrong drink came, had some other ladies lipstick on my glass then when food came out starters...More

Thank Katrina R
Slug_YorkRiverside, Sales Coordinator at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

We would like to thank you for providing us with some feedback from your most recent visit to us, however we are disappointed and sorry to hear you did not have a positive experience at the Slug and Lettuce, York Riverside. I will be sure...More

Reviewed 13 June 2016

When I arrived it took me a while to get served even though the place wasn't busy at all. It appeared the staff were more interested in having their own conversations rather than customer service. I then requested two glasses of red wine, not knowing...More

Thank Benjamin R
Slug_YorkRiverside, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback via trip advisor. We are sorry that you were not advised of our wine down Wednesday offer when you ordered drinks at the bar. Given the opportunity we would have been happy to refund your...More

Reviewed 13 June 2016

Tried several times to pay deposits to secure our booking in July, rude, impolite staff member refused to take payments as to busy (race day apparently) no response to messages, i presume they don't want our booking of 14!More

Thank loopylass30
Slug_YorkRiverside, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

Hi Wendy, I can only apologise that one of our staff members did not know how to correctly deal with you on the phone. We certainly look forward to you coming on the 9th now that you have been able to confirm your booking with...More

Reviewed 13 June 2016

Thank you for a lovely buffet lunch on Saturday -about 25 quite giddy ladies of all ages had a lovely lunch before going to the races, Lovely food,good service and pleasant staff . Helped make our day a happy and memorable one,many thanks.More

Thank Angela B
Slug_YorkRiverside, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2016

We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit to us Angela - your group was a pleasure to serve and you all looked lovely all dressed up for the races, bubbly reception in hand. We sincerely hope that you find the time to visit...More

Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

Lovely food lovely staff great views booked this table over the Internet very correspondence paid 40 deposit to secure table cos it was a busy race weekend all had coctails 241 which were delightful meal me an my friend shared combo platter with extra portion...More

Thank jocardwell
Slug_YorkRiverside, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are glad you enjoyed your visit to us and were able to take advantage of our 241 cocktail offer. We very much hope to see you again in the near future. Kindest regards...More

Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

The place was empty yet we waited nearly 2 hours for food. The staff were stood around talking. When we asked where our food was they said 5 miniutes but it was another 25. They never apologised.More

Thank VickyBestLeeds
Slug_YorkRiverside, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We apologise that the level of service was not what we expect here at the Slug and Lettuce, York Riverside. If you would like to speak to us further regarding this please give us a...More

Reviewed 7 June 2016

not a great experience though I will temper this by saying we went on a Monday which is a half price food day. So costs not too big but still, if you are doing something like that in York and hoping to earn revenue through...More

Thank MrT1610
Slug_YorkRiverside, Sales and Marketing Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback following your visit to us on our most recent Happy Monday. We pride ourselves on delivering impeccable service and standard of food, no matter what day of the week, and we are sorry that this...More

Reviewed 7 June 2016 via mobile

Me and a group of friends visited on the last morning of a hen party thinking we could get a nice breakfast before we headed back home. I wish I'd gone to McDonald's instead! More than a few of the party were told that there...More

Thank geekfaceuk
Slug_YorkRiverside, Sales and Marketing Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2016

We would like to thank you for providing us with some feedback from your most recent visit to us, however we are disappointed and sorry to hear you did not have a positive experience at the Slug and Lettuce, York Riverside. I will be sure...More

Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

Great menu, great service and pleasant atmosphere easy to get to within the main area and our waiter was friendly and couldn't do enough for us.More

Thank wussywat
Slug_YorkRiverside, Sales and Marketing Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such positive feedback following your most recent visit to us here at the Slug and Lettuce, York Riverside. It is so nice to hear such lovely comments about our venue and our staff. We...More

Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile

Me and my friend were taken to a table by the waiter and left for 20 minutes! We then had to ask if we needed to go to the bar to order but were told that someone would be with us in a minute. 10...More

Thank Pippa2991
Slug_YorkRiverside, Sales and Marketing Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2016

We would like to thank you for providing us with some feedback from your most recent visit to us, however we are disappointed and sorry to hear you did not have a positive experience at the Slug and Lettuce, York Riverside. I will be sure...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Masala Craft Fine Indian Kitchen & Bar
408 reviews
.02 miles away
Reina
551 reviews
.05 miles away
Plonkers Wine and Beer Bar
413 reviews
.06 miles away
Piccolino
1,175 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Jorvik Viking Centre
3,746 reviews
.12 miles away
The York Army Museum
105 reviews
.13 miles away
Grand Opera House
255 reviews
.06 miles away
Henry VII Experience at Micklegate Bar
134 reviews
.09 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
susanS6691DZ
Monday offers
5 December 2016|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Slug_YorkRiverside | Property representative |
Hi Im afraid that we no longer run the Happy Monday Promotion at this site, we stopped the offer in September 2016. We do however have great deals on our Fast and Fresh lunch Menu and we still have 2-4-1 cocktails all day!
0
Votes
Claire K
Hi do you cater for Hen Parties? about 20 ages 40and over so not young party animals lol.
27 April 2015|
Answer
Response from Slug_YorkRiverside | Property representative |
Hi Claire, We are very popular with hen parties of all ages! We have a variety of buffet options ranging from £5.95 - £13.95 per person, as well as bespoke drinks packages (things like bubbly receptions, discounted... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$15 - US$38
Meals
Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, View, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 00:00
Monday
10:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 00:00
Thursday
10:00 - 00:00
Friday
10:00 - 02:00
Saturday
10:00 - 02:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Low Ousegate, York YO1 9QX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  York
  • Phone Number: +44 1904 639971
  • E-mail
Description
Busy bar/restaurant in the heart of historic York which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Minutes from York's wide collection of shops, varying from independent unique boutiques, to well known brands. Fantastic variety of continental beers, extensive quality wines and champagne. Great range of cocktails as well as local cask ales available. Few minutes walk from the famous shambles area. Situated on Low Ousegate overlooking the River Ouse.
Perfect for any occasion!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing